• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Works until blank screen and frozen

Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#1
My computer works for awhile. Then the screen goes blank. I know the computer is frozen because I can not turn the the num key light off. This only happens when there is graphical load like a game. Right now I have the computer laying on its side because it doesn't do it as soon. When standing up right it happens faster. I reinstalled the video drivers twice. I did just moved to my new place. I am thinking something may be damaged hardware wise. I can not see anything wrong with the video card and or motherboard. I did specifically check the pci-e slot. I tried my 6950 also and had the same problem.

Anyway I am stumped. So help me brainstorm. Thanks in advance

Edit: Rma'd it. More details in posts below.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,876
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Check temps, if you didn't already. Otherwise it sounds like PSU issues. Make sure everything is connected properly.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#3
Possibly the card has strained the solder joints or pads on the PCIe connector?
Did you leave the card in and unsupported during transfer to new place of residence?

Try the other slot and see if it still does it.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#4
Everything is and has been connected properly.
Upgraded to 12.8 drivers.
Using a different video cable.
I have now tried the second slot. Should of already. DeR Der... Didn't help though.

Going to try my 6950 again. Also will try the 7970 on another computer. Also am going to clear cmos in case it is a wierd bios problem.

It isn't freezing every time now. It gets heavy heavy green artifacting. I can windows right key enter to shut it down. It goes from a blank black screen to the heavy green artifacting, at least when it doesn't freeze on the blank screen.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#5
I can't seem to get the 6950 to give me any problems so I am assuming it must be the 7970. I am going to run the 6950 for a few days so I can game and see if it eventually gives me problems. Along with that, I am reverting to 12.6.

I really really hope my 7970 didn't die.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#6
I have now used my 6950 for a month without a problem. 12.9 beta came out, which reminded me of my 7970. So I decided to play with it. Same problems.

Think baking it might help?
I bought it used off of ebay. Could I still rma it through saphire?
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Seems to most definitely be the card.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#8
It definitely is the card. Just don't know why. Did happen just after my move and that can not be a coincidence. I see no visual defects in the card
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#9
RMA it and let them figure it out.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#10

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#11
Sure sounds like it's overheating. What are the temps at the moment it freezes/artifacts?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#12
The temps as far as I remember were fine. I took me a lot of reboots for it not to freeze and get the green artifacting. The fan moves. I have tried both the stock cooler and my artic accellero. The card doesn't even feel that warm from its backside. Plus it just after log in sometimes.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#13
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,594
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#14
Going to try to rma it. Still not sure I can.
You may be able to RMA it, but if you tell the truth they will deny your request. So lie your ass off and say you paid cash for it at your local store and the maid threw out the box and reciept. They can't blame you for trying! And it just might work.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#15
You may be able to RMA it, but if you tell the truth they will deny your request. So lie your ass off and say you paid cash for it at your local store and the maid threw out the box and receipt. They can't blame you for trying! And it just might work.
Did and will continue to do so.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#16
I think I made a mistake while contacting saphire the first time. Its like the online form I sumbitted did not get submitted. So I tried again today and got a response.

Provide a copy of the purchase receipt and send it to tech@althonmicro.com for RMA request.
This is a used card from ebay. Would I provide the ebay receipt, or should I contact the ebay seller and ask for the original invoice? I just read a lot of stories about the saphire rma process and it appears they charge you $15 if you don't have a receipt to fullfill the rma.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#17
they will charge you $15/25 receipt or no receipt but you'll have a lot more luck if "should I contact the ebay seller and ask for the original invoice" that way you can supply a copy of it to them & get alot less trouble from them
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#18
have heard talk about a black screen bug with the Sapphire HD7870 OCs which was resolved by BIOS flash.
I think it just bumped the voltage a bit.
Not sure if the 7970s had the same problem.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2011
Messages
5,975
Likes
5,278
Location
Hi! I'm from the Internet
System Name Selene / Yoda
Processor Fx 8350 @ 4.4 / Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 r4.0 / Gigabyte 890XA-UD3
Cooling H100i / Xig Dark Knight
Memory 4x 8gb G.Skill Snipers / 4x 4gb G.Skill Ares
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9 290x / XfX DD & VisionTek HD6850's C'fired
Storage 256gb ssd, 2x 2tb Wd Blacks & 1x 1tb Wd black / 1x 1tb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp 2408 WFp / Hp w2207
Case Raidmax Vampire / Chieftec Alum. Dragon Blue
Audio Device(s) Onboard Hd Audio / Onboard Hd Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX 850 watt / Corsair TX 750 watt
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair Strafe
Software Win 10 pro / Win Vista Home prem. 64 bit
Benchmark Scores What are benchmarks anyway?
#19
Hell I would just tell them I lost the receipt and pay the $15/$25. That is a hell of a lot cheaper then a new card.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#20
have heard talk about a black screen bug with the Sapphire HD7870 OCs which was resolved by BIOS flash.
I think it just bumped the voltage a bit.
Not sure if the 7970s had the same problem.
Hmm... I will look into that. If I could keep this card I would like to. It has an 86% asic rating and I like that. Not because it is higher but because I am air cooling it.

Hell I would just tell them I lost the receipt and pay the $15/$25. That is a hell of a lot cheaper then a new card.
That was the plan. I still sent a message to the ebay guy to see if I could get the original invoice. If questioned about it being in another name I would claim it was a gift from a friend.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#21
Well I never got a copy of the receipt. They gave me an RMA number real quick, as in within the hour. It will cost me shipping + a $20 charge. Not bad to get a working 7970 instead of this dud.

My motherboard happened to have a new bios that fixed vga compatability problems. So I flashed my MB with the new bios. I had my 6950 in and it booted up. I then switched in 7970 and it would not even post. Put the 6950 back in and it started right up.

Sending it back in tomorrow. Will post when the new one comes in and how it works etc.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188
Likes
4,794
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#22
Well I never got a copy of the receipt. They gave me an RMA number real quick, as in within the hour. It will cost me shipping + a $20 charge. Not bad to get a working 7970 instead of this dud.

My motherboard happened to have a new bios that fixed vga compatability problems. So I flashed my MB with the new bios. I had my 6950 in and it booted up. I then switched out in 7970 and it would not even post. Put the 6950 back in and it started right up.

Sending it back in tomorrow. Will post when the new one comes in and how it works etc.
I hope it isnt like the bios BS that Asus Had for their mobos, aka prevent modded 6950s from working...
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#23
I hope it isnt like the bios BS that Asus Had for their mobos, aka prevent modded 6950s from working...
Might want to reread that. The 6950 works the 7970 has not been for a little while.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,188
Likes
4,794
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
Might want to reread that. The 6950 works the 7970 has not been for a little while.
no no you didnt understand im wondering if this is somewhat like how that debacle was for Asus only its affecting 7900s ya know.

btw duststorms up there are fun to go thru lol
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,624
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#25
no no you didnt understand im wondering if this is somewhat like how that debacle was for Asus only its affecting 7900s ya know.
I highly doubt it. The card worked on the same bios for well over a month before giving me problems. Although I don't know what vga fixes MSI did for my board I figured I would try it none the less.