• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

x850xt overclocking issues

elia

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a sapphire x850xt with a vf1 cooler just installed. I overclocked to 570/609 and ran the atitool artifact scan. My temp never even reached 50 degrees, but artifacts were found and the computer locked up. Same thing happenned just before this at 594/621. My temps are fine even when it locks up, so I don't know what the problem is. Should I lower my mem clock since the vf1 only has heatsinks on the memory and doesnt move air over them directly? I cant figure it out. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Elia
 

dolf

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.44/day)
Likes
30
#2
Measure the Vcore or check the Vcore VID configuration. The Vcore should be app. 1.41V. If your card is with 1xVGA / 1xDVI, non VIVO and you want it flashed to X850XT PE I have now moded X850XT PE BIOS to X850XT PE 1xVGA / 1xDVI (VIVO or not deppending on the requirement). The memory gets very hot and you have to care about the cooling of it. If you need more support let me know ;) .

Read here about the Vcore measurement and VID configuration: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/voltmods/112
 
Last edited:

elia

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Dolf, thanks for all your replies to my posts. You have answered every one of them. I will check the vcore.
I decided to flash back to a XT due to the responses to my last post(I think you posted the file there for me). Everyone said their is not point in flashing from xt to pe other than clock speeds. Since I am over clocking anyway, I will leave it as an XT unless you think I should flash.
So you do think it is an issue of memory overheating? The vf1 cooler does not cool memore other than individual heatsinks, but it does cool the gpu like crazy. My temps were 49 when it locked up. I may just overclock the gpu higher than the memory. Maybe try 620/600 or so.
Any recommendation on clock speeds? Does the gpu/mem ratio have to be anything specific, or should I just find their max individually?
 

dolf

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.44/day)
Likes
30
#4
As I understand you have flashed my X850XT PE BIOS. And it works for you right? Cool the memory and use XT PE or XT doesn't matter. (I personally prefer XT PE BIOSes - my 9800PRO 128MB to 9800XT 128MB with all extras like temp. monitoring, fan-control with my BIOS modification; X800XT flashed to X800XT PE and finally X850PRO VIVO memory Vmoded and flashed to X850XT PE). But the choice is yours. All my cards with 1.6ns memory can't even reach 600MHz even with Vmod (X850PRO) and ATI Silencer 4 rev.2 ;) but you are lucky to reach 620MHz without cooling ........
 

elia

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
I ended up flashing back to original bios before trying your file. I installed the vf1 cooler and was running at 590/590 artifact testing when the system shut itself down. Temp was 49 degrees when it died. it is either lack of voltage, or the memory not being cooled enough. The vf1 only has little indiviual heat sinks for the mem and doesnt blow a fan over the ones on top. So I dont know what it is. I will just up my gpu slightly, then same for mem and keep testing, patiently. i went up to 610/620 and the system locked up immediately. Let me know what you think. Thanks again.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
If the system shut itself off, thats not a graphics issue its a PSU issue, what make, model and +12v rating has your PSU got? If its a generic POS replace it ASAP with a quality unit before it blows something in your puter up.(or blows everything up in your puter, for that matter)
 

dolf

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.44/day)
Likes
30
#7
Ketxxx should be right. It seems PSU. Usually GPU freezes and VPU recover window popups when the GPU limit is reached or PC freezes completely. When it shuts off without visible reason and under havy load most probably the problem is PSU.

But for sure it is not related with XT or XT PE BIOS :) .
 

elia

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Well, I think you guys called it. I checked my +12V and it was at 11.84V my 5V was at 4.94V. This power supply is garbage. I will call cooler master tomorrow. Thanks for your help, guys.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#10
Does the card have any issues or Shut-downs when running just the CCC ??
 

dolf

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.44/day)
Likes
30
#11
elia said:
Well, I think you guys called it. I checked my +12V and it was at 11.84V my 5V was at 4.94V. This power supply is garbage. I will call cooler master tomorrow. Thanks for your help, guys.
Deppending on where you measure and the load 11.84V and 4.94V should be within the specifications. The other possibility for you is to start with removing of all "useless" hardware and to chech for incompatibility (Just MOBO, CPU, HDD, VGA and memory). Remove all external USB devices. And finally the software incompatibility.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2006
Messages
1,838 (0.42/day)
Likes
7
Location
Boston
Processor AMD X2 AM2+
Memory 2GB DDR2
Video Card(s) 7900gto
Storage 80GB+120GB 7200RPM IDE + 250GB SATA2 + 500GB SATA2
Display(s) 26" 1920x1200
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Ultra 600W with X-Connect
Software Vista Ultimate
#12
I am just adding, just in case, because i was having issues about 3 weeks ago. with ccc 6.6 and fraps, it would crash when finding max whatever in atitool

make sure fraps is off

it was a n00b13 3rr0r for sure on my part, but maybe it'll save a psu rma


and to second dolf, my old psu was a 300w and it's 12v line was 12.22V and it's 5v was 4.86(both a + and -, weird i thought), and i oc'ed my gto2 w/o stability issues. maybe my luck was on, but also maybe my readings were off, but i don't know. i don't know this stuff like dolf, but i thought i might add a couple o' pounds to the already solid 800 pound suggestions that dolf makes
 

elia

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2006
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
I am up to 591/624 in atitool with no artifacts. I can play oblivion on 1024x768 all day w/no prob. But if I go up to 1600x1200, it runs super smooth for about 10 min or so, then the system freezes. The temp of the card is at or below 50 degrees C and the +12V is at 11.71 or so. I rma'd the power supply. I hope it takes care of it. Thanks again guys.

by the way, mustang man, what is fraps? is it in atitool or ccc? cause i dont use ccc.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#16
Fraps, found here, is a tool used to measure framerate in 3D programs, like games.
 

dolf

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
2,058 (0.44/day)
Likes
30
#18
Elia, can you please make pictures (front and back) of exactly your card. I am interested from top-center (mainly near the fan connector for the front side) and almost the same area from the back. If you make photos from the Vcore regulator I can tell you what core voltage to expect.

Thanks for the support :)