• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Would like help overclocking my Q6600

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (2.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
appears there is some kind of resistor mode you can do to help the striker extreme overclock a quad humm looking for it now.

yeah. let me know. i hate switching out boards on my main machine.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
Hope this helped guys if you sell your quads and get E6850 they will do these speeds for benching in those boards. Might be easier they were designed really for dual core chips and they will really o/c them. Night all off to bed. let me know how this turns out with the EVGA board something is being done wrong there. Check to make sure your PCIe slot is set to 100 mghz turn all that enhancement shit off listed in the guide I posted and try those settings if thats not it it's ram , PSU or just a bad board.

 
Last edited:

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (2.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
i guess i should give my e6700 a shot on the ol striker.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
i guess i should give my e6700 a shot on the ol striker.

If you set use like 1.65v+ 1.60v with vdroop you will hit 4.0ghz with a e6700 use the overclockers guide I posted for the e6700. For 24/7 I bet you get 3.7ghz or 3.8ghz with a e6700 at like 1.55v
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
that high huh? i've hit 3.6 @ 1.45v

You are safe with good air cooling up to 1.55v in bios which usually is really 1.5v with droop for 24/7 use. For benching you can go higher most intel chips can take a voltage of 1.6v but it will shorten the chips life but for benching it's okay. With my quad Ive use 1.7v for benching but quad are beefed up. My everyday clock is the 3.8ghz in my signature my bios is set to 1.525v but with voltage droop it's really 1.475v
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,945 (1.42/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080Ti STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB , 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1621+ RAID5
Display(s) Corsair Xeneon 32" 32UHD144 4K
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Virtuoso Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G604s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 11 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
I will give the guides a read right now.

I will run Memtest while i am at work tomorrow. That will be a guaranteed 8hr run. I doubt I will get any errors as I dont get BSOD's or anything of that sort and the system's stability is 100% at 3GHz.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
I will give the guides a read right now.

I will run Memtest while i am at work tomorrow. That will be a guaranteed 8hr run. I doubt I will get any errors as I dont get BSOD's or anything of that sort and the system's stability is 100% at 3GHz.

most people say 6 hours of prime is considered stable and remember no program on earth other than orthos uses 100 percent of a chip potential ever.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,945 (1.42/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080Ti STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB , 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1621+ RAID5
Display(s) Corsair Xeneon 32" 32UHD144 4K
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Virtuoso Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G604s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 11 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
I said Memtest not prime. :)

With Prime, I usually go for about 8-10 hrs. 12 depending if I work that next day and how tired I am. :) I usually let it go while I sleep or when Im gone for hrs on end so Im not bored out of my skull.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,945 (1.42/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080Ti STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB , 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1621+ RAID5
Display(s) Corsair Xeneon 32" 32UHD144 4K
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Virtuoso Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G604s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 11 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
Okay. Some good news (I think). Just for shits and giggles, I was going to contact Intel to see if I could convince them to swap me out with a G0 because of "stability issues" what with the core running so hot for me. They asked for system specs and one happened to be BIOS revision. I coudlnt remember so I went to EVGA's website. Come to find out, they released a BIOS update for their 680i SLi boards on 10/3/2007 which I was unaware of. It addresses teh following:

The following was updated in release P31:

* Improved Core 2 Quad 1333 stability and overclocking
* Improved Core 2 Duo 1333 overclocking
* Resolves issues with G0 stepping CPU's detecting odd multipliers

So naturally I'm kicking myself right now for not looking earlier. I am running on the P30 BIOS. I am going to give this BIOS a download and install and I will let you guys know what goes down within the next 24.

Thanks for all the help thus far. It is appreciated immensely. This is the most help I have gotten from any forum I have visited with this issue. Again, thanks a bunch!
 

Aguiar

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Location
PORTUGAL
Processor Prescott 2.8@3.16 # P4 3.2@3.5
Motherboard ASUS P4C800 Deluxe # MSI 915p Neo2 Platinum
Cooling Stock # Stock
Memory 4x512 PC3200 KINGSTON @DUAL # 1.512 TwinM /533
Video Card(s) 9800SE 128 R350@385/340 # X600HDMI
Storage 200 Gb # 2x80 GB RAID (0)
Display(s) CRT 17" SyncMaster # CRT 17" PHILIPS
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 # ONBOARD
Power Supply 580 w # 350 w
Software Windows XP Pro/SP2 & UBUNTU 7.10
most people say 6 hours of prime is considered stable and remember no program on earth other than orthos uses 100 percent of a chip potential ever.

Hi...Thanks for showing yours Bench...regard to them i´ve never tryed so higher CPU Volt.Really awsome the 1.7xx Volts you show.I´ll try it with larger power set ( so far 1.4 V).
However i manage to run Orthos for 4. 30 hours ( the ORTHOS Beta Jonhy Lee version ) and it only worked with 2 cores , not 4...is that the correct Orthos ?.Let me tell you , i´ve got a frickin B3:mad:

For all...now i´ve seen a Q6600 @ 4,xxx Ghz.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
I have the same problem - specs in my sig.

PC will simply NOT boot with as FSB of over 1245 (311 x 4) and I can't get the CPU over that 3Ghz mark.

I've upped the voltage, reduced the CPU multiplier, loosened memory timings. Nothing seems to work.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
I have the same problem - specs in my sig.

PC will simply NOT boot with as FSB of over 1245 (311 x 4) and I can't get the CPU over that 3Ghz mark.

I've upped the voltage, reduced the CPU multiplier, loosened memory timings. Nothing seems to work.

It won't go higher the strtiker extreme has trouble going over a FSB of 1333 read above. It is ment to overclock dual cores and run quads up to fsb 1333
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
Hi...Thanks for showing yours Bench...regard to them i´ve never tryed so higher CPU Volt.Really awsome the 1.7xx Volts you show.I´ll try it with larger power set ( so far 1.4 V).
However i manage to run Orthos for 4. 30 hours ( the ORTHOS Beta Jonhy Lee version ) and it only worked with 2 cores , not 4...is that the correct Orthos ?.Let me tell you , i´ve got a frickin B3:mad:

For all...now i´ve seen a Q6600 @ 4,xxx Ghz.

That was for benching only my clocks are listed below.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,111 (1.82/day)
It's not your CPU are you listening I had the same board you do as do several people on EVGA's web page it was designed to overclock a Quad core unlike the Striker Extreme. I had your board and a B3 stepping chip quad and it oced to 3.4ghz and 3.3ghz to 3.5 ghz on a B3 is the average. IT IS NOT YOUR MOTHERBOARD OR CHIP YOUR DOING SOMETHING WRONG OR YOU HAVE A BAD PART OR CRAPPY OVERCLOCKING PART BUT MOST LIKELY NOT YOUR MOTHERBOARD IT'S YOUR RAM , PSU OR YOUR JUST MISSING SOMETHING IN YOUR BIOS CAUSING INSTABILITY.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
It won't go higher the strtiker extreme has trouble going over a FSB of 1333 read above. It is ment to overclock dual cores and run quads up to fsb 1333

Well, that sucks.

Mind you I did get it to boot with an FSB of 355 (1422), with a multipler of 8 (2.84Ghz).

I had to run the RAM in 1:1 mode though, giving me a RAM speed of only 710.

Wouldn't work with a multi of 9, which would have given me 3.2Ghz.

I rolled back the bios from 1305 to 1303, which did help. It wouldn't boot past 333 no matter what i did with the 1305 BIOS.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (2.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
sell your striker and go with the evga A1 board. i got one today and now the quad runs 4.13ghz no problem. asus hasn't fixed the problem with the 1333fsb
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (1.69/day)
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
thought that the 680i's also had the same problem as strikers, 0_o.

hey fit, what are your temps @ 4.1??
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
sell your striker and go with the evga A1 board. i got one today and now the quad runs 4.13ghz no problem. asus hasn't fixed the problem with the 1333fsb

I just bought this thing, dammit!

Is there any chance a new BIOS might fix the problem or is it an inherent hardware thing that can not be changed?

Either way, if I can only get to 2.8Ghz I guess that isn't so bad. I still have a very fast PC that will play pretty much any game maxed out.

If I was going to get a new board I'd probably just go for a P35. I don't want to run SLI, and I have heard that those boards overclock really well too.. plus they're a lot cheaper than the Striker.
 

Fitseries3

Eleet Hardware Junkie
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
15,508 (2.77/day)
Location
Republic of Texas
I just bought this thing, dammit!

Is there any chance a new BIOS might fix the problem or is it an inherent hardware thing that can not be changed?

Either way, if I can only get to 2.8Ghz I guess that isn't so bad. I still have a very fast PC that will play pretty much any game maxed out.

If I was going to get a new board I'd probably just go for a P35. I don't want to run SLI, and I have heard that those boards overclock really well too.. plus they're a lot cheaper than the Striker.

take your board back or send it back. temps are 26c under load, but im running it with a freezone water/TEC cooler now. i'll post more about it later. im taking my daughter trick or treating now.
 

Davidelmo

New Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2007
Messages
330 (0.06/day)
Processor Intel i7 920 @4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58 UD5
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 6Gb Patriot 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI HD4870 1Gb
Storage 2x250Gb Seagate Barracuda (RAID 0) plus 2B storage
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch Widescreen
Case Coolermaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Auzen Prelude 7.1
Power Supply PCP&P 750W Silencer
Software Win7 beta
take your board back or send it back. temps are 26c under load, but im running it with a freezone water/TEC cooler now. i'll post more about it later. im taking my daughter trick or treating now.


Hmm, I bought the PC custom built from a site where you select all the parts and they build it for you. Guess I made a bad choice on the Striker Extreme.

I'm just not sure how easy it is to send it back or have it changed. I'm not sure if they'll take it back because technically there is nothing wrong with it. It runs just fine at stock settings and does what it is supposed to.
If I do actually manage to get them to take it back, I'll have to pay for shipping and I'll probably be charged for the installation, plus the new motherboard. If I take the mobo out and sell it myself and have to buy a new board I'll make a loss, and it will probably invalidate my warranty with the company who built it.

I don't know if it's worth spending more for an extra 400-500Mhz (assuming a different board would get the Q6600 up to about 3.3-3.4Ghz)?

Bugger
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,945 (1.42/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 3080Ti STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB , 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1621+ RAID5
Display(s) Corsair Xeneon 32" 32UHD144 4K
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Virtuoso Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G604s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 11 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
So I let Memtest run while I was at work and I got home and my computer was OFF!:mad: Dont know what happened there. Doubt it's due to faulty RAM as I highly doubt they are faulty.
 
Top