• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X79 and/or rampage IV OC'ing thread for those of us still left....

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,518 (3.95/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
That you guys with 8 core chips are getting the same results makes me think the other cores in mine might be live, but disconnected.
Are you sure that they're just inactive? Shouldn't the CPU have a lot more L3 cache if that were the case? Honestly, it's probably a mixture of the silicon lottery and some other configuration issue. Some motherboards are better at overclocking than others, particular when it comes to skt2011 chips. The RIVE is known for being pretty good at overclocking and the Sabertooth is known for being a rock solid motherboard, but doesn't overclock as well. The P9X79 Deluxe like I have falls somewhere in between, but has a beefy VRM setup.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,122 (0.24/day)
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
Are you sure that they're just inactive? Shouldn't the CPU have a lot more L3 cache if that were the case? Honestly, it's probably a mixture of the silicon lottery and some other configuration issue. Some motherboards are better at overclocking than others, particular when it comes to skt2011 chips. The RIVE is known for being pretty good at overclocking and the Sabertooth is known for being a rock solid motherboard, but doesn't overclock as well. The P9X79 Deluxe like I have falls somewhere in between, but has a beefy VRM setup.
Exactly right, Asus for their faults and issues over the years I USED to think were far overpriced and a mobo was a mobo, give or take. However, since now owning my first Asus board which was the RIVE IV and now RIVE black and can honestly say especially for a platform that was known for pushing board to limits (because socket 2011 was literally revolutionary at the time and blew everything else away) The Asus boards are worth every penny...especially considering not one I bought was new lol, all were used or first one from Newegg that got me started was a return and I think had couple dead memory channels from time I got it, ironically I only could afford to fill the 2 channels that worked, so never noticed till later.

Aquinus assessment is spot on, succinctly put. I haven't had the two other boards but I've read this thread, others, and reviews and Sabertooth is very solid but OC'ing just wasn't it's thing, the Deluxe another solid board with great VRM and lots of features, and decent/good at OC'ing, and RIVE/RIVE black definitely were designed to OC about as well as the platform allows.


ALSO, in regards to 8 core XEONS vs the 6 core consumer chips from what I understand they are two totally different pieces of silicon, the 1680 is actually the chip with a few cores disabled I believe and for whatever reason Intel decided to unlock multiplier on it, the 39 and 49 series chips have everything enabled on them if they are the 3960x or 4960x, not sure if the 3930/4930 have couple things disabled but I believe that is the case as well. Don't quote me on this but I'm fairly certain this is the case and I will look into it and let you know, because now you got me wondering.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
434 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
I'm pretty sure the 6 core Xeons are the same as the 8 core die, just with cores and cache disabled.

I'd have to dissect it to be sure, lol.

It would be nice if some intel engineer got pissed and released a tool that re-enabled the cores, but I'll bet they're done in a way that can't be reversed.

Simply turning off the bus interface sections would do it, tho; it's possible it's in a hidden register somewhere, written in with the microcode.

Wouldn't that be a nice hack!

I'm suddenly having problems getting this E5-1650v2 to run memory over 1333; it causes the video card to freak out, and one of the 4 memory chips shows weird timings if I select higher speed.

I have another one; I may swap them to see if it's the chip, or if I have a memory stick going bad.

I also still have the 3930k, I know it will run 2400.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,122 (0.24/day)
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
I'm pretty sure the 6 core Xeons are the same as the 8 core die, just with cores and cache disabled.

I'd have to dissect it to be sure, lol.

It would be nice if some intel engineer got pissed and released a tool that re-enabled the cores, but I'll bet they're done in a way that can't be reversed.

Simply turning off the bus interface sections would do it, tho; it's possible it's in a hidden register somewhere, written in with the microcode.

Wouldn't that be a nice hack!

I'm suddenly having problems getting this E5-1650v2 to run memory over 1333; it causes the video card to freak out, and one of the 4 memory chips shows weird timings if I select higher speed.

I have another one; I may swap them to see if it's the chip, or if I have a memory stick going bad.

I also still have the 3930k, I know it will run 2400.
I didn't even address the 4 core and 6 core xeons like you have but same difference I'm sure with disabling cache/cores etc. Also I have no idea what your problem is, but I'd bank on it being the memory, these Xeons are fairly bullet proof and my abuse of mine is testament to that. Even the consumer chips of every generation I've owned AMD or Intel every one would still work if you plugged it in today and the core 2 duos I had I beat the crap out of for benchmarking/gaming etc.

So I've had plenty of memory glitches/issues similar to yours or worse, and every time it was a memory stick to blame long story short. What I would do is running some stability tests with only 1 or 2 sticks of memory in and see what happens, if it passes great, just swap in the untested modules and see what happens. Worse case scenario (in a sense) is they all test perfectly and it is a chip problem, however I'd suspect the mobo before the CPU because the cpu pins and traces on board etc etc all have to be working properly for the memory to function correctly, as I said in prior post I had a board with pin and/or other issues and dual channel was all you got, occasionally triple channel but never quad.

Certainly feel free to swap processor but to me that's more work then memory and having to reapply paste etc, plus you are dealing with pins on these things vs. just nice contact spots so I admit I try to keep my processor swapping to minimum just not to bend pins too much. Just my 2 cents.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
924 (0.68/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
I'm pretty sure the 6 core Xeons are the same as the 8 core die, just with cores and cache disabled.
Hex Cores Ivy Bridge-E are made from LCC die. Hex+ are made from MCC die (up to 10) :

Why ?
Because they are cheaper to make that way.
Also, higher core count dies were meant for Xeon line only, because margins on servers are better.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
434 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
I've been thinking of swapping this mobo into a rack mount chassis currently occupied by a Pentium D mobo; if I do that, I may have to try the e5-2650 chip again.

It's multi locked, but someone here was running the fsb at 125mhz; that might rock. :)

Otherwise, I'll try the other 1650 I have; if I can't get 4.4GHz and at least 1800 memory, I'll swap back to the 3930k. It runs 4.4 and 2400 pretty easy, but hotter.

Where did you find that graphic? That's pretty cool!

Can you find me a pinout for socket 2011v1 and 2? I've looked everywhere.

I want to look at the CH4 memory pins for signs of abuse. :)
 

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,501 (1.23/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Yep, knew the 8 core was the 10 core due to the 25mbs l3 cache reported. Decided to just use 4.3 and under heavy stress testing it hit 1.32v
and 64c on the hottest core. It should survive a year or 2 at those settings. I do a lot of transcoding ect, and I need it to be very stable
during the jobs, but the more cores the better!
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
hey guys thank you for this thread :peace:

anyway I've been thinking of upgrading my system for quite sometime now but I love this x79 platform so much so I just bought e5 2640 v2 ( I know I bought a wrong one lol ) to hold me for awhile
btw my previous cpu was 3820 oc'd to 4.6 lol.

here's my xeon I think I already hit the wall any tips? thanks
 

Attachments

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,501 (1.23/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 19.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Well for one, multi to max, then hold the bus. Can you increase vcore at all? Hopefully some 2xxx series xeon owners can chime in here....
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
434 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
I decided to go back to the 3930k, as I knew what It would run memory at, at least.

I'm running at 4.2Ghz, 2133Mhz memory, and everything's stable.

I also learned there are apparently optimizations for either the xeon e5-1650v2, or the 3930k, because my video driver wouldn't run after changing it out.
I had to reinstall it to get it to work.

Weird, huh?
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
Well for one, multi to max, then hold the bus. Can you increase vcore at all? Hopefully some 2xxx series xeon owners can chime in here....
thanks! yes multi at max at 20. Even if I adjust the vcore and my bus speed in the bios is at 114.100 if I adjust the bus speed to 114.125 system wont boot anymore :cry::cry::cry:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
434 (0.09/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor i7-3930k 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
Try memory timings, and even pulling memory, as the memory controller adds to heat.

I've been fighting a e5-1650 , and am interested in what be achieved here.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
so apparently my ax860 psu is dying lol using my tx850 now will try my luck oc'ing this xeon.

btw any ideas how much voltage 26xx can handle? I tried 1.3v but no luck
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,122 (0.24/day)
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
so apparently my ax860 psu is dying lol using my tx850 now will try my luck oc'ing this xeon.

btw any ideas how much voltage 26xx can handle? I tried 1.3v but no luck
I can do well into the 1.4 volt range with my 1680 and had no issues so I'm sure those are the same, main thing is keep it cool. However you aren't dealing with 4.5 ghz + speeds either so it should stay very cool at speeds your multiplier limits you to even with the bus being pushed. However it may simply hit a point it refuses to work/boot simply due to the fact your pushing the bus so high, especially when I am OC'ing this thing is pretty finicky about pushing the bus higher no matter what voltage or settings I throw at it.

Also I just downloaded the new disk benchmarking tool...I have a SSD 512 mb Sata drive....unless I'm missing something don't my gigabyte + reads seem way too high? I thought Sata could only do a max of around 550 mb/s?

Capture1092.jpg
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
728 (0.20/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600 / CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2) - X:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Acer X27
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7S + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 1000TR
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G Pro Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
Upgrade my 3930k to Intel E5-2697

Some games benchmarks ;-) (Both OC to the Max i could)

 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
Upgrade my 3930k to Intel E5-2697

Some games benchmarks ;-) (Both OC to the Max i could)

nice! can you run intel xtu benchmark? I would like to compare my score from my 3820 and 2640v2 thaaaaaanks!
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
728 (0.20/day)
Location
Israel
System Name PC ?
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME
Cooling NZXT Kraken X62
Memory 32gb of G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32GB 3600 / CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 Hybrid
Storage C:/ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 2TB - D:/7TB of Storage (WD-Bx2) - X:/Samsung 840 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Acer X27
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7S + Cambridge Audio CXA60 + Klipsch RP-160M + Klipsch Reference R-112
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 1000TR
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Logitech G Pro Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro (64bit)
nice! can you run intel xtu benchmark? I would like to compare my score from my 3820 and 2640v2 thaaaaaanks!
Sure, enjoy.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,122 (0.24/day)
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
Sure, enjoy.
danng 12 core power!
Now you have me curious lol, so I'm watching all these great posts and remembering I HAD XTU on this pc but saw no use for it so uninstalled it...I just reinstalled it and now I want to see where I stand compared to 12 core and mr 2640/3820 lol.
Capture1109.jpg


Well not bad, clocked higher and 4 less cores I got 200 less than the 12 core, I also appear to have older version so I'll update it when I have time and rerun it see if it makes any difference.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
I wish my 2640 v2 was heavily overclockable lol cold AF :peace:
128806


Now you have me curious lol, so I'm watching all these great posts and remembering I HAD XTU on this pc but saw no use for it so uninstalled it...I just reinstalled it and now I want to see where I stand compared to 12 core and mr 2640/3820 lol.View attachment 128789

Well not bad, clocked higher and 4 less cores I got 200 less than the 12 core, I also appear to have older version so I'll update it when I have time and rerun it see if it makes any difference.

I was trying to beat one entry there at HWbot @2.7ghz but I hit the wall cant go any further :(
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,122 (0.24/day)
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
I wish my 2640 v2 was heavily overclockable lol cold AF :peace:
View attachment 128806




I was trying to beat one entry there at HWbot @2.7ghz but I hit the wall cant go any further :(
Yeah you basically have the same processor as me but unfortunately with a locked multiplier. I'm determined to go further with mine though and see how high I can get my score to go :).
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
Sin city
System Name satan
Processor TR 1900x
Motherboard AsRock x399 phantom gaming 6
Cooling Custom H2O cooling
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16gb @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage WD black nvme 500gb, Samsung 860 evo 500gb, WD3tb
Display(s) LG ultrwide 25"
Case Silverstone ft06
Power Supply Corsair ax860
Mouse Thermaltake
Keyboard Thermaltake
Software Windows 10 x64
lol number 1
128988
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,518 (3.95/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.75Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
Also I just downloaded the new disk benchmarking tool...I have a SSD 512 mb Sata drive....unless I'm missing something don't my gigabyte + reads seem way too high? I thought Sata could only do a max of around 550 mb/s?
If that's a run for a SATA drive, it's definitely high for both read and write. You're right, Sata tops out at around 500-550MB/s. It almost sounds like the result of disk caching for reads and writes.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,593 (1.52/day)
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@4.2ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 /MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
Hi all hope you will have some news soon I know it's summer so hopefully you are all enjoying it, well if you're across the pond in Europe etc I'm not sure what your season is (which I know is some of you) but in North America it's summer anyway and regardless of your season enjoy it lol.
just a quick note, when it is summer in the USA, it is summer for everyone in Earth's northern hemisphere, and winter for everyone in Earth's southern hemisphere. Right now, it's summer in North America, Europe, Russia, and China but winter in South America, Africa, and Australia.

OK, back to the discussion of OC'ing X79
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
1,122 (0.24/day)
Processor E5-1680 V2
Motherboard Rampage IV
Storage (1) 300 g.b. 10k rpm raptors
Case antec 1200
Power Supply 1100 watt atz series
Software windows 7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 29,433 3dmark06 score
just a quick note, when it is summer in the USA, it is summer for everyone in Earth's northern hemisphere, and winter for everyone in Earth's southern hemisphere. Right now, it's summer in North America, Europe, Russia, and China but winter in South America, Africa, and Australia.

OK, back to the discussion of OC'ing X79
Ok I admittedly knew it had something to do with North/South etc but also "summer" in Siberia is hardly like summer in FLA lol so it's all kinda relative. But yes I admit I just threw it out quickly without thinking too much about it I admit I'm no Geography whiz :).

If that's a run for a SATA drive, it's definitely high for both read and write. You're right, Sata tops out at around 500-550MB/s. It almost sounds like the result of disk caching for reads and writes.
Yes it's a SATA drive which is why I looked at results and wished they were true, but know they are impossible. I have a WD black hard drive I bought a while back sitting right here with adapter, but with X79 that means I have to flash to a modded bios which isn't all that hard but for me the hard part is getting all my info on this SATA drive to that drive, one of you outlined the basics a while back but I it's far more than just cloning the drive (which I've done it's easy) so not sure I'd see much gain in any task including gaming by doing the upgrade or enough to warrant it anyway.
 
Top