1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xbox360 1080i, why not 1080p?

Discussion in 'Games' started by GrkPontio85, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. GrkPontio85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    I just brought a 46 inch Sony Bravia XBR3 television. I changed the xbox360 settings to run in high definition but it only allows me to go up to 1080i when it also shows the option for 1080p. When I click the option for the 1080p the television starts blurring up spitting random colors. I use the HD cable that came with the Xbox 360. What do I need to allow my system to run in full capabilities?

    I herd rumors that the Xbox will soon release some kind of HDMI cable, is this true? Is that what I need to use the full potential of my system? :confused:
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Probably because your TV only lets you go to 1080i with componet cables. Yours needs HDMI to run 1080P.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. GrkPontio85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
  4. melkhior New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Spain
    I can run my X360 @ 1080p with my widescreen monitor by VGA. The problem of TVs is that most companies doesn't allow to use this resolution by VGA, only by HDMI.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    xbox 360 can do 1080p with the componet cables, but some tv's only let you do 1080i. best to get the VGA cable. my samsung tv lets me use both at 1080p, but the image quality is much fuller with the VGA cable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Yeah, my TV can only run 480P with the componets. With DVI I hit 1080I. I really don't see what the problem is, not too many people can notice THAT much of a difference between 1080I and 1080P.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. melkhior New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Spain

    I can see a big difference between 1080i and 1080p not in the resolution but it's a lot smoother.

    My preferences are 720p > 1080i > and then all the lower resolutions. At the moment there are no 1080p resolution games so I prefer to use 720p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    then main difference between 1080i and 1080p are the refresh rates

    1080i = 30Hz
    1080p = 60Hz

    but 1080i is really 30Hz x 2 = 60Hz. so effectively its 30Hz per half image.

    1080p is better as the screen will update faster
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Can the XBOX360 even do 1080p @ 60hz? If not 1080i @ 60hz will be an exactly identical viewing experience as 1080p @ 30hz.

    Honestly, even if it supports the spec @ 60hz. I can't see how it's powerful enough to support 1920 x 1080 at 60fps. Nevermind the fact that most HDTV's do not accept at 1080p signal in the first place.

    You'll be maxed out at 30fps either way, if you don't play at 720p or lower.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. melkhior New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    96 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Spain
    Don't get confused, FPS =! Refresh Rate.

    FPS = Frames Per Second.
    Refresh Rate = number of times in a second that a display is illuminated.

    So if you have 30 FPS and 60 Hz (typical in consoles) you each frame is illuminated two times. If you have 60 FPS and 60 Hz one time.

    In non-CRT monitors/TVs the refresh rate is "only important" when you active V-Sync, cause you will get a divisor or the same of your refresh rate.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm not confusing them, however, you are not going to get 120fps displayed at 30hz. Your max viewable FPS is going to be limited by the refresh rate.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    You may be refering to the 1080p setting, but my understanding is that VGA is only capable of displaying up to 720p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    with the software update the 360 can do 1080p via VGA and ComCable if you HDTV can display it.

    very right. 1080i has a refresh rate of 30hz per image, and with interlaced there are two images, make its 60hz refresh total, but only 30hz per image. so effectively its on 30hz refresh rate.

    1080p refresh rate is 60hz by default, making the refresh rates the same. but because progressive scan does the whole image in one pass unlike interlaced, for fast paced action games and movies it makes a vast difference as there is less image blurring

    see here at wikipedia
    HTML:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interlaced
    HTML:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Progressive_scan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    Still not too sure about that:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vga
    "The VGA specifications are as follows: ... Maximum of 720 horizontal pixels"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I'm pretty sure XBOX 360 is not using a 20 year old video technology. It's at LEAST using SVGA with the 15pin plugs, not the old 9pin VGA plugs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Doesn't matter for movies though, as they are filmed at 24fps. This issue only applies to video sources, like games.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    If the Xbox 360 can do 1080p, it will ONLY be able to do it with HDMI cables.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No , it's only 1080p for the HDDVD addon with HDMI. The spec only allows up to 1080i for HDDVD content over component.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Track

    Track New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Thats right, u need HDMI as i said.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    No one ever said anything about playing HD-DVD movies, this discussion was about video sources and their refresh rates. You don't need the HDDVD addon, nor is HDMI required to play your games at 1080p. Reread what you posted.

    "If the Xbox 360 can do 1080p, it will ONLY be able to do it with HDMI cables."
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. error_f0rce

    error_f0rce New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    942 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Wisconsin, USA
    I guess I was under the impression that true 1080p could only be transfered via HDMI or DVI... yet the spec on wikipedia says component as well... didn't think component could carry over all the colors (billions), although perhaps the resolution. ?! :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    You are correct Error Force, 1080P can only be transfered via HDMI or DVI. Just because it's on wikipedia does not mean it's correct. It MIGHT be possible to run it on componets, but no TV allows it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. GrkPontio85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
  24. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    For Xbox 360-

    Component Cables:
    • Up to 1080p for Games
    • 480p for Movies
    • 1080i for HD-DVD w/ HD-DVD Add On

    VGA Cables
    • Up to 1080p for games
    • Upconverts up to 1080p for Movies
    • 1080p for HD-DVD w/ HD-DVD Add On

    Now, the HDMI Cables for the Current Xbox 360 are just rumors, but there have been many pics going around of the new Xbox 360 with an HDMI Output.

    There are a few HDTV sets that can accept 1080p through Component, but not much at all (since it's an analog signal). Now VGA, for most people, is the only way to achieve 1080p for games and HD-DVD movies (and upconverting too!). Not all HDTV's can accept 108p through VGA, but much more than Component 1080p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    715 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)