• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

wiring home security cameras

Decaf

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
new york
#1
Hi all, this is my first post, still new to this forum, anyways straight to the point i recently bought 4 security cameras off Craigslist in hopes of setting them up around my house, now before i go any further my goals are not to hook them up to a DVR system right away, at the time being i just want them so i can monitor my front/back door, and driveway from my room. i originally thought wiring these would be simple but it has proved to be a bit more then i can handle



the big guy has 4 wires, red, green, clear, and uncoated
the gold guy has 4 wires, red, black, yellow, white
the smaller one, under the big guy has 4 wire, red, black, yellow, and uncoated
and the last guy on the right has 3 wires, yellow, red, and uncoated.

any help getting these guys wired up would be very grateful .
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#2
uhhh
need model numbers at the very least else nobody here is gonna beable to help you
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
262 (0.11/day)
Likes
94
System Name potato
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Team Delta 2x16GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) MSI R9 Fury X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 240GB & 840 120GB + HDD 2x WD VRaptor 500GB & WD Green 4TB
Display(s) Benq XL2730z
Case be quiet dark base pro 900
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Steelseries PC Bang
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software win 10 amd64
#3
the big guy has 4 wires, red, green, clear, and uncoated
red red -> (+) power
not sure for the rest

the gold guy has 4 wires, red, black, yellow, white
red -> (+) power
black -> ground, usually for power
yellow -> video
white -> ground, probably for video


the smaller one, under the big guy has 4 wire, red, black, yellow, and uncoated
red -> (+) power
black -> ground, usually for power
yellow -> video
uncoated -> ground, probably for video

and the last guy on the right has 3 wires, yellow, red, and uncoated.
red -> (+) power
yellow -> video
uncoated -> ground (for power+video)

---
you need to do some testing, those are based on my very limited experience - not guaranteed to be correct ;)
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
241 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#4
Easy way would be to use 9-12 volt ac/dc adapter for each camera. Red=positive, Black=negative. Then use the red, white, and yellow AV input to your TV set. You may have to cut the jacks from the AC adapters and RCA cables to splice into your camera wires. Test the yellow white and red AV inputs on your TV for video and audio. You should be able to monitor AV1 and AV2 , depending on your TV set.
 
Last edited:

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,348 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,969
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#5
Easy way would be to use 9-12 volt ac adapter for each camera. Red=positive, Black=negative. Then use the red, white, and yellow AV input to your TV set. You may have to cut the jacks from the AC adapters and RCA cables to splice into your camera wires. Test the yellow white and red AV inputs on your TV for video and audio. You should be able to monitor AV1 and AV2 , depending on your TV set.
uh no lets not make assumptions
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2005
Messages
241 (0.05/day)
Likes
30
#6
So Right, more details necessary. Just a general idea of how 12v DC CCTV cams can be set up without a DVR.
 

Decaf

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
new york
#7
thank you everyone for your replies, so im not planning on setting them up to a dvr just yet, at the time being id like to just use them to a monitor, i.e CCTV.
below are the model numbers and other info listed on each camera

USAG- model: US-BC-103 (varifocal DC lens)
power- dc12v NTSC
Ser No- M0603450

DSP- CM25WNVB-SH20/3.6
Power- DC12v 350mA

Unknown- Model- 627b
tv Type- NTSC
serial number- 758280600621

Digimerge- Model number- DCBHR1032b
Power- dc12v/ac 24v 200mA
 

Decaf

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
new york
#8
so ive pretty much figured out how to wire everything, now anyone have any suggestions on what to use as a power supply? ive looked at RG59 Coaxial CCTV-Cam Cable, but thats a bit pricey. i think for my budget setup im going to setup power close to the camera and just run the video camera to my room. so i know i cant just wire them to a plug and stick it into a wall, so what should i be looking for? they are all dc 12v, does the mA difference matter? any particular adapters i should be looking for or can i just hack an old 12v dc plug and use that?
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#9
Milliamps must be same or greater
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#11
Would stress it a bit methinks. An old external hard drive brick is usually good for a couple amps.
 

Decaf

New Member
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
new york
#13
update

UPDATE- got one camera up and running, thanks for everyones help, think i got the hang of it, going to start installing the other three in the next couple days
 

Morkel

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
If you have a model than try to see some review on that camera security system.Hope you get some help there.That how exactly you install that cameras.And also you can find many pictures there that how you can connect and create a network with that cameras.
 
Last edited: