• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wrong temperatures on Asus Probe 2 monitoring software

Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#1
I was randomly looking at my motherboard's software when I came up with the following issue: Asus Probe 2 which is responsible for looking after your CPU temps and voltages is actually 20% off comparing to Core Temp, Real Temp (on which I've run sensor test) and HWmonitor. Below are 2 screenshots under load and in idle showing the difference:



I thought that ROG motherboards are for overclocking and stuff, but seeing the measurements are 10c (20%) off is making me wonder how serious (or not) Asus is as a high end mobo vendor if they cant get the temps right on a 4th revision motherboard....

Anyone else with ROG motherboards have such an issue?

edit: and yes I got the latest versions of Asus's software.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,823 (2.09/day)
Likes
4,193
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T/ Xeon E3-1290 / Dual Xeon X5675's
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming / Asus Sabertooth Z77 / GIGABYTE GA-7TESM
Cooling TRUE 120 / Deep Cool Assassin / Stock
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 / Samsung Reg - 24GB DDR3 Hexa-Channel
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music / X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1/ EVGA SuperNOVA 750
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#2
Asus doesn't make most/all of its software from what I know.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
380 (0.09/day)
Likes
55
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#3
AFAIK There measuring the CPU socket temp sensor not the core temps .
This also goes to fan profile settings, they use the socket temps not core temps for min/max/% etc values .
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,904 (5.46/day)
Likes
11,174
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Yep, the Motherboard's software monitors the sensor on the motherboard. Programs like CoreTemp and RealTemp use the sensors on the processor.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#5
Ok thx, so it's basically useless software...
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,023 (2.79/day)
Likes
14,000
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#6
No, not USELESS, it can give you an idea of when your fan speeds will go up and down, and it provides a general overview of your temps. Use it as part of a total package of information. Is Probe II necessary? Probably not, but if you've got the RAM, and you do, it's not hurting anything, and it does provide other useful information. Just don't depend on it as a barometer for overheating. For that, rely on RealTemp or CoreTemp.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#7
Yes I do have the asus suite open 24/7 but since I do the overclock in the bios I don't need it for that. And then I use Asus's fan controling program to regulate the fans on my radiators based on the CPU's temp, which unfortunately is off by a fluctuating percentage of 10%to 20%
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.16/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#8
generally,

-i dont like using asus software to overclock, rather keep it in the bios where it should be
-also, their monitoring software is pretty trash, so i'd avoid those too
-i havent used some of their non-computer stuff like AI charger+ or usb3.0 boost
-fan expert is great, controlling fans (though not too an exact rpm) is awesome regardless
-wifi-to-go/engine is actually rather useful if you have it
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.32/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#9
@DF is BUSY so I can use "fan expect" without using any other part of the software (ie I uninstall everything and reinstall fan expert alone?)
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2013
Messages
277 (0.16/day)
Likes
54
System Name IVY BRIDGE
Processor i7 3770K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Cooling PHANTEKS TC14PE
Memory GSKILL ARES DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 770 WF OC
Storage SAMSUNG 830 / GSKILL PHOENIX / SAMSUNG F4 / SEAGATE MOMENTUS / SEAGATE HDD 1.5
Display(s) ASUS 24" / DELL 20"
Case CORSAIR AIR 540
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DG
Power Supply COOLERMASTER V700
Software WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE x64
#10
@DF is BUSY so I can use "fan expect" without using any other part of the software (ie I uninstall everything and reinstall fan expert alone?)
well if you download the whole asus suite from your motherboard support page, it gives you a big 180~ mb file (at least it did for my mobo), in there has ALL the software provided by the suite. extract, run the setup and from there you can CHOOSE exactly what you want to install. i deselected everything i didn't want/need and just installed things like fan expert, wifi, etc
 
Top