• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Witcher 3 Stutter RTX 2060

Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
Hi everyone, I little over a month I bought an RTX 2060 Gaming Z. I have been struggling with the idea of stutter and what would be considered normal or software related, and what could be actually a faulty GPU.

Computer Type:
Desktop OS: Windows 10 1903 Pro
CPU: Ryzen 5 2600
GPU: MSI RTX 2060 Gaming Z
RAM: 16 Gb of Ram 2666 Mhz SPectrix D40
Mobo: Gigabyte Aorus B450m
HDD: Toshiba 1TB 7200 RPM
SSD: 120GB Adata Ultimate
PSU: Corsair TX750M Gold

Right now I am trying to narrow down the causes of my stutter and finding out whether other people have it or not, in order to determine in my GPU is ok or not. I RMA it once, but no problem was found.

I have tried using ISLC, setting profile to Prefer Maximum Performance, setting max pre rendered frames to 1, disabling SMT (Simultaneous Multi threading) for the CPU, using a lot of drivers from 419.xx to 436.xx


In this case I want to find the cause of stutter in the Witcher 3. But first I will explain some things.

Before my RTX 2060, I had a GTX 1060. Both cards show stutter in the Witcher 3 but with some variation.

So in general, the stutter is that shown in the video, but this stutter happens mainly after installing a new driver, or restarting my computer. If I play for a little while in that zone of the game, and just reload the saved game, the stutter is reduced substantially, this also applies if I close the game and open it but without restarting the computer.

Now, both the RTX 2060 and the GTX 1060 have this kind of behaviour, but the stutter is slightly worse in the RTX 2060, and also, after playing in the zone and reloading the save game, the reduction of stutter is higher in the 1060 than the 2060.



The only thing that improved the stutter for the game was disabling the diagnostic policy service of windows 10, although it didn't solve things completely. (The video has that service already disabled).


My RTX 2060 behaves correctly in benchmarks (firestrike extreme, timespy, valle, heaven)

It also runs games without issues such as Forza Horizon 4, GTA V, Star Wars Battlefront 2.

But has stutter in Fortnite, Control, and Rage 2, although the 1060 has stutter too, but always a little less. And in the case of Fortnite and Control, the game seems to be at fault mostly, and Rage 2 seems to improve a lot by disabling SMT.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,740 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Build 1903... did you have this with earlier Windows builds and/or when did it start or was it always there?

The fact you also had it with the 1060... I recall another user here having a similar issue, saying the same thing wrt it being worse on the 2060. These things are VERY hard to get a handle on. You might want to just start gaming and try to unnotice it. If the Windows install is fresh-ish, give it some time too.

Some stuttering can be game related. Another one that's popped up here and there (also on this forum and I just tried it, looks positive) is disabling CFG: hit start, type Exploit, click Exploit Protection and disable the top option:

130638


Worth a shot.

But I will say those TW3 stutters are possibly caching and other business you will see with newly installed games, but also with area transitions in open world games. Turing having a larger cache and doing more with it, this seems to be a likely explanation for the different behavior of the 1060 vs 2060.

This also means that the behavior may go away when you play the game longer; if my shot in the dark is correct, that also has to do with shader cache on the GPU.

Oh and another thing: your GPU is fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,991 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
my stutters went away with faster memory in TFW3. ^ I think vayra is right about asset loading, it happened to me more around towns/villages than running round woods.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
Build 1903... did you have this with earlier Windows builds and/or when did it start or was it always there?

The fact you also had it with the 1060... I recall another user here having a similar issue, saying the same thing wrt it being worse on the 2060. These things are VERY hard to get a handle on. You might want to just start gaming and try to unnotice it. If the Windows install is fresh-ish, give it some time too.

Some stuttering can be game related. Another one that's popped up here and there (also on this forum and I just tried it, looks positive) is disabling CFG: hit start, type Exploit, click Exploit Protection and disable the top option:

View attachment 130638

Worth a shot.

But I will say those TW3 stutters are possibly caching and other business you will see with newly installed games, but also with area transitions in open world games. Turing having a larger cache and doing more with it, this seems to be a likely explanation for the different behavior of the 1060 vs 2060.
I already tried that too but It had no effect. And I am actually the other user with that. I was able to sort some things out with some games but Witcher 3 seems to be quite the troubling one, and although I have seen videos on youtube that show stutter in witcher 3, I have also seen people with my same specs running the game without problems. Thats why I am tryint to narrow things down
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,740 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Its an annoying damn stutter I will give you that. Let me find that spot in the game... I'll check it out myself.

- Definitely an area transition, but it hits your rig much harder than it does mine, while we have about equal GPU performance (though I have a 1080 instead).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
4,678 (2.21/day)
Location
USA
System Name Paladius Tacet
Processor Ryzen 4800x
Motherboard MSI X570 Tomahawk
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 DUO (custom aggressive fan curve)
Memory G.Skill 2x16 (32gb) 3600 cas 14-14-14-36 @ 1.43v
Video Card(s) Big Navi RDNA2
Storage Micron 2TB SSD
Display(s) Pixio Px7 27" 2560x1440 165hz IPS DCI-P3 95%
Case Corsair 110Q Silent + NZXT Aer-P exhaust fan
Audio Device(s) Logitech THX 2.1 and Schiit Modi 3 DAC
Power Supply EVGA 700w Gold
I already tried that too but It had no effect. And I am actually the other user with that. I was able to sort some things out with some games but Witcher 3 seems to be quite the troubling one, and although I have seen videos on youtube that show stutter in witcher 3, I have also seen people with my same specs running the game without problems. Thats why I am tryint to narrow things down
I had to lower quite a few in-game settings to get stuttering to stop in Witcher 3, and my ram is running at 2133 speeds. Runs smooth as butter now, most settings are on high, but a few are turned off and some at Medium.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,852 (2.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
I think vayra is right about asset loading,
That sudden stutter is background loading of assets from the storage drive. The only way to stop that would be with the game installed on a RAM disk.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
Its an annoying damn stutter I will give you that. Let me find that spot in the game... I'll check it out myself.

- Definitely an area transition, but it hits your rig much harder than it does mine, while we have about equal GPU performance (though I have a 1080 instead).
Similar to the difference in frametime between my GTX 1060 and RTX 2060 I guess. But exactly this is what I would like to find a reason to.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,740 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Similar to the difference in frametime between my GTX 1060 and RTX 2060 I guess. But exactly this is what I would like to find a reason to.
I do have faster storage. If your game is on the SSD, even then my SSD would do it faster;, if your game is on the HDD, case closed.

This also explains neatly why some games have it and others do not - that alone says your GPU is fine. Reason its more noticeable on the faster GPU, is because its faster than what you had as well, creating a bigger gap between framerates because you're still waiting for the same data.

I wouldn't worry about this honestly, you have to accept gaming won't be perfectly seamless everywhere all the time. No matter how much hardware you throw at it, btw. Its a sacrifice for pushing components to the limit and using uncapped FPS ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
I do have faster storage. If your game is on the SSD, even then my SSD would do it faster;, if your game is on the HDD, case closed.

This also explains neatly why some games have it and others do not - that alone says your GPU is fine. Reason its more noticeable on the faster GPU, is because its faster than what you had as well, creating a bigger gap between framerates because you're still waiting for the same data.
I do have it on an HDD. Would you mind elaborating on that last part regarding the data waiting with a more powerful card?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,740 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I do have it on an HDD. Would you mind elaborating on that last part regarding the data waiting with a more powerful card?
Every frame takes a number of milliseconds before it is shown. The higher the framerate, the shorter the time the computer has to get the data for the next frame ready. And that is something that affects the entire pipeline from Storage > CPU > RAM > GPU > output. And because you're pushing higher frames, the framedrop will be more noticeable (losing 20 FPS hurts more than losing 10).

Therefore, frame capping might help you, either through Vsync or a hard framecap, because you're making the gap smaller that way. But the biggest win for you in TW3 will be installing it on SSD right now.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,991 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
Every frame takes a number of milliseconds before it is shown. The higher the framerate, the shorter the time the computer has to get the data for the next frame ready. And that is something that affects the entire pipeline from Storage > CPU > RAM > GPU > output. And because you're pushing higher frames, the framedrop will be more noticeable (losing 20 FPS hurts more than losing 10).

Therefore, frame capping might help you, either through Vsync or a hard framecap, because you're making the gap smaller that way. But the biggest win for you in TW3 will be installing it on SSD right now.
^

This...

What will help you is
1) install on SSD (as suggested above)
2) framecap so you don't have the variation (as suggested above)
3) Allow pre-rendered frames (as many as you can tolerate), add vsync and triple buffering.
4) minimize the amount of open programs you have running the background (fresh boot into windows and start playing without opening stuff) will help alot
5) minimise the amount of memory latency you have via overclocking/shutting down background tasks.

Edit: I forgot to mention, there are some pre-cache settings online that you can edit the tile size/precaching that help with stutter. If you search for them they will pop up. Witcher .ini tweaks stutter -google.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
Every frame takes a number of milliseconds before it is shown. The higher the framerate, the shorter the time the computer has to get the data for the next frame ready. And that is something that affects the entire pipeline from Storage > CPU > RAM > GPU > output. And because you're pushing higher frames, the framedrop will be more noticeable (losing 20 FPS hurts more than losing 10).

Therefore, frame capping might help you, either through Vsync or a hard framecap, because you're making the gap smaller that way. But the biggest win for you in TW3 will be installing it on SSD right now.
I see, although the stutter is more noticeable in the 2060 than the 1060 even if both are capped at 75 fps. But yeah probably an sdd would help
 

user323

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
hi i created account right now just to share this i had same issue for many weeks
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,864 (8.28/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 3700X Stock w/ Dark Rock Slim (4.3GHz 1.2v/4.35 1.275v)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling GPU: Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro @ 3200MHz c14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) (45C max load, H110 AIO)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptop: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB
Set the hard drive power down timer to a higher setting in windows (or investigate if your drive has a hardware one like the notorious WD greens)
 

SLK

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
It could be your Ryzen 2600 causing the stutter. Have you tried it on on Intel CPU?
 

SLK

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
I dont have any other cpu
Ok. The reason I mention this is because the recently released Control game stutters on the Ryzen 3000 processors but are completely fine on Intel processors based on reports from some users. The fact that 2060 stutters more than 1060 for you means there is a bottleneck somewhere else in the system. I suspect its the Ryzen, not because it's not a capable processor, but there is some issue with Windows 10 and Ryzen optimization.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,991 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
Ok. The reason I mention this is because the recently released Control game stutters on the Ryzen 3000 processors but are completely fine on Intel processors based on reports from some users. The fact that 2060 stutters more than 1060 for you means there is a bottleneck somewhere else in the system. I suspect its the Ryzen, not because it's not a capable processor, but there is some issue with Windows 10 and Ryzen optimization.
Ram latency - specifically ryzen in witcher stutters from not being able to load out of ram into gfx fast enough (my 1800x, 1700x had this issue) if I run my skylake X in dual channel it also has the issue.

Ringbus Intel chips and SK-X quad channel setups don't have it.
 

SLK

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Ram latency - specifically ryzen in witcher stutters from not being able to load out of ram into gfx fast enough (my 1800x, 1700x had this issue) if I run my skylake X in dual channel it also has the issue.

Ringbus Intel chips and SK-X quad channel setups don't have it.
Ok, this makes sense and I believe you are right. I never experienced any stutters in Witcher 3 or Control, using an 8700K with a dual-channel 2666Mhz memory.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
Ok. The reason I mention this is because the recently released Control game stutters on the Ryzen 3000 processors but are completely fine on Intel processors based on reports from some users. The fact that 2060 stutters more than 1060 for you means there is a bottleneck somewhere else in the system. I suspect its the Ryzen, not because it's not a capable processor, but there is some issue with Windows 10 and Ryzen optimization.
My issue is that I would believe that if I left my fps uncapped and the issue happened, but I compare using the same graphic settings and capping fps to 75 with limiter or vsync, and the gtx 1060 behaves a little better in terms of frametime in comparison to the 2060. I dont know if it has to do with the gpu cpu combination that just doesnt fit as well... The only real difference between the 2 gpu when limiting the fps is usage which the 2060 has lower. Prefer maximum performance helps in some games but not all.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2019
Messages
40 (0.11/day)
Ok, so I moved the game to an SDD and the stutter was reduced by a lot. I still don't understand though, why in the HDD, the GTX 1060 has a better frametime than the 2060 with the very same graphic settings, and with an FPS limit, that is really what bugs me and won't let me sleep at night o_O

I also feel, like the GTX 1060 keeps the cache for a longer time, or in a better way, like if I restart after playing in the HDD , the RTX 2060 will have almost the same stutter as always, but the GTX 1060 will have reduced stutter.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
7,991 (1.72/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name _
Processor 8700K @ 5.1 24/7
Motherboard MSI Z370-A PRO
Cooling 120mm Custom Liquid
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-34-400 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 2080 Ti Windforce (Undervolted OC 1905MHz)
Storage 3x1TB SSDs
Display(s) Alienware 34" 3440x1440 120hz, G-Sync
Case Jonsbo U4
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse logitech hero
Keyboard tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores pretty fast!
Ok, so I moved the game to an SDD and the stutter was reduced by a lot. I still don't understand though, why in the HDD, the GTX 1060 has a better frametime than the 2060 with the very same graphic settings, and with an FPS limit, that is really what bugs me and won't let me sleep at night o_O

I also feel, like the GTX 1060 keeps the cache for a longer time, or in a better way, like if I restart after playing in the HDD , the RTX 2060 will have almost the same stutter as always, but the GTX 1060 will have reduced stutter.
Very possible...

Could be the way the card fetches/flushes its vram (maybe 2060 has to do it faster since its a faster gpu) and that little bit makes the difference.
 
Top