1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1650 pro PCIe VPU Recover Problems

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Clydos, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. Clydos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dresden/Germany
    Hi guys,

    I really hope, you can help me ... I bought the Powercoler X1650 pro PCIe and everytime I start any 3D game, after some seconds the VPU Recover comes up with the message "VPU Recover has reset your graphics accelerator as it was no longer responding to graphics driver commands" and game ist not working anymore.

    My system is:
    WinXP SP2
    MSI K9N Neo-F (nvidia nForce 550)
    X1650 pro PCIe

    I installed the latest chipset drivers and also the latest Catalyst. I even changed the card at my seller, but same problem with the new card.

    Unfortunatly no program shows me the GPU temperature. I tried ATI Tools and ATI Tray Tools. All say, that temperature monitoring or the main sensors are not supported.

    Does anyone knows what else I could do?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Gorre

    Gorre New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    103 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cinnamon - edible orgasms
    Tried turning off VPU recovery?
    A few people I know do that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Clydos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dresden/Germany
    Yeah, I tried that. But then the PC completly crashes ...
     
  4. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    Try the ATITool v0.25 beta16pre5 (or pre6). If you are using v0.24, it can't display GPU temperature.

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Clydos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dresden/Germany
    I downloaded and installed it a few minutes ago, but same problem (Temperature monitoring: Not supported). Here is my log file, maybe this helps:

    Code:
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D Successfully connected to driver, version 125
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D ATI VGA...
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x71C6 bus 6 dev 0
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D   fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xFEBF0000.
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D   mmapped mmr to 0x1820000
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D   BIOS at 0x0
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D   fixing bios address to 0xC0000
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D   mmapped bios to 0x1830000
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D   Temperature monitoring: Not supported
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D  VT1103 chip detection: failed (0x0)
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D Device initialized successfully
    2006-11-09 18:13:16	D NVIDIA VGA...
    2006-11-09 18:15:29	D Could not read driver's clock info: 2
    2006-11-09 18:15:29	I Application terminated.
    
    My board does have a nvidia chipset. But why says ATI Tool "NVIDIA VGA"? And what about the other problems showed?

    Also, if I click on "Show 3D view" the windows open but no animation is shown but my system hangs up!? :-( I used the default settings.
    But, when I use dxdiag to test DirectX 7,8,9 there are no problems - no hanging up, no vpu recover ... I am just confused and don't know what to do anymore. :(

    Thanks in advance!
     
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    how many watts dose your psu produce?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Clydos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dresden/Germany
    The psu produces 400 W ... I hope that is enough for the card!?
     
  8. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    I use 250w PSU with x1600pro AGP card. It should more than enough with 400w PSU.

    Sorry man, I don't know how to solve your problem.

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,338 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Is it not a dodgy card? Has it done it since you got it? Bad driver install? HSF not on properly? Temps?
     
  10. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,979 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Portugal
    i've been having the same problem with my x1800gto
    can you play any game?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ARTOSOFT New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    369 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Singapore
    Most likely x1650pro is not yet supported on ATITool. You may want to try the latest ATITool v0.25 beta8. Check on ATITool forum.

    Regards,
    Arto.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Avarice

    Avarice

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    i hope im not reviving an old topic but i'm having the same trouble i had it in xp and i still get it in Vista ultimate 64 and i was hoping some one may have come up with a solution (Psu is a 600W StealthXstreme)

    thanx Avarice
     
  13. Nyte New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    Toronto ON
    Give me your VBIOS information, I will provide you with an updated copy.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Sovereign

    Sovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    797 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I used to have a HiS X1650PRO and if I remember correctly, I was able to check GPU temps with the sensor tab within Everest Ultimate Edition 2007. Perhaps giving that app a try may help you out!?
     
  15. mitsirfishi

    mitsirfishi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    924 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Grantham UK, Lincs
    overheating ? i know my x1950 was doing that until i installed my new cooler if your card is heavily oc'ed and vmodded
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Before we can fully help you, more info on your system might be of some help. Fill out your system specs in your user control panel on this site.

    My first suggestions, without knowing anything, are to make sure all of your drivers are up to date, and to make sure you have your DirectX up to date.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)