• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

x1950pro not playing COD4

ou7shined

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
Processor XP3200+ Barton
Motherboard SN45G v2 - fn45s00w bios + Zalman n/b
Cooling ICE push/pull SilenX 80x120mm + 80mm blowhole + rear grill cut + GPU blowhole
Memory 2 x 512 kingston HyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon x1950pro AGP
Storage Samsung Spinpoint SP2514N
Display(s) Neovo M-17 DVI 12ms
Case de-badged sn45g + stealthed + LCD temp
Audio Device(s) on-board Soundstorm
Power Supply PC50 300W up-grade
Software XP pro SP2
#1
HI guys, s'bin a while.:toast:
I got COD4 at xmas but my 16 pipe x850pro AGP won't play it because it's one shader shy of the minimum 3 so I pulled it and got a x1950pro to sit in its AGP former home. But I still can't play COD4 - it won't go past the splash screen :banghead: I had an issue a while back where I found that I couldn't play any games (Far Cry, Halo 2, GTA SA) with any cats higher than 6.5 - no biggy I just downgraded to the 6.5s. (omegas at the time didn't work either)
The most recent cats I can get Far Cry to play with the x1950pro is 7.4 (the next highest ones I have saved are 7.9 and they don't work after that) but still no COD.

Any thoughts?
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.18/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#2
Most likley a driver issue. Use a driver cleaner to remove ATI drivers, use add/remove to remove ATI uniinstaller program. (or use add/remove for all and run > search > ATI > ok, then delete one at a time. also remove uninstaller). Then download new ATI/CCC Drivers and try again.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,941 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,047
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#3
I think AGP drivers are good to 7.7, anything beyond that doesn't support AGP properly iirc, you may try those to see if that helps.
 

ou7shined

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
Processor XP3200+ Barton
Motherboard SN45G v2 - fn45s00w bios + Zalman n/b
Cooling ICE push/pull SilenX 80x120mm + 80mm blowhole + rear grill cut + GPU blowhole
Memory 2 x 512 kingston HyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon x1950pro AGP
Storage Samsung Spinpoint SP2514N
Display(s) Neovo M-17 DVI 12ms
Case de-badged sn45g + stealthed + LCD temp
Audio Device(s) on-board Soundstorm
Power Supply PC50 300W up-grade
Software XP pro SP2
#4
Yup Namslas90 I been through all that already - I used DCpro ever single time I tried different drivers.
Where can I get the 7.7 cats from?
 

ou7shined

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
Processor XP3200+ Barton
Motherboard SN45G v2 - fn45s00w bios + Zalman n/b
Cooling ICE push/pull SilenX 80x120mm + 80mm blowhole + rear grill cut + GPU blowhole
Memory 2 x 512 kingston HyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon x1950pro AGP
Storage Samsung Spinpoint SP2514N
Display(s) Neovo M-17 DVI 12ms
Case de-badged sn45g + stealthed + LCD temp
Audio Device(s) on-board Soundstorm
Power Supply PC50 300W up-grade
Software XP pro SP2
#5
Come to think of it ATI got me to download 7.12s for this card so you'd think they'd know which ones are good for it :twitch: ... still I think I should try out the 7.7s just in case.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846 (1.18/day)
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#6
Yeah they recomend 7.12 updated Dec07.
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx?p=xp/radeonxip-xp

Check here for other Ideas on the issue;
https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/gamesite/Catalyst_712_Release_Notes.html#173126

I know you said you ran driver cleaner, but a common mistake is not removing the "ATI UnInstaller Tool" before instaling new drivers.(this is even recomended by ATI in the download instructions).

Go here and see what SRL says about running COD4 on your rig.(should be OK)
http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest

Come to think of it, the problem may be your PSU the 1950 needs around 66watts to run properly. See link;

http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/forums.asp?s=2&c=7&t=9354

:toast:
 
Last edited:

ou7shined

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
Processor XP3200+ Barton
Motherboard SN45G v2 - fn45s00w bios + Zalman n/b
Cooling ICE push/pull SilenX 80x120mm + 80mm blowhole + rear grill cut + GPU blowhole
Memory 2 x 512 kingston HyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon x1950pro AGP
Storage Samsung Spinpoint SP2514N
Display(s) Neovo M-17 DVI 12ms
Case de-badged sn45g + stealthed + LCD temp
Audio Device(s) on-board Soundstorm
Power Supply PC50 300W up-grade
Software XP pro SP2
#7
The way that I was doing it was - add and remove > ati removal tool > dcpro - overkill I know but I do like to make sure. ;)

I'd be inclined to agree with you about the psu could I not run Far Cry with everything turned on.

I'm gonna try a new version of xp to see if that's what's giving me grief.
 

ou7shined

New Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Scotland
Processor XP3200+ Barton
Motherboard SN45G v2 - fn45s00w bios + Zalman n/b
Cooling ICE push/pull SilenX 80x120mm + 80mm blowhole + rear grill cut + GPU blowhole
Memory 2 x 512 kingston HyperX pc3200
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon x1950pro AGP
Storage Samsung Spinpoint SP2514N
Display(s) Neovo M-17 DVI 12ms
Case de-badged sn45g + stealthed + LCD temp
Audio Device(s) on-board Soundstorm
Power Supply PC50 300W up-grade
Software XP pro SP2
#8
Well I've installed a different version of xp. Couldn't get FC or COD to run with 7.12 cats although COD tried to initiate but crashed with a pop-up saying DirectX couldn't execute or something (running 9.0c) which if anything is an improvement.:ohwell:

I removed the cats and installed 4.8.442 omegas. Far Cry now runs with these but still no COD4.:banghead:

I had a look here and passed everything except cpu speed. My (one time top of the range :laugh:) xp3200 plods along at a stone-age 2.2 Ghz but the min requirement are 2.4. There you have it - time to build a new rig.

Clutching at straws here - I'll rig up an extra psu for the x1950pro to see what happen but I'm not holding my breath.