• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X58-OC Choosing a Mainboard

Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
562 (0.29/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z B-die @ 3200 CL14 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780 Ti @ 1300/1900 1.212V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
It should work regardless of a chipset driver. Try some older bios'. There are also some beta bios' floating around.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
I flashed back to Version 1.5, gonna try the original 1.2 again now.

Here are some pictures of the problem:



After running defaults I set 140 manually and this POST seems to confirm that it has the settings.




Note the '840' MHz DRAM and 1680MHz Uncore, because in CPU-Z with these settings I actually got 401 (802MHz) RAM and 2400 Uncore.





This is one of the POST codes that it takes the most time on during start-up, it stays on 0C for 15 whole seconds before going further. I could not find documentation about this code in my manual it seems to be 'Reserved for future AMI SEC error codes' but why does it take so long on this step? Is a total POST time greater then 20 seconds normal for X58?


And here is the result in OS, always 133. Doesnt matter if I try 140, 145 or 150. Temps seem good, performance is where it should be. Ran some CB15s fine and it was stable the whole night when I made an overnight stability test on default settings.

I´m going to try the other bios versions too and download some OS overclocking tool. I really hope I can use this board, I don´t know how I should explain to the seller that it is working but actually not really working.

EDIT:

So I installed the MSI tool and guess what, it has the same issue. Voltage changes do apply fine, but baseclock does not move one bit.
 
Last edited:

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
8,423 (2.45/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Early EVGA's X58 boards* don't support Xeon's (or require hard modding).

X58A-OC > X58A-UD9

Rampage III Black Edition
I can vouch for this as all three of mine won't work with a Xeon and I wish they did as I found trying to get 12Gb of ram working with the boards proved to be a bloody nightmare and a pain.. That said I have a few Gigabyte X58 motherboards and they work fine, including a X58A-OC, well two but with my good mate @TheMadDutchDude trying to get one repaired, the guy who was looking at it buggered off and we never got the board back or fixed either.. Was a waste of a few quid.. If need be I'll grab another at some point, but with 6 X58 boards, I think I've enough :)

I do agree 110% with TheMadDutchDude, don't waste buying a board that's only 75% of what you're after, if you're going to spend the cash, do it 100% right if not more :)

Apologies a bit late to the party :(
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
Going back to version 1.2 bios did not help either. I´m now going to try beta bios too, but after I try some other things.
Gotta write this down before tho, I´m really frustrated with this issue and myself right now. Again my dumb face falling for either a scam or just having the luck of picking the worst possible option.

*rant on*
I have spend the past 3 months on several things and all turn out to be dead ends resulting in me throwing money out the window and loosing many hours for nothing. I have a broken SR-2 that I thought I could fix but after finally finding the parts from china, waiting weeks for shipping, it turns out there is no hope. Fine, I expected that. Then there is my other SR-2 which is ready to go in a build, the parts all there except for the mainboard cooler which now got delayed way past its original ETA in September and I start to doubt that I´ll ever see it...
And now this. With all the things combined I spend 600€ on these projects during the past couple of months and many hours of searching, reading, soldering, trying, installing software, etc.. And nothing, absolutly nothing is working.
*rant off*

So now that I got that out let´s start to think logical about the issue. I tested if I could atleast set a lower BCLK. Nope -> This means that the mechanism of changing the BCLK frequency seems to be broken or obstructed on some level. I doubt it´s a bios version issue at this point (tested 5 different versions).
I can succesfully change literally every other setting, multipliers up and down etc.. I tried with 20x CPU multi and it still is stuck at 133 BCLK. Which in return makes me think that may not be the intel 'overspeed protection', but I won´t rule this option out completly for now.
Just to be sure I switched to a new battery too, that 3.04V bat is now 3.3V.

The socket looks good, no broken or bend pins. I doubt the CPU can be the issue since the BCLK is board level? Still I will try a different CPU just to make sure.

Under the bios setting 'ClockGen Tuner' there are multiple mV options like 700mV, 800mV up to 1000mV for 'CPU Amplitude Control'. I will try setting this above and below default (800mV).

I have seen that MSI has a dip-switch on the X58 Platinum to control the BCLK, if you activate that switch it will force a certain clock like 133 or 166 and ignore everything else. Seems like exactly what my board is doing, except that I don´t have such a switch for clocks, only overvoltage settings.
Could it be that someone did some hardmods to my board? I did not spot anything when changing paste and pads but maybe I should check again. (Or did some dingus try to use a modded bios from a dip-switch supporting board and screwed my rom up in a place the original bios does not touch?)

There is some OC-Dashboard from MSI that can plug into the Xpower, maybe this is able to set some hard-limit? But why would that persist after bios flashes and clearing CMOS?


To sum it all up I got some ideas left, the beta bios @DR4G00N suggested might be working too. But I´m getting a bit tired of it all. One part of me wants to finally get atleast something working after all, the other part just wants to throw it all in the trash and never touch this topic ever again.
I miss the 775 boards, they were atleast fun to fail. This is just a brick wall I´m running against.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
757 (1.23/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 2x8GB @ 3733 14-15-15-34-52-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
That looks like a Windows issue to me. I forget which setting blocks BCLK OC... but that’s where I’d start.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,126 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Try enabling XMP profile, and adjust it manually for what you need.
Maybe BIOS is too dumb to know how to set stable (2-nd and 3-rd rate) timing without a map when it's over or below 133MHz.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
Thank you for further suggestions but I had no success with anything. No bios, no Windows setting - even reinstalled OS and tried the older chipset driver version.

I tried XMP on/off/auto with manual secondary and tertiary timings and full auto timings.

Last straw I tried was pushing the OC-Genie button to see if the auto-OC can do anything and well the board gets stuck on postcode: 'A1 - IDE Reset '

The board is broken in some way and I have no idea how I would even begin to figure out where and if I can fix it. I´m sad, mad and just want to catch some distance from it all. Three boards in a row now that end up as expensive bricks. Can´t even argue to return this one since it does work at default.
Never buy used from private people, only go with companies that offer a limited warranty or some kind of return policy. Lesson learned threefold.

Update:



Atleast I got some fun out of it. I can set the max. values and the bios does actually believe it applies them. Max value for BCLK stated was 600 but at 567 it jumps to 760 and frequency rolls over to the start. So I only set 567MHz BCLK and left all voltages on auto as a small experiment.

The board set 1.28V for the 13.6GHz. Atleast you can never really overvolt on auto, gotta give MSI credit for that.
Decent OC I´d say, 3400MHz RAM, 20.4GHz QPI and 13.6GHz CPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
Sorry for double-posting, but I wanted to let you all know I´m now happy with the Rampage III. This time I bought from a registered company offering one year warranty and guess what it´s working. Did not even have to do anything, no software change, no bios setting just default and then change the BCLK. As simple as that.



So the MSI-Board is definitly broken on a hardware level.
It wouldn´t be me and my luck if I wouldn´t give myself the next heart attack right away tho:



Just remove the backplate to install the one from your own cooler and you break off an SMD on the rampage... Great. You can´t even know things like these beforehand, you see four screws and take them out -> well RIP SMD.

Luckily this guy seems to just be signal/power filtering and not 100% necessary. All memory channels are present, RAM runs even above XMP profile in 1T on this board and the CPU is working fine. Maybe I´ll run into trouble with OC-stability later but if so I think I can add the little cap back on. But looking at the thin isolation material and how it poked through, I´d say this thing was shorted out anyway and must be on many other boards out there so eh.


Thank you all for posting and trying to help me out! I seem to have broken my bad luck streak, lets keep the fingers crossed.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Messages
25 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 990x @4.4GHz 1.35v
Motherboard Rampage II Extreme
Cooling 2x Feser TFC Xchange 480 , 2x Coolgate g2, dual D5+bitspower top
Memory 3x 4GB G.Skill sniper 2400C11 1.65V
Video Card(s) GA Aorus extreme 1080 Ti, 980 Ti Ref 400w bios mod
Storage Samsung 950 pro 512GB, 860 evo 1TB
Power Supply FSP Aurum pro 1200w
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/11496348 https://www.3dmark.com/fs/22353863 https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/1
@Dinnercore I'm using R2E for long time, and i love this board. It never failed me. Idk if it's just me but over years i found that asus bios setting is easier than other brands.
I recently just bought 1x 4GB Gskill Sniper 2400 and 2x4 GSkill Ripjaws 2400, all cas 12 but it's stable at cas 11. Didnt expect that i can run 2400MHz DDR3 on this board.

Anyway i would love to play R3E and see what's the different between them. I read somewhere ocn or ltt forums, ppl can achieve higher BCLK on R3E than R2E. Mine is walled at 220, beyond that i have to set slow mode in qpi.

Btw, does anyone know where to get a pre-binned i7 990x or w3680/w3690?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,590 (2.82/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC ULTRA
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
Btw, does anyone know where to get a pre-binned i7 990x or w3680/w3690?
I have no idea about prebinned x58, but I have a complete dirt cheap set of x58 stuff coming into the BST forum here soon (likely tomorrow, just parting out and photographing a complete system) and a W3690 is the centerpiece of the whole thing really. I don't have any idea how she clocks though because the board is a horrible ocing board (Intel X58SO2)

You may want to watch for it, as it will be priced to move. Just a heads up.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
@Dinnercore I'm using R2E for long time, and i love this board. It never failed me. Idk if it's just me but over years i found that asus bios setting is easier than other brands.
I recently just bought 1x 4GB Gskill Sniper 2400 and 2x4 GSkill Ripjaws 2400, all cas 12 but it's stable at cas 11. Didnt expect that i can run 2400MHz DDR3 on this board.

Anyway i would love to play R3E and see what's the different between them. I read somewhere ocn or ltt forums, ppl can achieve higher BCLK on R3E than R2E. Mine is walled at 220, beyond that i have to set slow mode in qpi.
So far I have not found a bios that is 'difficult' to work with. Some are just a bit more clean and faster to navigate and I agree that Asus does a good job on that. I got some decent Corsair modules with my SR-2, 2400MHz C11 rated. I think they are a bit overkill on the SR-2, I doubt this dual socket server chipset will run that high.

As for the R3E, I can tell you in a bit if I can make it beyond 220. If I find a CPU that plays along too. I like that the NB does not need any voltage and runs very cool. That stock heatsink block with nearly no surface area keeps it below 40°C for me.
What I can tell you already is, IF you want to try an R3E I recommend enabling QPI LLC with the jumper from the start. It does slightly overshoot, ~15-20mV but without it it droops out of control.
Example:
I set 1.34V for the QPI in bios without LLC = 1.32V idle and only 1.29V (!) during load. On my X5650 I always crashed benchmarks due to the QPI droop.
With QPI LLC I got 1.337V in bios = 1.345V idle and 1.35V during load. Much more usable.

Could just be my board tho, I don´t know.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,944 (1.72/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI B450 Mortar Max
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD Green 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C Window
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Kinda offtopic, sorry, but X58 is just a damn awesome platform. Kinda the only Intel platform I miss of all the hardware I've had in recent years.. :)

Well, the basic AM3 (Phenom II) has also a place in my heart. :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
732 (0.94/day)
Processor X5690 ES
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula
Cooling Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT, TY143
Memory 10Gb G.Skill mix
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Classified 3988 @ 1495/2001
Storage Intel 545S
Display(s) Hisense 55"
Case Fractal Design Meshify C TG, White
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence ST
Power Supply CM Silent Pro M2 850
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
My R3F is the same way. Gravy train. Runs cool, oc like a mofo. I also have qpi llc jumper enabled. No sags anywhere
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Messages
25 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 990x @4.4GHz 1.35v
Motherboard Rampage II Extreme
Cooling 2x Feser TFC Xchange 480 , 2x Coolgate g2, dual D5+bitspower top
Memory 3x 4GB G.Skill sniper 2400C11 1.65V
Video Card(s) GA Aorus extreme 1080 Ti, 980 Ti Ref 400w bios mod
Storage Samsung 950 pro 512GB, 860 evo 1TB
Power Supply FSP Aurum pro 1200w
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/11496348 https://www.3dmark.com/fs/22353863 https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/1
@Dinnercore How to enable QPI LLc with a jumper? Is it in bios? I dont know if R2E have one. My qpi drop 0.014 under max load.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
@Dinnercore How to enable QPI LLc with a jumper? Is it in bios? I dont know if R2E have one. My qpi drop 0.014 under max load.
That drop on your board is fine, the R3E has this:
135985

There is no bios setting. If you bridge pin 2-3 its enabled, if you dont or set pin 1-2 its disabled. Bios only tells you if its on or off but you cant set it in bios.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Messages
25 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 990x @4.4GHz 1.35v
Motherboard Rampage II Extreme
Cooling 2x Feser TFC Xchange 480 , 2x Coolgate g2, dual D5+bitspower top
Memory 3x 4GB G.Skill sniper 2400C11 1.65V
Video Card(s) GA Aorus extreme 1080 Ti, 980 Ti Ref 400w bios mod
Storage Samsung 950 pro 512GB, 860 evo 1TB
Power Supply FSP Aurum pro 1200w
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/11496348 https://www.3dmark.com/fs/22353863 https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/1
That drop on your board is fine, the R3E has this:
View attachment 135985
There is no bios setting. If you bridge pin 2-3 its enabled, if you dont or set pin 1-2 its disabled. Bios only tells you if its on or off but you cant set it in bios.
I see. The only jumpers i found on my board are chasis intruder, bios flash back and and CLRTC_SW.
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
Anyway i would love to play R3E and see what's the different between them. I read somewhere ocn or ltt forums, ppl can achieve higher BCLK on R3E than R2E. Mine is walled at 220, beyond that i have to set slow mode in qpi.
I tried my luck and got to 225 just by lowering the CPU multi, have not changed any voltages from 200. However 230 would not post, stuck on CPU initialisation. Could be CPU limit, maybe it would boot with higher NB voltage or setting PCIe to 103 (I have 102 right now).


So maybe the R3E can get higher, I´m not sure. I don´t have much time to test further now and I´m still new to this platform. If you ever decide to get one, let me know how it went :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
894 (0.61/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2650 V2 (OC-3,4Ghz-ALL*CORES)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1510Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14063,Cinebench R15=1289,Cinebench R20=2538.Passmark=15670,Geekbench=23623 multi
That is nice&solid OC numbers for this platform.....check the stability first with prime or IBT and be EXTRA careful with PCI-E OC,it should be fine to go from 101-105 but anything beyond that can damage your hardware....
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2018
Messages
629 (0.76/day)
Location
Germany
System Name FATTYDOVE-R-SPEC
Processor Intel i9 10980XE
Motherboard EVGA X299 Dark
Cooling Water (1x 240mm, 1x 280mm, 1x 420mm + Mo-Ra 360 external radiator)
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Super
Storage Crucial MX500
Display(s) 24", 1440p, freesync, 144hz
Case Open Benchtable (OBT)
Audio Device(s) beyerdynamic MMX 300
Power Supply EVGA Supernova T2 1600W
Mouse OG steelseries Sensei
Keyboard steelseries 6Gv2
Software Windows 10
That is nice&solid OC numbers for this platform.....check the stability first with prime or IBT and be EXTRA careful with PCI-E OC,it should be fine to go from 101-105 but anything beyond that can damage your hardware....
I know about the horrors of raising the PCIe clock, I don´t think I´ll go any higher than 102 any time soon. This was just a run to test the BCLK question for snorlaxgangs. My stable OC is 200 x22 on this X5650. Same voltages and 800 / 1600 RAM.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Messages
25 (0.06/day)
Processor i7 990x @4.4GHz 1.35v
Motherboard Rampage II Extreme
Cooling 2x Feser TFC Xchange 480 , 2x Coolgate g2, dual D5+bitspower top
Memory 3x 4GB G.Skill sniper 2400C11 1.65V
Video Card(s) GA Aorus extreme 1080 Ti, 980 Ti Ref 400w bios mod
Storage Samsung 950 pro 512GB, 860 evo 1TB
Power Supply FSP Aurum pro 1200w
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/11496348 https://www.3dmark.com/fs/22353863 https://www.3dmark.com/tsst/1
That's pretty good bclk. IIRC most x58 can't boot further if QPI > 8800, maybe try QPI slow mode, it works for me but the bios is stuttering afterward.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Messages
562 (0.29/day)
System Name The Banshee
Processor Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.8GHz 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling CPU + GPU Custom loop
Memory 2x8GB G.SKILL Trident Z B-die @ 3200 CL14 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 780 Ti @ 1300/1900 1.212V
Storage 120GB OS SSD & 1TB Mass Storage HDD
Display(s) LG 25UM57-P
Case Farctal Design Arc XL
Audio Device(s) ATH-M20x
Power Supply Evga SuperNova 1300 G2
Mouse Evga Torq X3
Keyboard Thermaltake challenger
Software Win 10 Pro 64-Bit
I know about the horrors of raising the PCIe clock, I don´t think I´ll go any higher than 102 any time soon. This was just a run to test the BCLK question for snorlaxgangs. My stable OC is 200 x22 on this X5650. Same voltages and 800 / 1600 RAM.
PCIE freq is reasonably safe for bench use but I wouldn't push it with a drive that has important data on it. I used 120MHz the other day to run ~234 bclk on my 920 and classy 4-way without slow mode.
That much is good for like 250 bclk with the right cpu though.
 
Top