• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1800 series experiences / overclock results etc.

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,434 (3.45/day)
Likes
4,289
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 | Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Code V2B
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
So, if load temp is under 70-75 card is safe?!
oh yea. ive cranked mine up to 90 for a good hour and it was fine. i think when it hits 93 it shuts it self down.
 

Aguiar

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
PORTUGAL
Processor Prescott 2.8@3.16 # P4 3.2@3.5
Motherboard ASUS P4C800 Deluxe # MSI 915p Neo2 Platinum
Cooling Stock # Stock
Memory 4x512 PC3200 KINGSTON @DUAL # 1.512 TwinM /533
Video Card(s) 9800SE 128 R350@385/340 # X600HDMI
Storage 200 Gb # 2x80 GB RAID (0)
Display(s) CRT 17" SyncMaster # CRT 17" PHILIPS
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 # ONBOARD
Power Supply 580 w # 350 w
Software Windows XP Pro/SP2 & UBUNTU 7.10
Hi all...i want a x1800xtx crossfire edition,does someone know were i can get 1,cause i´ve searching and it seems to vanish from the face of the earth.Thank u for any info.
 

pt

not a suicide-bomber
Joined
Mar 11, 2006
Messages
8,956 (2.02/day)
Likes
167
Location
Portugal
Processor AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-60 (Trinidad)
Motherboard ASUS F3Ka (ATI RS690M)
Cooling stock
Memory Nanya 2x1GB ddr2 667@5-5-5-15-2T
Video Card(s) ATI Mobility Radeon HD2600 512MB DDR2@ 580mhz/486mhz
Storage 160GB on laptop+250GB external
Display(s) ASUS 15.4
Case Asus Laptop F3Ka chassis
Audio Device(s) on-board
Power Supply 1:30minutes battery
Software "genui xp", 'cause i hated vista

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,434 (3.45/day)
Likes
4,289
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 | Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Code V2B
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
yea way to expensive. i cant see too many people buying those considering the price of good dx10 cards to come soon.
 

Aguiar

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2004
Messages
109 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
PORTUGAL
Processor Prescott 2.8@3.16 # P4 3.2@3.5
Motherboard ASUS P4C800 Deluxe # MSI 915p Neo2 Platinum
Cooling Stock # Stock
Memory 4x512 PC3200 KINGSTON @DUAL # 1.512 TwinM /533
Video Card(s) 9800SE 128 R350@385/340 # X600HDMI
Storage 200 Gb # 2x80 GB RAID (0)
Display(s) CRT 17" SyncMaster # CRT 17" PHILIPS
Audio Device(s) Audigy2 # ONBOARD
Power Supply 580 w # 350 w
Software Windows XP Pro/SP2 & UBUNTU 7.10
Theyre very expensive...if you buy from a store,but i´m considering someone witch is doing a upgrade and want to sell is...:D
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
10,038 (2.20/day)
Likes
2,402
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
76 @ 1.4core running F@H GPU 675Mhz.


No issues.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
125
Location
London, England
ATi factory made X1800GTO, still locked
Max. temp. of 74*c with Accelero X2
VGPU @ 1.4V
MVDDC @ 2.201V
MVDDQ @ 2.001V
Memory timings much much looser than stock

With all of this, I can manage:
GPU @ 695MHz
Mem @ 693MHz (1386MHz)

Any higher voltages, and I reach the point of dimished returns. With 1.425V I can only reach 702 GPU, and 703 Mem, but with some occasional artifacting and higher temps, but I can also reach these speeds with the current voltage, with only a little more artifacting.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,114 (1.15/day)
Likes
1,354
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
pretty sweet oc on air cooling, whats the performance improvement over stock speeds, just curious.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
125
Location
London, England
I haven't tested it extensively with benchmarks at this speed, but for reference:
With catalyst 7.2, and stock cooler, no volts added, in 3DM05 and with the system in my specs on teh left;
No OC (500/500): 6690
Small OC (546/500): 7070
Not huge, but a nice little increase, from just a simple 46MHz on the GPU.
When I upped the voltages a little I managed to get: 600/666 (heheheh, twas the max actually), but still with stock cooling and very small voltage increase.
At 600/666: 7763

This GPU really speeds up nicely and does improve alot more than I expected. Even without the extra pipeline quad though, it manages Oblivion at 1280x1024, HDR, 16xAF (cba for AA), and Ultra-High settings with an average of, I'd say, about 35fps. It dips to 25fps when outisde, looking at a large forrest from a high hill.
Definately beats my old 6600 (which could still manage 1280x1024 with 8xAF and Medium settings with 25fps average, dipping to 15, which is still kinda playable to me)

Also, I think I could probably lower my temps with some extra air circulating my case, it's not quite got the air circulation of my old case (two 120mm fans one up front, one at the back, and side vent in front of GPU, and an 80mm in front of my CPU), but will probably improve when I get the other fans I ordered.
I'd love to get watercooling, but I doubt I can get it with £25, heh.

What d'you get with that overclock btw?
 
Last edited:

Filip

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
I haven't tested it extensively with benchmarks at this speed, but for reference:
With catalyst 7.2, and stock cooler, no volts added, in 3DM05 and with the system in my specs on teh left;
No OC (500/500): 6690
Small OC (546/500): 7070
Not huge, but a nice little increase, from just a simple 46MHz on the GPU.
When I upped the voltages a little I managed to get: 600/666 (heheheh, twas the max actually), but still with stock cooling and very small voltage increase.
At 600/666: 7763

This GPU really speeds up nicely and does improve alot more than I expected. Even without the extra pipeline quad though, it manages Oblivion at 1280x1024, HDR, 16xAF (cba for AA), and Ultra-High settings with an average of, I'd say, about 35fps. It dips to 25fps when outisde, looking at a large forrest from a high hill.
Definately beats my old 6600 (which could still manage 1280x1024 with 8xAF and Medium settings with 25fps average, dipping to 15, which is still kinda playable to me)

Also, I think I could probably lower my temps with some extra air circulating my case, it's not quite got the air circulation of my old case (two 120mm fans one up front, one at the back, and side vent in front of GPU, and an 80mm in front of my CPU), but will probably improve when I get the other fans I ordered.
I'd love to get watercooling, but I doubt I can get it with £25, heh.

What d'you get with that overclock btw?
Voltages?
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
125
Location
London, England
I think I had it at 1.3V GPU and 1.9V MVDDC and 1.9V MVDDQ for 600/666, or something similar to those voltages. I was trying to be a little conservative with that overclock in terms of temperatures and voltages.
546/500 was on stock voltages I believe, although I wouldnt be surprised if I did end up upping the GPU voltage a bit for that.
 

Filip

New Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2007
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
If anybody have sapphire ati radeon x1800gto with samsung 2.0 memory, please upload your original bios!? What are stock voltages of gpu? Tnx advance
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
227 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
Location
Cornelius, Oregon, US
Processor AMD's 6400+ Black, 5000+ Black
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum, MSI K9A2 CF
Cooling Scythe Ninja, both of them
Memory 2 X 2 Geil PC6400, 2 X 1 Patriot PC6400
Video Card(s) MSI HD 3870, and ATI X1900 XT
Storage 500 Gig Seagate , and 320 Gig Seagate
Display(s) ACER AL2216W LCD, and Hyundai L90D+ LCD
Case Antec P-160 (Aluminum), and Antec 1650
Audio Device(s) Onboard AudioMax, and Audigy 2 Value
Power Supply Antec 850 Quatro, and Seasonic S-12 500
Software Vista Ultimate 64; Vista Home Premium 64,
In my rig #2, I just replaced my ATI X850 Pro AGP, a 256 card (540, 590), with a ASUS X1800 XT 512 card stock at (594, 693)

(I have a ASRock 939 Dual VSTA motherboard that has both AGP and PCI-E slots)

I really see a difference and it makes me happy, meanwhile the clocked X850 Pro will replace my unclocked 9500 Pro in a Abit UL8 board

I just loaded the 7.5 cats on this and my X1950 XTX the only difference I see is they now package Steam and Earthsim downloads.
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,397 (0.35/day)
Likes
125
Location
London, England
OH God, they now include EarthSim, as well as Steam?
I hate EarthSim, most useless program ever, unless you pay for the upgrade.
I already have Steam, what will it do if you already have Steam, or can you choose not to install the extra programs?
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
227 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
Location
Cornelius, Oregon, US
Processor AMD's 6400+ Black, 5000+ Black
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum, MSI K9A2 CF
Cooling Scythe Ninja, both of them
Memory 2 X 2 Geil PC6400, 2 X 1 Patriot PC6400
Video Card(s) MSI HD 3870, and ATI X1900 XT
Storage 500 Gig Seagate , and 320 Gig Seagate
Display(s) ACER AL2216W LCD, and Hyundai L90D+ LCD
Case Antec P-160 (Aluminum), and Antec 1650
Audio Device(s) Onboard AudioMax, and Audigy 2 Value
Power Supply Antec 850 Quatro, and Seasonic S-12 500
Software Vista Ultimate 64; Vista Home Premium 64,
You can deselect both of them
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
227 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
Location
Cornelius, Oregon, US
Processor AMD's 6400+ Black, 5000+ Black
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum, MSI K9A2 CF
Cooling Scythe Ninja, both of them
Memory 2 X 2 Geil PC6400, 2 X 1 Patriot PC6400
Video Card(s) MSI HD 3870, and ATI X1900 XT
Storage 500 Gig Seagate , and 320 Gig Seagate
Display(s) ACER AL2216W LCD, and Hyundai L90D+ LCD
Case Antec P-160 (Aluminum), and Antec 1650
Audio Device(s) Onboard AudioMax, and Audigy 2 Value
Power Supply Antec 850 Quatro, and Seasonic S-12 500
Software Vista Ultimate 64; Vista Home Premium 64,
Glad to hear your card is still plugging away!

I bought a second X1800XT and tried them on a Abit AT8 32X Cossfire board thinking I coud get them to work with the latest Cats in Crossfire.

No I couldn't

and I picked up a X1900XT too.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,434 (3.45/day)
Likes
4,289
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 | Samsung nVME 512
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Code V2B
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
Glad to hear your card is still plugging away!

I bought a second X1800XT and tried them on a Abit AT8 32X Cossfire board thinking I coud get them to work with the latest Cats in Crossfire.

No I couldn't

and I picked up a X1900XT too.
really?? that is the mobo i use but i only have 1 1800xt. dumb question but did you make sure to get the right crossfire edition card??
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2006
Messages
227 (0.05/day)
Likes
6
Location
Cornelius, Oregon, US
Processor AMD's 6400+ Black, 5000+ Black
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum, MSI K9A2 CF
Cooling Scythe Ninja, both of them
Memory 2 X 2 Geil PC6400, 2 X 1 Patriot PC6400
Video Card(s) MSI HD 3870, and ATI X1900 XT
Storage 500 Gig Seagate , and 320 Gig Seagate
Display(s) ACER AL2216W LCD, and Hyundai L90D+ LCD
Case Antec P-160 (Aluminum), and Antec 1650
Audio Device(s) Onboard AudioMax, and Audigy 2 Value
Power Supply Antec 850 Quatro, and Seasonic S-12 500
Software Vista Ultimate 64; Vista Home Premium 64,
No I did not have a X1800 Crossfire edition, I have a ASUS and Sapphire 512 editions of ot the X1800 XT, and I looked low and high for an answer as to whether you could use them via software, and the general was NO. but no one knew for sure. I know my setup won't work.

I did know of the hardware stipulation, but that had been around since the X1800's existance, and with the newer Cat drivers using software Crossfire, no one seemed to know for sure if it would or would not work with two X1800 series.

I did get the Abit splash screen which was correctly rendered, and it indicated it would enter setup if (For my Abit motherboard) I pushed the delete key, but it would not actually enter setup, just go to the next screen in the post sequence and Hang.

I should not have mentioned the 1900 XT, as it was just to replace one of the 1800 XT's to free up the 1800 for my Crossfire project.

I have really given up on finding a reasonable 1800 Crossfire edition (It is not worth much more than a 1800 XT to me). Instead I will seek a Crossfire capable 1900 series.

I just want to use the dual GPU folding client, which will only work with ATI based cards.

(I do use the single GPU client on my X1800 XT and it works well, but the X1900 XT is a monster at folding)

At least someone has attempted to use X1800 XT's in software Crossfire and now we know for sure there is a hardware limitation that cannot be overcome without a dedicated X1800 Crossfire card.
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,484 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,689
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Oh great a X1800XT series club - count me in!!!!!!


GeCube X1800XT 512Mb

Ive run it at gpu: 682Mhz Mem: 783

but I think my PSU is holding me back a lot as i literally squeezing every single bit of power out of it as soon as my pc boots up with the amount of hardware i got connected up to it.

will have to get that sorted soon the possibly try o/c again
 

MadDias

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Processor AMD OPTERON 165 @ 3006MHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty RDX200CF-DR
Cooling Watercooling
Memory 2x 1024 MB G.SKILL F1-4000BIU2-2GBHV PC4000
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire HD2900Pro CrossFire
Storage 2x WD 400GB S-ATA (RAID0)
Display(s) SAMTRON 98PDF 19"CRT
Case Chieftec BigTower
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700W
Software WinXP + WinVistaUltimate x64
last few days for my x1800´s

i was just browsing this forum looking for atitool updates and stumbled across this thread.
i´m a proud owner of a x1800 crossfire rig ;)
owning three of them

x1800xt 256mb (350euro in feb2006)
x1800xt 512mb (290euro in dec2006)
x1800crossfire edition (250euro in nov2006)

the 256mb was my first card, followed by the cf-edition card. but a 256mb card and the cf-edition card didn´t really work well together.
oc stopped at 690/790

so i had to get another 512mb card, which was more expensive than the cf card.
and they are running 732/850 in cf since i put them under waterblocks.

if u wanna see some benchmarks check out my overclocking database entry over at diy-street (former dfi-street).

i will get two shiny new hd2900pro´s next week. so if ur from germany (or wanna pay ridicolous high shipping fees) and want to buy one of these cards, send me a pm.