• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

World Of warcraft causing restarts

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,630 (3.43/day)
Likes
7,444
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#1
A friends PC
i7 4770K not overclocked
8 Gb ram
Nvidia GTX 760
1 Tb drive
Seasonic M12II 620W
Windows 10
Updated GPU drivers,
Temps are good (GPU 61c) (CPU 54c on Prime95), runs Heaven 4.0 fine, event log just shows 41 system restarted

He logs into WOW then it will just restart, he says sometimes it will run for a while first

Any WOW experts here?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,783 (1.32/day)
Likes
3,006
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Asus VA32AQ 32" IPS 60hz 1440P |Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 1080P
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
#2
never had that issue before and i've had several configs since WotLK in 2008.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
530 (0.20/day)
Likes
346
Location
Great Plains
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i5-8600k @ 4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus Z370-p
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 2666mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1060 factory OC
Storage Crucial MX500 M.2 x 2; Samsung 860 Evo, Crucial MX100 - 2.5 SSD
Display(s) Acer 24" IPS
Case Phanteks P400S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX - Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
#3
system restarts not just client?

remove all add-ons
re-install client
try rolling back drivers a release or two
make sure the card is secure in the slot
double check the temps just in case it's not a big temp spike

then swap of the PSU if it keeps happening (its probaly the most common cause on the wow forum that I have seen if all the above is fine)
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,630 (3.43/day)
Likes
7,444
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
The system restarts. Event 41
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,763 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,419
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#5
Run a chkdsk /f in elevated mode. See if it finds any errors and fixes them.

Reinstall all drivers.

Reinstall the game.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (5.56/day)
Likes
9,133
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#6
Did you try pouring Mountain Dew on it?
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,258 (0.37/day)
Likes
758
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#7
Check the application logs with windows event viewer. Should give you some sort of direction or thread to follow. Wow probably has some logs to look at too, I'd imagine.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,715 (1.20/day)
Likes
1,615
#8
There was a patch today for WoW I beleive.

Did he try the Scan & Repair function through Blizzard App

You can always reset Wow by going to your "World Of Warcraft" folder and deleting/renaming "cache", "interface" & "WTF" folders. Restart WoW and let it remake/download those folders.

Oh yeah, Make sure hes not using add-on managers that would download or install add-ons every time he starts the game if they are missing or need updating.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,630 (3.43/day)
Likes
7,444
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#9
Will try ( not the Mountain Dew one)
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
5,202 (3.72/day)
Likes
4,178
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#10
WoW causing system restarts would be a big item on Blizzard support. I don't think that's what's going on here. I would look into hardware and other software.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,630 (3.43/day)
Likes
7,444
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#11
So just did a clean install. Still does it. I'll start changing some hardware around see if it helps
EDIT
Ok I got it to work. Turned on Vsync, cleaned the GPU and memory. With a ASUS GTX 760 2Gb mem is it possible the fluctuation of frame (100 - 45) rates causing a restart? Or only having 2 Gb ? GPU
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
530 (0.20/day)
Likes
346
Location
Great Plains
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i5-8600k @ 4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus Z370-p
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix 2666mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1060 factory OC
Storage Crucial MX500 M.2 x 2; Samsung 860 Evo, Crucial MX100 - 2.5 SSD
Display(s) Acer 24" IPS
Case Phanteks P400S
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX - Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
#12
So just did a clean install. Still does it. I'll start changing some hardware around see if it helps
EDIT
Ok I got it to work. Turned on Vsync, cleaned the GPU and memory. With a ASUS GTX 760 2Gb mem is it possible the fluctuation of frame (100 - 45) rates causing a restart? Or only having 2 Gb ? GPU
Frame rate looks good as even the gtx 1080 will drop down to under 45fps in 1080p during raids (has more to do with the cpu). 2gb of memory will not be a problem as well. Try swapping out the psu then the video card, my old ati 5570 handled wow in the starter zones recently.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,922 (1.24/day)
Likes
2,131
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#13
One thing to check is MSI Afterburner with its RivaTuner detecting app using low level detection enabled in global profile? Set to none.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,763 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,419
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#14
So just did a clean install. Still does it. I'll start changing some hardware around see if it helps
EDIT
Ok I got it to work. Turned on Vsync, cleaned the GPU and memory. With a ASUS GTX 760 2Gb mem is it possible the fluctuation of frame (100 - 45) rates causing a restart? Or only having 2 Gb ? GPU
FPS fluctuation is common in wow depending on area, how new of a zone you are in, and how much detail is in that zone/raid. FPS flucuation will not cause restarts. That is the nature of WoW.
It seems to be a hardware problem somewhere.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,630 (3.43/day)
Likes
7,444
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#15
FPS fluctuation is common in wow depending on area, how new of a zone you are in, and how much detail is in that zone/raid. FPS flucuation will not cause restarts. That is the nature of WoW.
It seems to be a hardware problem somewhere.
Well its working for now. I'll give it back to him and see if he can break it. He says sometimes he will play for three hours before it will restart. Might need a new GPU or PSU
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,763 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,419
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#16
If he can break it again, maybe loan him your GPU or something for a day or a few hours and see what happens. Or buy a power supply tester and test the PSU to make sure its good or not.
 
Top