1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WTH happened to my desktop: Boot error out of nowhere (pic)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vbx, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Running Raid 0. Started this morning only to see this screen. Was working just fine last night. Using laptop right now. Don't hear any grinding noise. I do hear a slight whining noise when I shut down. When I load the boot screen, it says RAID not detected or something.

    [​IMG]

    edit: added pic.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,817 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,629
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What kind of RAID controller are you using? Is it a stand-alone card or on-board.
    When the computer boots, access the RAID controller (either through its driver or in the BIOS) and see if one of your disks have failed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I have no idea. The computer came with RAID when I bought it. Sony VGC-RA830G.

    How do I detect a bad drive in Bios?
     
  4. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Singapore
    If it's a laptop, it would be best to let sony handle without voiding your warranty.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Its a desktop.

    PORT 0 and 1 are RAID..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  6. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,074 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,915
    You could try fixing the master boot record (MBR).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. twilyth Guest

    If you have an SSD, they use RAID internally, but I thought that would be transparent to the bios.

    aside from the obvious - a HW malfuntion - check the bios to see what the bood order is and if RAID is enabled.

    I have one machine that periodically would rearrange the boot priority and I would get an error saying insert boot disk or whatever. Eventually I figured out that the priority had changed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Ok, FIXED! I inserted the Sony Recovery disc and it detected a failure in the Raid controller. It automatically fixed it and is now working. Not sure why or how the raid controller went bad???
     
  9. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,163 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,023
    Location:
    Texas
    WOW. Recovery disc fixed the raid controller error and you did not have to rebuild the array?? I am impressed.
     
  10. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There is hope for raid zero without rebuilding the array after all :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)