• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Time to revive this old thread.

I have a powercolor, x800crap, PCIe, 350/400 clocks, R430 Core, 12 pipes, 1.6ns ram, ati theatre chip on it. I would like to know if it can be flashed to an x800xl??

Here is a pic of the core, I don't see any laser cuts, but I could be wrong.

Please let me know if any other info is needed.
 

Attachments

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Hmm ok. I don't really care if I unlock the extra pipes, I mainly want to run that 600 MHZ ram faster than 350MHz.
 

Attachments

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Well, the x800xl uses 16 pipelines from what I remember. I'm not sure if you need to add voltage or not, but have you tried overclocking it first to see what it can do?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Not yet, I think I will let ATI tool run and see. I think this is a powercolor x800 bravo model although it seems to be built like a vivo model minus the yellow plug.

edit - the mem went to about 530 before getting artifacts. I ran it at 500mhz for about 4 min with no artifacting, then shut it down.

So now to figure out if I can flash it or not, doesnt matter too much if it dies, I am pretty much doing this for the experience, I have an HD3450 sitting in an unopened box ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
You can edit your memory timings on that board, one of the last few able to do so (don't do so unless you know what you are doing). I tweaked with my for a few weeks to finally get it set just right, then flashed a custom BIOS to it.


What is you core clock? That makes a crapload of difference, and also will tell you if it is able. I will have to review some of the thread but most cores that could unlock managed to reach much higher speeds than the defect or early revision dies.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
Wow busy week/weekend.

The specs list the core as 400mhz default and memory as 350 mhz default. However atitool reports something like 397 Mhz for the core and 349mhz for memory.

The card is a powercolor with dual dvi, 1.6ns ram and rage theater chip on it, but with those default clocks I think it maybe a plain x800 or x800bravo.

http://www.firingsquad.com/hardware/powercolor_radeon_x800_bravo/page3.asp

pretty much it, I put my ati silencer 5 on it, probably just sell it for a few bucks, be nice though it could unlock to an x800xl though.