• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xbox 360 Recording

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#1
Basically a friend want's to know how to record what's happening on the TV (from the XBOX 360) using his laptop... :confused:
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,911 (2.48/day)
Likes
5,126
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#2
He needs something like a USB Capture card that will allow him to plug the 360 into the laptop. Haven't looked into these since I was thinking about adding a tuner to my PC, but I am pretty sure they make them. It would be better to plug the 360 directly to the laptop, but if the TV has a Video Output you can use that to connect to the capture device.

Someone should chime in with more details.
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#3
More detail's as in...

EDIT: So there is no need in using his laptop whatsoever to capture his gaming, obviously untill it come's to uploading them I'd assume.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Likes
39
Location
Arlington, TX
System Name Project Red
Processor I7 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Formula
Cooling Dual loop
Memory 32GB Trident Z
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290X
Storage Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 OS WD Black 5TB For games
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050W
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Madcatz S.T.R.I.K.E 3 in red
Software WIN 10 Pro X64
Benchmark Scores WIP
#4

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#5
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Likes
39
Location
Arlington, TX
System Name Project Red
Processor I7 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Formula
Cooling Dual loop
Memory 32GB Trident Z
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290X
Storage Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 OS WD Black 5TB For games
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050W
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Madcatz S.T.R.I.K.E 3 in red
Software WIN 10 Pro X64
Benchmark Scores WIP
#6
hmmm I'll see
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Likes
39
Location
Arlington, TX
System Name Project Red
Processor I7 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Formula
Cooling Dual loop
Memory 32GB Trident Z
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290X
Storage Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 OS WD Black 5TB For games
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050W
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Madcatz S.T.R.I.K.E 3 in red
Software WIN 10 Pro X64
Benchmark Scores WIP

garry_b80

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
in mi crib lol
#8
hi peeps im the so called friend!! wunt go so far to say friend though!! more unwanted and force to like brother-in-law!! lol!!....... but jokin aside thanks for makin a start for me smick!!y
rite im wantin to record my game play from xbox direct to my so called super dooper lappy (HP 6730b)!! iv accuired my software of which i just happened to stumble upon and am satisfied should be fine as it records all types of screen footage and other cool stuff (sounds,webcam and actuall screen footage) so 99% percent shore softwares suitable! So basically in theory i just need a way to use laptop monitor as prefferably a second screen soley for recordin!! if poss! an just so ya no!! im quite good wiv stuff "honestly" lol just need helping hand arrghh!!

so heres a list of sum of my ingreadiants for whoever feels like cooking!

a s-vid "connection" on lappy
a vga "connection" on lappy
a xbox standard tv cable wiv phono ends red white yellow
a xbox "logic 3" vga lead as currently use 19"monitor for gameplay"cant use tv wen .........................................................................................eastenders is on lol"
a lead aquired off net wen vaguely owend ps3 and wanted to use monitor for that!! and thats like blue vga to yellow phono and or s-video(which dint work how i intended if it helps noe)
and if i did just happen to win my tv bak from missis to to prove i can record etc thats nan old thing but its got monitor out i think and s-vid for shore!!
so thats it can ya heeeelllp??? fanks!!:)
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Likes
39
Location
Arlington, TX
System Name Project Red
Processor I7 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Formula
Cooling Dual loop
Memory 32GB Trident Z
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290X
Storage Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 OS WD Black 5TB For games
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050W
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Madcatz S.T.R.I.K.E 3 in red
Software WIN 10 Pro X64
Benchmark Scores WIP
#9
If your lappy has S-video its likely to be and output and not an input. As most laptops have at least a VGA connector to hook up to an external video source. Like Mine runs on a 24" Monitor when I take it in the office. :D
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#10
Your right... i've already told him it's only an output...

EDIT: just seen the price of that card... is that an average price we'd be looking at? want one cheap as chips!
 

PC-Myths

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
8
Location
Somewhere Under The Atlantic Oceon
System Name Hugaboogaboogaboo
Processor AMD 6400+
Motherboard M2A VM
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x 1GB (Should be 4 x 1GB) Kingston
Video Card(s) 8800GT
Storage 1TB Maxtor
Display(s) Generic (ProwView)
Case Generic
Power Supply 480W Antec TB
Software Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
#11
To be honest... he isn't so much after wanting to buy something but more along the line's of adapting what he has already and buying very little if not anything else to get the job done.
 

garry_b80

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
in mi crib lol
#12
but im going to give an un manly shreek (as the subtle hint dint get through) im not allowed my tv really lol and i want to basically use my laptop as a capture card cost effective and also proving together we can adapt overcome basically any gimmik or scam!! i paid enough for my and ers laptops why spend more on gadgets wen ya i already av em all rite in front of ya!! lol
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Likes
39
Location
Arlington, TX
System Name Project Red
Processor I7 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Formula
Cooling Dual loop
Memory 32GB Trident Z
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290X
Storage Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 OS WD Black 5TB For games
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050W
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Madcatz S.T.R.I.K.E 3 in red
Software WIN 10 Pro X64
Benchmark Scores WIP
#13
Your right... i've already told him it's only an output...

EDIT: just seen the price of that card... is that an average price we'd be looking at? want one cheap as chips!
Well there are others on that site. Just that is about the best one out there I believe. It all depends on what connections on the 360 he wants to use. Some of the cheaper ones are only setup with old school (Red,Yellow,White) connectors. So he will need to see what it has.

I found that site though by searching for Computer Parts UK. :D So if he does that he may find other sites.
 

garry_b80

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
in mi crib lol
#14
a s-vid "connection" on lappy
a vga "connection" on lappy
a xbox standard tv cable wiv phono ends red white yellow
a xbox "logic 3" vga lead as currently use 19"monitor for gameplay"cant use tv wen .................................................. .......................................eastenders is on lol" CAN USE ANYTHING JUST NOT THE FACKIN TELE lol
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2010
Messages
426 (0.15/day)
Likes
39
Location
Arlington, TX
System Name Project Red
Processor I7 6700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Formula
Cooling Dual loop
Memory 32GB Trident Z
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290X
Storage Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 OS WD Black 5TB For games
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Enermax Revolutions 1050W
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Madcatz S.T.R.I.K.E 3 in red
Software WIN 10 Pro X64
Benchmark Scores WIP
#15
a s-vid "connection" on lappy
a vga "connection" on lappy
a xbox standard tv cable wiv phono ends red white yellow
a xbox "logic 3" vga lead as currently use 19"monitor for gameplay"cant use tv wen .................................................. .......................................eastenders is on lol" CAN USE ANYTHING JUST NOT THE FACKIN TELE lol
They really make those? Shit I need to find one in the US. :D
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
471 (0.15/day)
Likes
77
System Name AMD Black Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 4GB OCZ PC2-6400 Platinum (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD4870 512MB GDDR5 w AC Twin Turbo
Storage Crucial C300 64GB SSD, 500GB and 2TB Drives
Display(s) Samsung 2494hm, Dell (Samsung?) 1907FP
Case Lancool (Lian-Li on a budget) K7
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC889A, M-Audio Fast Tracks
Power Supply OCZ Mod-X-Stream Pro 600W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64, XP Pro
#17
Garry you need to learn the basic difference between the terms "input" and "output"

the laptop has VGA and S-Video "Output" so you can go from the laptop "out" to a TV or Monitor. You can't bring anything "in" on those ports. They are just video going out.

You have to buy a capture device of some kind if you want to bring video "in" to the laptop. I've never seen a laptop that came with video "inputs" to bring video "in" right on it from the factory. That would be a rare option.

You could buy a cheaper USB capture device like an "easy cap" but these aren't really the best option to play video games on. Bringing in SDTV video from you XBOX 360 or anything over Composite AKA "the yellow phono jack" or S-Video and displaying it on an HDTV or high resolution screen like the LCD on your laptop will generally look like shit without expensive upscaling hardware. Remember you need Component, RGB, VGA or HDMI to get HD resolution. Composite and S-Video can not do HD! Yeah it will work but you'll be surprised how crappy it looks compared to a TV.

You can get HD capture devices with either Component (Red, Green, Blue) or HDMI but they cost a few hundred bucks!

Better option would be to spend that same $40 on a used TV instead. It seriously would look better and I haven't even mentioned the other issue yet.

LAG.

Some capture devices have a second of lag in them before the video is converted to the PC and shown on the screen. This is no problem for recording TV but it makes playing a video game on them impossible!
 
Last edited: