1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OFFICIAL World Of Tanks

Discussion in 'Games' started by ivicagmc, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,579 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,509
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    One of those rare, well more rare than they used to be good arty days.......... Tatty.jpg
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,456 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    NL, Europe
  3. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,456 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    What I recently did is putting the game voice-overs on "national". Improvement on all non-US tanks.
     
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,276
    The campaign/event is finished, so it's back to Tier 10s for Clan Wars....lol

    We reached the battle with owner, but got out-capped.
     
  5. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,456 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    You are in a clan? Does this require a huge online presence? Does it improve the gameplay in context of "kind of players"?
    I have been thinking of joining a clan because of lousy random battles of late.
     
  6. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Short answer is no, if you are in a clan and doing random battles you will still get quite a few lousy battles. If you platoon with the clan and go at it you know at least 2 others are decent players but it does not help in randoms. Now with Team battles and Clan wars it is a totally different experience because you are with clan mates and on teamspeak or vent and communication is vital. Online presence differs between all clans, where some require weekly meetings to remain in the clan where others do not, most would like you to commit to some battles whether it is team battles, clan wars or now stronghold stuff. Oops I forgot skirmishes too. Some clan participation is required. I normally play on west coast servers but if you would like a clan invite to figure things out if you like or not hit me up some time flmatter or ask around with other TPU members if you can be accepted into their clan.
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  7. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,456 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I got an ok mic so vent/teamspeak etc. should not be a problem. Because of potential lag and time zone issues I prefer to stay within the EU. What the clans ask of me communitywise can be checked by asking clan chiefs I guess. I still may need to read up on SHs etc. though, and grind onto higher tiers for my tanks since the Matilda and Birch Gun are not serious enough and I play best with them (although I am trying to optimise my playstyles for the KV-1 and the SOMUA SAu 40).

    Thanks for the offer for an invitation BTW, although US West is not a practical region for me neither your clan.
     
    flmatter says thanks.
  8. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    I was unsure of your region and just threw it out there. Yes almost all clans require certain tiers particularly pushing Tier 8 and 9 some prefer 10 and a working mic/headset. You can research clans on WoT website for your region. Biggest thing I can stress is look for one that matches or closely matches your online time. I have been in clans where I had to change my lifestyle to participate with them. I was in a clan once where they were 3 hours a head of me and had meetings and training at 8pm their time, so I was basically getting home from work and jumping straight on the computer because I did not want to miss clan meeting or training or battles. Yea that did not work out so well because I had to work late a few times and people in charge started yelling at me because I was missing meetings and battles because of my work schedule and time zone, I left pretty quick after that. It is just a game and real life comes first. So now I get home, do the family thing and dinner then when daughter goes to bed I hit Wot or Diablo 3 or fire up xbox360 for a little me time before nightie nights. Best of luck
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  9. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,456 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I forgot to mention my region, so that was my bad. thanks for the info.
     
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,276
    There are casual clans and "serious" clans. If you want the latter, then make sure you have high-tier tanks, although of course even the other tiers are important especially with Skirmishes already introduced, and that last event for Clan Wars is limited to tier 8s (max).
     
    flmatter and Peter1986C say thanks.
  11. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Figured I would share the updated t49 as the t67 same solid little td shot_059.jpg
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  12. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Just having fun :)
    shot_096.jpg
     
    Peter1986C and Tatty_One say thanks.
  13. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,276
    Haven't played in more than a month until yesterday and today. Anyway, bought the SU-100 because there's a discount. LOL
     
  14. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,456 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    LOL the Churchill I is like a mini-TOG II. I like it thus far, though.
     
  15. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    397 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i have a question about the game performance!!recently i upgraded my pc.
    curently im using fx 8320 OC to 4.4ghz ram at 1866mhz and bought gtx 680!! now if i trow at it all on max in this games..,in several maps i have realy bad fps,so i lower some graphic detalis and its mostly over 30 fps..,but come on gtx 680 with 30 fps on this game is stupid!!my brother have a freakin i5 and gtx 660ti and all maxed out he have like 60fps and more!!
    now im in dilema..of seling my cpu and mobo and go to the freakin intel!!that is only game i paly and i want it to run beter then this ...,beter then now!!
     
  16. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2,296 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,591
    Location:
    GMT +2
    do you use add-ons and what.
    with my pc i have 40-60fps depending on what is on screen. game isnt very optimized for amd but there are some settings that are useless in but have quite punch on fps.
    go to https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX3CVO5uiuB9U0aOe20YT1A and check this mod pack. with their installer they have some optimization on game client so it run better and also they did some optimization for add-ons with 0.9.5 version of the pack.
    also server and connection lag is transferred into fps drop and wargame's servers have problems with ping which is also transferred to fps drop. those are game features u cant do much about them.
    in mod pack there is add-on that shows ping to the servers. you cant install it and keep an eye on it to see how is your connection.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2014
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,579 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,509
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Something strange there, I believe the game is single threaded, it must be because I just have a Dual core Haswell (without HT) and it flies, coupled with a 280X I consistently get 80+ FPS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    397 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    now i wana share my expirience about this,after my holidays i can back from bosnia and since i trow my ssd to wife´s notebook a had to do windows instalation...,and for some time now i wanted to try windows 10!
    and i actualy did that,install it on this pc..,and i did notice fps improvement..,with same setings ia have around 60 fps most of the time..i did also instaled newer nvidia driver!! so i canot say for sure is it windows or the new driver!!
    but the game is much playable now!!
     
    Peter1986C and ne6togadno say thanks.
  19. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    517
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2015
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,579 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,509
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I think most of us here who still are active play on the European or Asian servers, there may be the odd one or two who use the US though.
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    there are a few of us on the US server. :) Just when Christmas break is over and I am starting to like the game again, wot has to come out with these missions and screws the pooch once a gain with game play. Everyone worried about completing personal missions. wtf really ?!?!
     
  22. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    517
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I know what you mean, i don't think they realized they have x6 month to complete it, though im guilty completing the 1st one already :p
     
  23. flmatter

    flmatter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    736 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    I have no issues with working on missions but to enter a battle as a scout to get your "2 spotted vehicles" then suicide just to move on to next mission is stupid. I saw across the board last night 2 scouts, a medium and 2 heavies they got their mission completed then suicide to start and finish their other missions. Makes for horrible gameplay, If I am in my medium and have a chance to win the match and get progress my mission great if not I am not going banzai to complete. I am up to where you platoons with most of missions for the stug round. Oh well probably in a week or 2 it settle down.
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  24. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Decrepit Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,579 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,509
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I have not even bothered with the missions to be honest, I just like to random battle and kill things....... lots of things. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    517
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I told myself I'm gonna take a little break after the campaign and christmas special but WG keeps reeling me in :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)