1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wireless Keyboard Can Kill Frame rates!!!!!

Discussion in 'Games' started by Robert-The-Rambler, Apr 21, 2010.

  1. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    In another thread I had been discussing that I was having performance issues with the original FEAR and not Perseus Mandate. Well, I discovered the solution and frankly it is a very strange one indeed. You need to disconnect your wireless keyboard and mouse. The link I have here refers directly to Logitech wireless devices as I have the Logitech EX 100 wireless keyboard and mouse. I find it incredible that this is in fact the issue. I use my Logitech Dual Action Gamepad programmed as a keyboard and mouse to game so I don't miss the keyboard and mouse for FEAR. The FPS now are solid 60 with Vsync on.

    http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=859&PID=6620

    Anybody who can explain the problem from a technical standpoint is more than welcome but it is possible that this could impact other games but so far FEAR is the only one I can confirm. A keyboard can bring a multi-thousand dollar PC to its knees..... A friggin keyboard...... :twitch:
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,777 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,196
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    interesting problem
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I knew there was something else amiss in your system. Your FEAR performance just didn't make any sense at all.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Yeah, Ive encountered a problem like this. I built a gaming rig for my bro in law and used a wireless MS keyboard & mouse. Big mistake! Whilst they were attached to the system (2.4GHz wireless, not Bluetooth I should add), Crysis was randomly dropping frames and lagging.

    I returned the keyboard & mouse. Got him a wired setup and now its running like a champ :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,234 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    would a wireless xbox gamepad have the same result?
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Singapore
    I've been using wireless mice for the last couple of years with no issues what so ever...
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,777 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,196
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    makes me wonder whats in common here - are they RF devices, or bluetooth based?

    is the controller in these 'bad' devices the same chipset? is it only low end devices as it seems, or do high end ones have this issue as well? is it related to low battery/interference?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Quite possibly because they are 2.4GHz RF.

    Your right. There has to be a factor that comes into play when this problem occurs (ie chipset, wireless type etc).

    The keyboard & mouse wireless that I had the problem with was an expensive official MicroSoft 2.4GHz RF bundle.

    Im not sure if the Bluetooth devices suffer from this problem :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,777 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,196
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    so far all we've seen is RF devices, not bluetooth (or variants, like logitech high end use)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,259 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    178
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    could be anything i suppose
    i would hazard a guess at it being some sort of external interference
    as i do remember my logitech keybords receiver having no metal rf shields, so it literaly could've picked up anything
    (i haven't used the keyboard in years because the mouse needed the damned batteries charging every week)
    it was 2.4 ghz

    holy crxx.gif i've just remembered i didn't remove the batteries :twitch:
    damnit they'll be all furry now:cry::ohwell:

    yes m my uncles mouse uses a 50mhz frequency iirc :wtf:
    and he's always moaning it doesn't work right :shadedshu
     
  11. Robert-The-Rambler

    Robert-The-Rambler

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Bay Shore NY
    I read somewhere else.....

    It said something about replication of the HIDs. So like 10 of those might install or something like that and bog the system down. I'm not really sure what that all means but I'm pretty sure it is not a frequency issue. It has something to do with the interaction of the receiver connected to the USB interface.

    It is hard to find info about this problem so I'm sorry I can't remember where that was.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,777 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,196
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    I've seen that, sometimes a wireless device shows up tons of HID's in device manager
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,685 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,746
    I have a similar issue with ProtoType, though I use a wired keyboard and wireless mouse(G15 and G7).

    I have to go into Device Manager and disable every HID device I can except for the basic Keyboard and Mouse. This includes things like my UPS battery backup, and the driver that runs the LCD on the keyboard. If I do this I get a solid 60FPS, if I don't I get 20FPS and it gets worse the longer I play.
     
    Robert-The-Rambler, AsRock and Mussels say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    Location:
    Singapore
    Interesting. I've got a single wireless mouse iperating at 2,4GHz, but there are 3 devices in the DM. Disabled 2 of those and the mouse still works, weird huh?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Champ

    Champ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,078 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    So now I'm thinking, are true gaming machines wired? I like wireless, but I know you don't have as many problems running wired.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)