• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

x-over cable/straight-through cable + uplink switch

Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
951 (0.27/day)
Likes
149
Processor AMD Phenom 9850BE
Motherboard ASUS M3A32MVP Deluxe 790FX
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS9700
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tracers 4G (1G x 4) 800Mhz CAS4
Video Card(s) VisionTek HD3870 + a VisionTek HD3870 OC Edition Xfire'd
Storage 320G WD SATA + 160G
Display(s) Gateway HD 19" 4ms
Case Raidmax Ninja
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply 650W Antec Earthwatts
Software Windows Vista 64bit SP1
Benchmark Scores candle_86 is a fanboi
#1
Can I interchange a crossover and straight-through cable by toggling the uplink switch or a switch/hub? I cant find any info on this matter anywhere. I get too consice when trying to google this and return 0 results. =[
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Crossover cables are generally used when connecting one device to another. A switch uses straight-through cables.

So I don't know. You could always try it, you won't damage anything, it just won't work.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#3
Well if its hub to hub you have to use the cross over unless the device you have can switch it virtually. But usually it's more expensive equipment that have that functionality.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
109 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel i7 4790k 4.4 GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z-97x Gaming 5
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900NT
Memory 24GB Corsair 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Ghost 7950
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB, Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Left: Dell SP2208WFP Center: Acer S240HL Right: LG Flatron L225ws
Case Coolermaster Cosmos
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Mobo
Power Supply EVGS Supernova G2 850w
Software Windows 10 X64
#4
the only thing that i have that cant change its pinout to match a different type of cable is a crappy netgear pci card. everything else i have doesnt seem to care, but then i dont have any hubs, all switches. but hubs do need to use a special uplink port with a switch to accomodate the different cable type.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2007
Messages
1,895 (0.48/day)
Likes
162
Location
ontario canada
System Name home brew
Processor Intel Corei7 3770K OC @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 GSKILL
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon 7970, MSI Radeon 7970
Storage Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240gb. 2 TB Hdd.
Display(s) 3x24inch Dell Ultra IPS
Case CM storm trooper
Power Supply Antec Quattro OC ed. 1200w
Software Windows 7 Business x64
Benchmark Scores vantage: P43089
#5
the only thing that i have that cant change its pinout to match a different type of cable is a crappy netgear pci card. everything else i have doesnt seem to care, but then i dont have any hubs, all switches. but hubs do need to use a special uplink port with a switch to accomodate the different cable type.
Hub to switch should be crossover as well.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2009
Messages
109 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel i7 4790k 4.4 GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z-97x Gaming 5
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900NT
Memory 24GB Corsair 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) XFX Ghost 7950
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120GB, Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Left: Dell SP2208WFP Center: Acer S240HL Right: LG Flatron L225ws
Case Coolermaster Cosmos
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Mobo
Power Supply EVGS Supernova G2 850w
Software Windows 10 X64
#6
Hub to switch should be crossover as well.
see thats what i thought as well, but ive never had any experience with hubs, only switches (got 5 including 2 routers, all full :laugh: )