• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X3350 vs E8x00

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Okay...:confused: Where did I say I was having problems with temperatures?

I just updated my BIOS from 1103 to 1306. Here is a screenshot of me IDLE at 22*C and the motherboard at 32*C. Dont ask me why Asus Probe reads it in the negatives because I dont know. I went as far as to unisntall it and reinstall the program to the very latest to make sure but it didnt seem to help.

Now, can we please get back to what I want?
That solves it, you are using apps that arent designed to read that 45nm CPU. Give the latest realtemp a shot.:toast:

On topic.....the Xeon would/should do a better job, but if based to sell, I say stick with the cheaper one so you may make more profit. With that being said the price you are asking is reasonable for the non-do-it-yourselfer, so Im assuming they wouldnt know the bennifits of the xeon anyways!:)
 

MoeDaKilla

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (modded to Rampage Formula)
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX (2x2 GB) @ 445 MHZ 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GTX @ 800-2000-1200
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 750 GB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST75F
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06: 16812
Haha the screenshot of the ASUS PC Probe Utility had me rofling. -60 C MB temp. ASUS doesn't take too much care into making their diagnostic software. Use Realtemp and make sure you calibrate it correctly. The W1zz's directions are easy to follow when calibrating btw.
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,571 (5.34/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Haha the screenshot of the ASUS PC Probe Utility had me rofling. -60 C MB temp. ASUS doesn't take too much care into making their diagnostic software. Use Realtemp and make sure you calibrate it correctly. The W1zz's directions are easy to follow when calibrating btw.
off topic:...close but its unclewebbs app not w1zzards.:D
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,550 (1.58/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
That solves it, you are using apps that arent designed to read that 45nm CPU. Give the latest realtemp a shot.:toast:
No it doesnt, because the BIOS reads the same temp.

Isnt realtemp the one that gives only the 4 cores and not overall which is what matters?
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,063 (8.20/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Isnt realtemp the one that gives only the 4 cores and not overall which is what matters?
The "overall" temp is the CPU socket temp. RealTemp shows the temp of the actual cores.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,550 (1.58/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
The "overall" temp is the CPU socket temp. RealTemp shows the temp of the actual cores.
Doesnt Intel state thought that the overall temp of the cores is what matters and not each individual core?
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.34/day)
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
My main concern is how do they stack up to one another clock for clock? Im debating if its worth selling my system for a new one because it just seems like a waste right now.
Since when was having a high end processor which hasn't yet been exploited by any software developers and can easily have four years of dominance in the market "seem like a waste right now". From the sounds of it you are trying to make any lame excuse to waste money on unnecessary hardware, and then a few years down the line you'll be complaining how you're broke and how PCs are too expensive.
With my Scythe Ninja idle (also has no fan on the heat sink as it wont fit), I can get under 20*C. Idle at 3.8GHz @1.4v, I am around the 30*C mark.
The software which gave you that temperature reading is definitely wrong. Have you tried checking your temps from the BIOS or from a different piece of software?
 

ascstinger

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2008
Messages
544 (0.12/day)
Location
In a house
System Name F34R T3H 0R4NG3
Processor AMD Phenom II 945
Motherboard DFI DK 790gx LP JR
Cooling Scythe Mugen II
Memory G.SKILL Trident 4GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX260 Core216 55nm
Storage Western Digital 80gb Vraptor
Display(s) Westinghouse 19" LCD
Case Antec Mini P180 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply Antec Signature Series 650w
Software Vista x64 SP2
No it doesnt, because the BIOS reads the same temp.

Isnt realtemp the one that gives only the 4 cores and not overall which is what matters?
in a scenario where a heatsink isnt mounted correctly, and one core's running at 70 degrees loaded, it would matter, that core would obviously have heat issues that wouldnt be traceable in a system crash if you just measured overall. tbh, there is no good overall temp reading, as there really is no midpoint to measure from between each core that would be accurate (especially on a quad, where there are 2 dies)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,063 (8.20/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
That is not the overall core temp, it's the CPU socket temp. Intel's temps are based upon the cores.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,550 (1.58/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
Since when was having a high end processor which hasn't yet been exploited by any software developers and can easily have four years of dominance in the market "seem like a waste right now". From the sounds of it you are trying to make any lame excuse to waste money on unnecessary hardware, and then a few years down the line you'll be complaining how you're broke and how PCs are too expensive.


The software which gave you that temperature reading is definitely wrong. Have you tried checking your temps from the BIOS or from a different piece of software?
Im broke now. You answered your own question too. If a quad core processor hasnt been utilized by software developers to utilize all four cores properly, whats the point in having it? To show an epenis with benchmarks? Im past that point now. And with a current system like mine, how could I be trying to make "any lame excuse to waste money on unnecessary hardware" when I already got a computer that can play everything maxed save for Crysis? Ive been in the PC arena for about 7 years now and what I want I work to get. So it sounds to me that your trying to prove a point in which you dont have. If anything, Id sell this and spend less. Im not a noob by any means when it comes to PC's. So please dont treat me as though I am. :)

If you read a previous post above, you will see that I said that the BIOS reads the same temps.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,063 (8.20/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Everyone stay on topic in this thread, final warning.
 

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.34/day)
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
Im broke now.
If you're truly broke you shouldn't be contemplating a new CPU.


If a quad core processor hasnt been utilized by software developers to utilize all four cores properly, whats the point in having it?
It will give you longevity and peace of mind that your investment will be supported in a few years if software developers decide to get their act together.

So please dont treat me as though I am. :)
I'm not deliberately treating you like a noob. I'm just saying why cry over a good piece of hardware just to replace it for another good piece of hardware.

Edit:

Because at least with a dual core, I will utilize both cores and not leave two stranded.
Suppose, but now it's a matter of preference, this argument is turning into a dual core vs quad core debate which has been done thousands of times. If you feel that you'll benefit more from downgrading to a dual core and save money in the process go ahead, you've obviously made your mind up so seeking the validation of TPU isn't going to influence you.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,550 (1.58/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
If you're truly broke you shouldn't be contemplating a new CPU.
If I sold my entire system, I would have $1k+ to spend on a lesser one.

It will give you longevity and peace of mind that your investment will be supported in a few years if software developers decide to get their act together.
Doubt that will happen. I dont do much with the PC anymore. All my games that are listed in my Xfire profile there in my sig I dont play anymore other than WoW cause i just started that up for the first time. My games no longer have the replayability factor.

I'm not deliberately treating you like a noob. I'm just saying why cry over a good piece of hardware just to replace it for another good piece of hardware.
Because at least with a dual core, I will utilize both cores and not leave two stranded.
 
Top