• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

X800 acting funny

dj_dn

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Canada, QC, Gatineau
#1
From time to time my 2d display will get corrupted full of lines then it goes away then commes back there yellow and gray but some vertical lines are ok. When i start the cube in atitool while its doing this the whole cube is yellow. Please tell me its not the vram again. here is the log:
2006-03-22 07:10:51 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-22 07:11:07 Application terminated.
2006-03-22 07:11:12 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-30 06:56:46 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped mmr to 0xD90000
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped bios to 0xDA0000
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
2006-03-30 06:56:51 Artifacts detected after 00:01.04. 70 pixels don't match.
2006-03-30 06:57:32 Last message repeated 5851 times.
2006-03-30 06:57:32 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 42 seconds
2006-03-30 06:58:05 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 06:58:29 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 23 seconds
2006-03-30 06:59:07 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 06:59:13 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 6 seconds

My system spec are :
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2800+ BARTON 333FSB Processor
Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-E-DX NF2 S462 Mainboard w/Audio/GBLan/SATA/RAID/FW
Carte Video: RADEON X800 pro VIVO 256 MB (softmod to 16pipes)
Disk Drive: Maxtor 6 Y080M0 SCSI Disk Device (80 GB, 7200 RPM, SATA)
Maxtor 6Y080L0 (80 GB, 7200 RPM, Ultra-ATA/133)
= 160 GB
Ram: 1024 MB (2 x 512 MB)
Lecteurs: HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8525B (52x/32x/52x CD-RW)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-4163B (DVD Burner 16x)
Case: Antec SLK3700AMB Mid-Tower Case w/350W PS, Black
Thermal Paste: Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
Antec 120MM Pro Case Fan, Dbl Ball Bearing(X2)
Arctic Cooling ATI Silencer4


2006-03-22 07:10:51 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-22 07:10:52 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-22 07:11:07 Application terminated.
2006-03-22 07:11:12 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped mmr to 0x13A0000
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D mmapped bios to 0x13B0000
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-22 07:11:13 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-30 06:56:46 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-30 06:56:46 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped mmr to 0xD90000
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D mmapped bios to 0xDA0000
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-30 06:56:47 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 06:56:50 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
2006-03-30 06:56:51 Artifacts detected after 00:01.04. 70 pixels don't match.
2006-03-30 06:57:32 Last message repeated 5851 times.
2006-03-30 06:57:32 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 42 seconds
2006-03-30 06:58:05 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 06:58:29 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 23 seconds
2006-03-30 06:59:07 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 06:59:13 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 6 seconds
2006-03-30 06:59:16 Application terminated.
2006-03-30 07:02:40 ATITool v0.25 Beta 14 started.
2006-03-30 07:02:40 D Successfully connected to driver, version 124
2006-03-30 07:02:40 D Found ATI device: 0x1002 0x4A49 bus 3 dev 0
2006-03-30 07:02:40 D fbPhy: 0xD0000000, mmrPhy: 0xE2000000.
2006-03-30 07:02:40 D mmapped mmr to 0xD90000
2006-03-30 07:02:40 D BIOS at 0xC0000
2006-03-30 07:02:40 D mmapped bios to 0xDA0000
2006-03-30 07:02:41 D LM63 temp chip detection: success (0x1)
2006-03-30 07:02:41 D Temperature monitoring: LM63
2006-03-30 07:02:41 D Device initialized successfully
2006-03-30 07:05:29 Scan for Artifacts started... Core: 472.50 MHz Memory: 445.50 MHz
2006-03-30 07:05:29 Artifacts detected after 00:00.06. 656 pixels don't match.
2006-03-30 07:05:29 Scan for Artifacts running for: 0:00:00
2006-03-30 07:05:29 Artifacts detected after 00:00.07. 656 pixels don't match.
2006-03-30 07:05:40 Last message repeated 1411 times.
2006-03-30 07:05:40 Scan for Artifacts stopped Total runtime: 11 seconds
2006-03-30 07:05:46 Application terminated.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,958 (1.36/day)
Likes
831
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#2
its a sign something isnt right with the card..

card failing.. card going too fast.. faulty extra pipes.. can u take it back to stock and see if the problem goes away.???

trog
 

dj_dn

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Canada, QC, Gatineau
#3
The card was unlocked for about 3 months. At first when i would hit my case to hard by mistake it would lock up and the whole screen would go black and white lines very weird lines and i couldnt se my desktop. But now it does this by its self but i can still se my desktop butwith wierd lines in it. Its not the first time a x800 does this to me, but my 9000 pro has no problemes.:(

Heres some pics :
http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?image=video2small2ze.png
http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?image=video1dj.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,958 (1.36/day)
Likes
831
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#4
when something reacts to physical knocks it tend to suggest a bad connection somewhere..

have to tried re-seating your card and power plug.. push it in and out a few times.. other than that i recon the card has a fault.. could be those unlocked pipes or could be just dieing on u..

u could also try flexing it about a bit while its running to see if that does anything..

its a hardware thing.. not software..

trog
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#5
yeah dude like trog said...bring your card back to stock, and then reseat card and cooler. And then, because of the whole bad connection thing, once you have it stable, do NOT bump your PC!!! this is what, the 5th thread this week having to do with a retiring video card?
 

dj_dn

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Canada, QC, Gatineau
#6
I tried to reflash it back to stock but the pipes wont close. And i am pretty shur its not the pipes but more the ram on it. Can it be my PSU or my mother board who is killing it, my mother board is an Asus A7N8X-E-DX and my psu is the one supplied with the Antec SLK3700AMB Mid-Tower Case w/350W PS. Can i get it RMA'd with out the stock cooler(long story).

Thx for your help:cry:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,958 (1.36/day)
Likes
831
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#8
try taking the core or memory speed up.. one at time.. if its the memory increasing the memory speed will make it worse.. if its the core/pipes increasing the core speed will make it worse..

make sure the part u aint testing is going nice and slow so as not to confuse things..

if taking both core and memory up dosnt alter things.. it might be your power supply.. the only way to test that is try another one..

trog
 

dj_dn

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Canada, QC, Gatineau
#9
trog100 said:
try taking the core or memory speed up.. one at time.. if its the memory increasing the memory speed will make it worse.. if its the core/pipes increasing the core speed will make it worse..

make sure the part u aint testing is going nice and slow so as not to confuse things..

if taking both core and memory up dosnt alter things.. it might be your power supply.. the only way to test that is try another one..

trog
I did what you told me so here are the results:
1- Lower gpu, higher mem : The white squares take up more space and some red ones start appearing

2- Lower mem, Higher gpu : The comp just freezes and restarts

3- On both test : when i start the cube in atitool theres a buzzing sound from my card when i stop it the sound goes away.

4- tried a 3d game on default speeds and the comp freezes.

5- I cant seem to close my pipes, going back to 12p, i keep reflashing it with ati x800 agp Bios's and they wont close

Thx for the help solving my problem, i just wish i could wait to get a directx 10 card before upgrading from this one:banghead:
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,958 (1.36/day)
Likes
831
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#10
dont put up with a card that dosnt work waiting for DX 10.. its ages away.. and games that will be written for it even further away.. from what u say i think your card is kinda dead.. send it to its grave and buy another one..

one last test.. run the furry dice and see if u can get something to show the voltage on your 12 volt rail/rails.. it would be a bugger to buy a new card if it was the power supply.. i dont think it is but try and make sure..

trog
 

dj_dn

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
101 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Canada, QC, Gatineau
#11
trog100 said:
dont put up with a card that dosnt work waiting for DX 10.. its ages away.. and games that will be written for it even further away.. from what u say i think your card is kinda dead.. send it to its grave and buy another one..

one last test.. run the furry dice and see if u can get something to show the voltage on your 12 volt rail/rails.. it would be a bugger to buy a new card if it was the power supply.. i dont think it is but try and make sure..

trog
Thx for all your help. Well im tired off this old rig. Time to get a new one, euhm i smell a 165 opty, 2 gigs of ram, and a 7900 gt