• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

x570 Single rank vs Dual rank performance

Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
21 (0.00/day)
Hi.

I have been reading a lot about single and dual rank and I'm finding confusing to decide what ram to get for my motherboard and to play at 4k in games.

Asus crossfire viii dark hero x570.
5950x.
Asus Strix 3090 oc.
2160p-120hz monitor.

I have right now a good ram kit of G.skill trident z 16gb 2x8gb 3600mhz cl15-15-15-35 at 1.35v. it's a sansung b-die but it's single rank.

I have seen lots of videos and posts about how 2x16gb will improve overall performance and gaming at 1080p as it's two dual rank modules. At 1440p is a bit less the difference in games.

The exact module I'm looking at is the g.skill 3800mhz 32gb 2x16gb cl14-16-16-36 at1.5v. it's samsung b-die kit as well but this one is dual rank.

I can put my 2x8gb kit at the same latencies as the 2x16gb. The question is that for 4k-120fps gaming this modules will help my fps because I haven't seen any info about it. The gpu is normally the bottleneck but with a rtx 3090 I'm not sure if this is the case.

Thank you
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,981 (0.99/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Actually it turns out you'd be better served with 4x8GB Dimms on AMD's 5000 series CPU's so if I were you I'd probably just buy another 2x8GB 3600 kit the same as you already have
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,336 (1.24/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Actually it turns out you'd be better served with 4x8GB Dimms on AMD's 5000 series CPU's so if I were you I'd probably just buy another 2x8GB 3600 kit the same as you already have
2x16GB dual rank does the same as 4x8GB single rank.

At 4K it's not likely to make a huge difference though, at least not based on the benchmarks I've seen.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,981 (0.99/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
2x16GB dual rank does the same as 4x8GB single rank.

At 4K it's not likely to make a huge difference though, at least not based on the benchmarks I've seen.

that maybe so but why change out two dimms for two dimms when all the OP needs to do is buy another two and add them to the system
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,336 (1.24/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
that maybe so but why change out two dimms for two dimms when all the OP needs to do is buy another two and add them to the system
Did I say that he should do that?
I don't see where I contradicted you either.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
21 (0.00/day)
Thank you both.

I can't find the modules I have anymore. I looked everywhere so I could have four of them.

I guess 2x16gb will be best to tune than 4x8gb.

The only question is the performance difference of my kits now vs 2x16gb (considering the same clocks and speed).
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
7,336 (1.24/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Thank you both.

I can't find the modules I have anymore. I looked everywhere so I could have four of them.

I guess 2x16gb will be best to tune than 4x8gb.

The only question is the performance difference of my kits now vs 2x16gb (considering the same clocks and speed).
It was a piece of cake to tune my four modules. Keep in mind that they run 200MHz over rated speed and at tighter timings, but at slightly higher Voltage.
These are cheap-ish Hynix based modules as that.
You might have to wait for the new AGESA though, since AMD has promised to deliver better memory and IF clocks once it arrives.
 
Top