• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wireless issues

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#1
I just moved to Qwest DSL I previously had cable through midco. After getting a netgear modem I have been having issues were my PS3 will no longer connect to my laptop as a media server and my laptop will always loose connectivity to the network when the PS3 attempts to connect or search for a media server. No settings have been changed the only thing different is the netgear modem. Everything worked as advertised before. With the Belkin I was consistently being punted from the network with any kind of stress put on it (webpage, download etc), that seems to have calmed down with the Linksys other than when I try and connect as a media server.

I am using channel 10 (have tried 1, 3, 6 and 6). I have a Linksys E2500 (rev 1.xx) and previous to it I was using a Belkin F5D8235-4 (rev 2033) both routers have identical issues. I have tested with a known good cable and tried 2 other brand new ones on top of that one. The netgear is a DM111PSPV2. Obviously to my knowledge everything is plugged in correctly phoneline->modem->yellow WAN port. All firmwares are updated. mediashare settings are basically open with no limitations. Using WPA2-PSK AES encryption was using WEP befor (could there be an incompatability issue?)

The Belkin has a access point mode. Do I need to force it into being an access point for the netgear to work correctly? I have never had to set one up that way...and the new Linksys doesn't have that option to my knowledge I would like to use the Linksys if at all possible since it is new and a good bit quicker than the Belkin.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,171 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,822
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#2
See if you can get it to work correctly without any pass key
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,680 (2.69/day)
Likes
1,998
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#3
first i would reset it first and see does it works without wpa
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#4
Changed to WEP and the issues are now gone. Only downside is I loose wireless N on the laptops and am down to G speeds (150mbps vs 54mbps)
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.15/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
Hi,

Perhaps try the following with the Linksys E2500:

- go to basic wireless settings (example) with your webbrowser via 192.168.1.1;
- then change the channel width to 20 MHz instead of auto (20 or 40 MHz);
- as for the channel, try not to overlap with other people's wifi's channels and test each channel to see which works best for you; for me channel 9 works the fastest for some reason, while channel 12 doesn't work well at all (it's really slow, even when it does not overlap with the neighbor's wifi);
- and try it with SSID broadcasting if you haven't already broadcast the SSID; some wifi enabled devices work better with SSID broadcasting;
- Also try to access the hidden advance wifi settings of the E2500 by following this article; change the beacon interval to e.g. 50 instead of the default 100, see if there's some improvement.

If nothing works, try to reset the router: http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&vw=1&articleid=4008 And setup the router once more; make a backup of the router settings, so you don't have to setup the router manually each time you have reset the router for troubleshooting.

Good luck!
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#6
I already forced to 20MHZ, I do that with all my routers, I will try and get you photo of my channel, SSID broadcasting is enabled. I will try unlocking the hidden features.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,725 (6.36/day)
Likes
7,635
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#7
Flipped to 50MS polling. Also added a 2TB Seagate NAS box :)