• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Would it be worth updating my video cards

Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,051 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,785
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#1
I have seriously been thinking about putting my X1950XT's on ebay and getting either 2 3850 512mb models or 3870's (hopefully sapphire does release the single slot solution). Performance wise though would it be a worthy update or am I only going to be gaining 10-20 more FPS going from what I have now to the 3870's ?
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2006
Messages
3,558 (0.84/day)
Likes
249
Location
Enschede, The Netherlands
System Name Lian Li Carbon fiber ed.
Processor Intel i5 2500k 4.6Ghz 24/7 Max OC 5Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech blocks, 360 Xflow rad, Swiftech 120 rad, Liang with XSPC res/pump top.
Memory 8Gb Mushkin 1600Mhz 8-9-8-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6950 2Gb
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 128 / Western Digital 160
Display(s) ASUS 25,5" wide VW266h
Power Supply Corsair HX620 modular
Software Windows 7 64
#2
Imo those cards are gonna be bottlenecked by your cpu.
If i were you and i was planning to upgrade. Sell your system and go for Intel and a single 8800GTS 512.;)
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
#3
Well I would say since the highest 3dmark06 I can find with 1900 crossfires is 14000 with a quad it would be pretty easy guess that the 3850s or 3870s would be a good upgrade. Im not really an amd guy so I couldnt say if the cpu would bottleneck them. However I am a motherboard guy. Why the ECS mobo?
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,952 (1.36/day)
Likes
828
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#4
if u want to play games at gaming resolutions and gaming frame rates your amd cpu will not bottleneck your cards.. repeat.. will not bottleneck your cards..

if u want to score super high in 3Dmarks in none gaming resolutions and frame rates your cpu will bottleneck your cards.. in fact any cpu will bottleneck your cards..

futuremark has a lot to answer for in the demise of amd.. they want bloody shooting..

trog
 

HookeyStreet

Eat, sleep, game!
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
7,123 (1.47/day)
Likes
515
Location
Great Yarmouth, England
#5
I have seriously been thinking about putting my X1950XT's on ebay and getting either 2 3850 512mb models or 3870's (hopefully sapphire does release the single slot solution). Performance wise though would it be a worthy update or am I only going to be gaining 10-20 more FPS going from what I have now to the 3870's ?
If youve got the extra cash, then you should upgrade ;) If your mobo is one that comes with 1* 16x PCI-E slot and 1* 4x PCI-E slot (which is probably right) why not just get a single 3870?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2005
Messages
1,034 (0.23/day)
Likes
23
System Name Beatle_Juice
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 2
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1866MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II
Storage Crucial CT064M4 SDD/Samsung 840 EVO 120GB/Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) BenQ 22" E2220HD
Case Cooler Master ATCS. 840
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic 850W M12II-850 Evolution
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#6
I would second that one which technicks said
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#7
You might get lucky on ebay, I was able to sell my overclocked XFX 7950GT XXX' for 270

but it was agp
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,952 (1.36/day)
Likes
828
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#8
tell u guys one thing.. i was running am amd system.. 6000+ at 3.350 gig.. four gigs of memory.. one and two 3870 cards..

i am now running an intel system. E6750 at 3.8 gigs.. four gigs of memory.. same grafix card/cards..

is my world brighter.. does my dog smell better.. do my games play better.. nope

do my 3dmarks score higher.. yep

does crysis run better.. nope

is there less money in my bank account yep

ling live amd..

trog

ps.. for the record.. one 3870 card

2006 up from 11000-sh to 12000-ish

2005 up from 18000-ish to 21000-ish

crysis bench runs up.. zilch.. general gaming fps up.. zilch..

fur bench up zilch..

super pi.. up 25-ish to 12-ish.. intel likes super pi.. he he
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
#9
tell u guys one thing.. i was running am amd system.. 6000+ at 3.350 gig.. four gigs of memory.. one and two 3870 cards..

i am now running an intel system. E6750 at 3.8 gigs.. four gigs of memory.. same grafix card/cards..

is my world brighter.. does my dog smell better.. do my games play better.. nope

do my 3dmarks score higher.. yep

does crysis run better.. nope

is there less money in my bank account yep

ling live amd..

trog

ps.. for the record.. one 3870 card

2006 up from 11000-sh to 12000-ish

2005 up from 18000-ish to 21000-ish

crysis bench runs up.. zilch.. general gaming fps up.. zilch..

fur bench up zilch..

super pi.. up 25-ish to 12-ish.. intel likes super pi.. he he


If all I done was play games and run 3dmarks I would buy AMD in a heartbeat. I hate to say this but long live amd where we can get the intel prices down:D
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.37/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#10
Imo those cards are gonna be bottlenecked by your cpu.
If i were you and i was planning to upgrade. Sell your system and go for Intel and a single 8800GTS 512.;)
I am not starting a flame here, but I find this kind of talk funny. A user asks a question about upgrading his video card(s) on his high end AMD system. Then comes along a Intel user and it seems the usual comment is "your AMD cpu will bottleneck the card(s)". Then thankfully we get a educated user like Trog who has used both brands and can set the record strait.

I would be happy as a hungry baby in a topless bar to own a high end crossfire rig. :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#11
theres nothing wrong with his cpu at all, he actually has a pretty good cpu for gaming
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
967 (0.20/day)
Likes
111
Location
Danville IL
Processor I7 4770k
Motherboard ASUS z87 pro
Cooling Corsair a50
Memory 4x4 gig Gskil aries ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte r280x windforce
Storage intel 520 120 gig ssd
Display(s) 24 inch Asus IPS
Case Cool Master
Audio Device(s) realtek onboard
Power Supply hiper 880
Software win 7 ult
#12
I am not starting a flame here, but I find this kind of talk funny. A user asks a question about upgrading his video card(s) on his high end AMD system. Then comes along a Intel user and it seems the usual comment is "your AMD cpu will bottleneck the card(s)". Then thankfully we get a educated user like Trog who has used both brands and can set the record strait.

I would be happy as a hungry baby in a topless bar to own a high end crossfire rig. :toast:


Ive been around these forums and many others for many years and my money is on TROG being a AMD FANBOY:)Take it with a grain of salt Your needs are your needs if amd is better by all means buy it but the 3do6 tests he is telling you he needs to RMA that intel processor or throw it in the garbage if all he is getting is 12000 ish I get 12000ish stock with a 2900.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#13
I have seriously been thinking about putting my X1950XT's on ebay and getting either 2 3850 512mb models or 3870's (hopefully sapphire does release the single slot solution). Performance wise though would it be a worthy update or am I only going to be gaining 10-20 more FPS going from what I have now to the 3870's ?
I can't tell you if you'll be gaining a bunch of frames or not. But, take a look at the charts at toms hardware, if they don't have multiple cards, take the score and multiple it by 1.5 which should be approximately what you would get with xfire (yeah yeah probably off).
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
1,368 (0.38/day)
Likes
130
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE Deneb @ 3.7GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700 CPU Heatsink
Memory OCZ 4GB DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-7-24 1.85v
Video Card(s) ATI Sapphire OC 7850 1200c/5800m @ 64c Full Load
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB + Western Digital 1TB External Drive
Display(s) SAMSUNG ToC T240 24'' LCD
Case Silverstone FT01-BW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply ZALMAN ZM-750
Software Win 7 x64 SP1
#14
Some people are just clueless..

the AMD 6000+ will not bottleneck those cards one bit, except you might get lower scores when comparing to an optimized for higher scores in 3DMark processor.

*cough* Intel

Oh, and Amen trogg.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,952 (1.36/day)
Likes
828
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#15
Ive been around these forums and many others for many years and my money is on TROG being a AMD FANBOYTake it with a grain of salt Your needs are your needs if amd is better by all means buy it but the 3do6 tests he is telling you he needs to RMA that intel processor or throw it in the garbage if all he is getting is 12000 ish I get 12000ish stock with a 2900.
rubbish.. he he he.. not a lot of difference between an 2900 and a 3780 card now is there.. they perform pretty much the same.. in fact the record futuremark scores are held by 2900 cards and way overclocked intel systems..

but i hate amd getting put down for no valid reason as a game playing platform.. as a benchmarking platform intel pisses all over amd but as a game playing platform amd has no problems at all..

someone has to correct the all too prevalent nonsense.. sadly when the consensus opinion is mostly bullsh-t it aint the best way to make friends thow.. :)

trog
 

Exavier

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2007
Messages
981 (0.27/day)
Likes
78
Location
Bath, UK
Processor Q6600 G0 Stepping @3.4
Motherboard DFI LanParty DK P45 T2RS-PLUS
Cooling Fitseries3 Edition Fuzion v1, XSPC Razor X2, XSPC RS320, Hydor L30
Memory Crucial Ballistix @972mhz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB x2 (I need another OS drive LOL)
Display(s) Sony Bravia 40L4000 40" HDTV :D
Case Silverstone TJ07 (Mod is a WIP)
Power Supply Corsair HX620w
Software Windows Vista
#16
Both systems are good, and it's about your function as you've covered previously - gaming, not an iota of difference, but 3DMark sure looks nicer with Intel.
That's as may be, but to be fair, AMD and Intel are equally nice, just matters what you're using it for.

Also, chang, I personally don't trust tom's hardware since their completely BS review of the 8800GTX. Your call, but I personally just don't.

Trust TPU and Guru3D, lol :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,181 (1.90/day)
Likes
720
#17
i hate intel prices so musch and listen why would we need good scores in 3d mark i mean if your system actually performs good i real world situations like multitasking or encoding a video or playing a game but you get a crappy score in 3d mark then whats the point

i also hate why people say a card will get bottlenecked by a cpu i mean how yeah the cpu might not be able to handle a high spec game but thats for like friggin sempron processors a amd black edition is more than enough for games
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#18
With Trog on it all... It will be able to play your games and work good... Benching is another statement, and To me its really nothing special... I was playing games with just polygons as the people and loved every min. of it...
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,952 (1.36/day)
Likes
828
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#19
benching is a big part of the TPU world.. we are "overclockers".. we just need to know how it works..

overclocking the sh-t out of your grafix card will give better gaming performance.. the vast majority of games are still single threaded and are grafix card limited..

overclocking the sh-t out of your new intel quad core cpu will give better benching performance.. it wont help your gaming thow..

an amd 6000+ with two ati 3870 cards in crossfire will piss all over the fastest intel quad with lesser grafix cards in a gaming environment..

trog
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#20
benching is a big part of the TPU world.. we are "overclockers".. we just need to know how it works..

overclocking the sh-t out of your grafix card will give better gaming performance.. the vast majority of games are still single threaded and are grafix card limited..

overclocking the sh-t out of your new quad core cpu will give better benching performance.. it wont help your gaming thow..

an amd 6000+ with two ati 3870 cards in crossfire will piss all over the fastest intel quad with lesser grafix cards in a gaming environment..

trog
The truth! and you want to know why?!?? I can beat my friends quad at a few benches... I have A C2d, just not the AMD version... I know he probably fixed it to where I don't anymore, but I did do it, and loved every min of it! :roll:
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,051 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,785
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#21
I don't play benchmarks, I play games and I feel my 6000+ does me just fine but I feel the X1950's limit me in Gears of War and really can't tell if it is NFS Pro Street or my cards causing the choppiness. I am not upgrading my CPU. In reguards to why I have an ECS board well it was the only Crossfire board I could find in stock at the time and it was receiving RAVE reviews has being a stable board. Well it doesn't overclock worth a SH!T but yes it does run stable so I am pleased so to say. This is a 3200 chipset so it is suppose to be 2x x16 PCI-E. I'm surprise no one has asked why I run Vista x64!!
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#22
Go here... www.yougamers.com and they will suggest things to upgarde your PC with or to... Then that will work stright with you...
Why should we ask about Vista? I'm running Vista Ultimate x86 and I have no problems... so let me know why we need to ask?
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,051 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,785
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#23
Just seems people knock Vista right off the bat when they see somebody uses it.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#24
oh no... they use to for the simple fact that vista was BSODing everyone and so forth... but if you look around at peoples system specs, the new rigs mainly have Vista Ultimate running in them.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#25
Vista: I wouldn't mind using it, but with my current specs, forget about it! It would hog my resources bad!

ken, maybe 2900 pro's flashed to xt's? I heard in crossfire they are in between the hd3850's and 70's.