1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X-Fi Support Syndicate & Owner's Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by imperialreign, Sep 25, 2007.

  1. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    that's an insane price difference . . . but, I'm not sure how it compares to the US . . .

    Anyhow, there's no difference in the DAC. Honestly, except for the Xtreme Gamer and the Elite Pro - all Creative X-Fi cards use the same DAC, ADC, OPAMPs, MOSFETs, capacitors, V regulators, etc.
     
  2. Beebee Guest

    no 5.1 sound

    Yes its setup as 5.1 in both. As is usual with Creative Drivers it might tell you that its setting things in Windows but you allways have to open up the volume control advanced settings & tick the digital output only box before you get any sound at all. Then advanced audio Properties/ speaker setup/ 5.1 surround speakers. I've also set it up as 5.1 in the creative Audio Console as well

    I've been looking at the rather limited manual that came with this card and there is no mention of support for 5.1 audio anywhere in it. I thought the Bostons would work through the Digital I/O link but so far no luck.

    I was thinking about the gamer version of the card but I supect the I might have the same problems with it. The use of a minijack to connect the soundcard to 5.1 speaker systems was I think, a Creative standard, all the way back to the Live 5.1.
    The first version of the live card needed a breakout card for digital out, but sense then all Creative cards have more or less worked with 5.1 straight out of the box, sometimes with a little fiddling.

    The drivers that came with my Audigy 1 card used to produce an allmighty roar from the speakers until I could update the drivers.

    I still have a folder full of Sound blaster & Audigy drivers that I collected from various parts of the world, but this is the first time iv'e been utterly defeated by a Creative product.

    The real bugger is that the sound that Iv'e got from the 2 speaker setup is so good. The chips themselves are so good, it's a pity that ther software is so crap Beebee
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,221 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,148
    Location:
    London,UK
    are you using 1 digital cable plugged in or the standard 3 analogue cables??
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    he did mention digital.

    Digital signals are only 2.0 sounds, without a card capable of real time encoding.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,221 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,148
    Location:
    London,UK
    how bout if his speakers have a built in encoder?
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    ... what?


    software -> soundcard -> digital cable -> decoder -> speakers


    by that point, you're already getting 2.0 sounds... so you cant have an encoder in a speaker. You can have an upmixer, which gives you 3x 2.0 sound - but no matter how you look at it, it aint 5.1
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Beebee Guest

    JUst the 1

    Just the one plugged into the Digital I/O Blue Miniplug
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    what soundcard do you have again, and does it support Dolby digital live, or DTS connect?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Beebee Guest

    The speakers do have a built in Dac Beebee
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    thats a digital to analogue converter. All digital speakers have that, and its unrelated to the question i asked.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Beebee Guest

    Re 5.1

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yes, they have a decoder. that is not a DAC. They are different things.

    Those speakers support dolby digital decoding. That REQUIRES a dolby digital signal from your soundcard, to your speakers.

    Movies that come with this may give you 5.1, but i can guarantee you that without a soundcard capable of encoding dolby digital in real time - you have not been getting 5.1 audio.

    In fact i can kinda guarnatee you havent had 5.1 audio, cause thats a 4.1 speaker set anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    My pci-e x-fi extreme audio is hooked up to my denon av amp via a optical digital cable,and i'm sure its only a 2.1 output.Which sound card would i need that can output a 5.1 signal to the amp?

    I am using the amp to upmix it with 5,1 stereo mode atm.

    Thanks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    anything with dolby digital live - thats the name they give to real time DD encoding.

    The latest X-fi cards do it, auzentech and asus xonar do it.
     
    tigger says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Beebee Guest

    yes I know it's only 4 speakers, but with both my earlier sound cars I was getting imput to my rear speakers & both the Live 5.1, & the audigy said they were outputing A 5.1 Digital stream, & it certainly sounded like they were in games like doom Beebee
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    live 5.1 and audigy cards do not support encoding, so they definately werent outputting your games in 5.1.

    Your card has (and always has been) outputting a stereo signal over a digital connection - your speakers must have a feature such as what tigger mentioned a few posts above, an upmixing mode thats making the rear speakers clone the front speakers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I'm using my amp to upmix,i am going to buy one of these xonar dx card now i think.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,221 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,148
    Location:
    London,UK
    Tigger - you sexy beast. care to donate that Xonar to me??? In return you can have my PCI-E Titanium Fatality Pro :cool::cool::cool::cool:
     
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    Thanks but i'll give the xonar a try first.I need the ddl output for my sexy denon amp.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,221 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,148
    Location:
    London,UK
    my X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro has DDL
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,221 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,148
    Location:
    London,UK
    I know. I was asking if youd like to swap :D :D :D :D
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    me? nooooooo.


    I get EAX 4.0 out of this thing thanks to alchemy universal, DDL and... well, it sounds good.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)