• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xeon Owners Club

Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
560 (0.47/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
Yay the asus p5q pro just came in

Yay the asus p5q pro just came in and just finished dusting and it clean as a whistle as well new thermal pad and thermal paste. Also done the removing the tabs in the socket so i will be installing it into my case all i have to do is transfer my modded northbridge and vrm heatsink from the p5q premium onto the p5q pro along with the e5450 and ram and lastly a fresh modded bios. So i will be testing it later tonight and retire the asus p5q premium for good
 

Ivan2011

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
Greetings!
Are there any owners of Xeon e5-24xx v2 CPUs for LGA1356 and Chinese motherboards (e.g. Huananzhi X9D, or noname 5.32-M)?

The boards are said to be compatible with both v1 and v2 CPUs, but I have not seen any mentions of v2 CPUs online.
I've got a 2470 v2 CPU and tried to start on such a motherboard, but it does not boot up. I've found an HP advisory to upgrade its servers from v1 to v2, and this thread where someone mentioned LGA1356.
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
95 (1.22/day)
System Name MrGRiMv25 MkIV
Processor Xeon W3680 @ 3.73Ghz (133x28)
Motherboard HP Z400 Rev 2
Cooling Alpenfohn Brocken
Memory 3 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Nitro+
Storage 240GB WD SSD, 6 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" iiyama XB2783HSU AMVA+
Case AeroCoool Aero 500 RGB
Power Supply HP 600w Bronze
Keyboard Gots keys
Software W10 x64
Just upgraded my Z400 system from a W3550 to a W3680 for the unlocked multiplier since the OEM board has no OC functions - I've locked the all core turbo to 3.6Ghz with throttlestop and it's been rock solid so far. Really happy with the performance considering it only cost me £30 for the chip. The entire system was £80 for the Z400 with W3550, 12GB DDR3 1600, and £90 for the RX570 Nitro - with the W3680 the total cost has been £220 which isn't bad considering I get pretty decent performance in most games.

Doom 2016 runs at 100+ FPS @ 1080p max settings, can't wait for Eternal and Rage 2 this year, the Vulkan api at least means the 570 can still get me the results I want. Other than that I mainly play the Trials series and those don't lag anyway s

Weirdly my PCIe link is stuck at 8x whereas with the W3550 it was at 16x, I've not had any decrease in performance as I took benchmark results before and after installing the CPU and performance is a bit better in games so I'm not too bothered about it.

Screenshot (24).png
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
183 (0.67/day)
Nice Build man; That's why i keep preaching about used workstations and the value they have.
Most people say "why buy 10 year old stuff" you just proved "why"
You just built a gaming rig for less than the price of a new CPU.

Could you repost your build in this thread I created?


Happy Friday!!

Cheers!!!
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
560 (0.47/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
I had similar issue with the pcie x16 be running at x8 just get a rubber eraser and clean the gold contact strip on the gpu it should clean up the pcie link issue. Been testing the asus p5q pro i know it lacking in dram clock skew and cpu gtl option but other than that it the voltage that is alot more steady it alot better than the p5q premium. Was able to run the e5450 @ 3.60ghz with 1.136v (vid 1.113v) full loaded with resident evil 2 remake as the sewer level is alot more heavy on cpu and gpu. If i push for more cpu overclock like 3.8/4ghz i get game crashing to desktop with appication error 1005 and 1000 which tells me it the cpu or ram is abit unstable so more testing is needed.

One more thing all the 12/5/3.3 voltages is alot higher on the p5q pro than the p5q premium which is a bonus. It a pity that the asus p5q premium since day one only to let me down with troubles and headache only someday i will replace it with a newer revision but no love is lost :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
95 (1.22/day)
System Name MrGRiMv25 MkIV
Processor Xeon W3680 @ 3.73Ghz (133x28)
Motherboard HP Z400 Rev 2
Cooling Alpenfohn Brocken
Memory 3 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Nitro+
Storage 240GB WD SSD, 6 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" iiyama XB2783HSU AMVA+
Case AeroCoool Aero 500 RGB
Power Supply HP 600w Bronze
Keyboard Gots keys
Software W10 x64
I'll give the rubber thing a try, the weird thing is I didnt take the gfx card out when installing the cpu, so it shouldn't have reverted to 8x.

Nice Build man; That's why i keep preaching about used workstations and the value they have.
Most people say "why buy 10 year old stuff" you just proved "why"
You just built a gaming rig for less than the price of a new CPU.

Could you repost your build in this thread I created?


Happy Friday!!

Cheers!!!
Thanks, I'll add it to the thread shortly. I made sure I got the rev 2 Z400 for the 6 ram slots and supposedly better CPU support.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
560 (0.47/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
Then again it could be hardware limited like some board will have x16 most of the time but some come with hardwired to x8 and you cant really do much with that that just my guess
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
183 (0.67/day)
Nice; yes, way better CPU's in v2's and tri-channel RAM support

Did you double check the bios settings? When I upgraded my Z400's

I noticed the that Hyper Threading was disabled and if I remember correctly there was a screen
about link speed and some adjustments.
Also, Did you try a different slot?
I think there are 2 x16 slots and 2 x8. Don't quote me on that; I haven't opened my z400 in a awhile...
 

Auer

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
20 (0.16/day)
Question for you all:

When the time comes to upgrade my 1620-0 equipped Dell T-3600, what should I look at if I wanted to stay with Xeons?

I realize that for my use (Adobe and DXO Photo Editing, some gaming with a RTX2070 in 4k) probably the easiest thing would be some form of Ryzen but Id' like to stay with Xeons.

Just curious where to go from here, the 4 core 8 threads 1620 is fine still at 3.8Ghz Turbo.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
505 (0.50/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,14Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 30Gb DDR3 Kingston 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
Question for you all:

When the time comes to upgrade my 1620-0 equipped Dell T-3600, what should I look at if I wanted to stay with Xeons?

I realize that for my use (Adobe and DXO Photo Editing, some gaming with a RTX2070 in 4k) probably the easiest thing would be some form of Ryzen but Id' like to stay with Xeons.

Just curious where to go from here, the 4 core 8 threads 1620 is fine still at 3.8Ghz Turbo.
If your mobo can do OC the BEST CPU for X79 LGA2011 In my opinion is 1680 v2(8C/16t)...Even without the OC Max Turbo Frequency goes high at 3,9Ghz but with the OC you can easily rise the CPU frequency beyond 4,5Ghz on all cores.........Tho' 1680 V2 might be still expesive....
 
Last edited:

Auer

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
20 (0.16/day)
If your mobo can do OC the BEST CPU for X79 LGA2011 In my opinion is 1680 v2(8C/16t)...Even without the OC Max Turbo Frequency goes high at 3,9Ghz but with the OC you can easily rise the CPU frequency beyond 4,5Ghz on all cores.........Tho' 1680 V2 might be still expesive....
Thanks :)

I wasn't specific enough tho, I would leave the whole platform and shop for a new Mobo as well. Basically I'd like a new Xeon setup from scratch.
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
95 (1.22/day)
System Name MrGRiMv25 MkIV
Processor Xeon W3680 @ 3.73Ghz (133x28)
Motherboard HP Z400 Rev 2
Cooling Alpenfohn Brocken
Memory 3 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX570 Nitro+
Storage 240GB WD SSD, 6 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" iiyama XB2783HSU AMVA+
Case AeroCoool Aero 500 RGB
Power Supply HP 600w Bronze
Keyboard Gots keys
Software W10 x64
Then again it could be hardware limited like some board will have x16 most of the time but some come with hardwired to x8 and you cant really do much with that that just my guess
It was running at 16x with the W3550 installed, I've re-inserted the card and now it's back to 16x - I had the same problem with a GTX660 OEM a while back, probably just the HP motherboard being weird.

I'm going to experiment with using DUET and REFIND to boot a PCIE adapter for NVME drives soon, might as well make use of some of the spare slots on th board. The things I miss the most from my previous system are USB3 and M.2, but I had to sell it due to yet another bike being written off after someone drove over it...
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
505 (0.50/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor E5645 (4,14Ghz) 6c/12t
Motherboard P6X58D Premium
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 30Gb DDR3 Kingston 1333Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 8gb/Red-Devil/
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb
Display(s) 1x Acer 1080P Ips 2x Eizo(Triple Monitor Setup)
Case Lian Lee
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse SteelSeries Kana V2
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike 12501 Score(Graphics 15643,Physics 14182),Cinebench 963
Thanks :)

I wasn't specific enough tho, I would leave the whole platform and shop for a new Mobo as well. Basically I'd like a new Xeon setup from scratch.
It´s really depends of your budget.....I mean IF the sky is your limit then you can go with the Xeon Platinum 8180 28c/56t BEAST that cost more then10.000$ but if you are more down to the earth then maybe something like Intel Xeon W-2195 or W-2175 and so on....Tho' when it comes to the price-performance then Threadripper and overall Ryzen CPU´s are on the TOP...
 

Auer

New Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
20 (0.16/day)
It´s really depends of your budget.....I mean IF the sky is your limit then you can go with the Xeon Platinum 8180 28c/56t BEAST that cost more then10.000$ but if you are more down to the earth then maybe something like Intel Xeon W-2195 or W-2175 and so on....Tho' when it comes to the price-performance then Threadripper and overall Ryzen CPU´s are on the TOP...
Id like to stay with Xeons, always had a Workstation with them. Mac and PC. For Adobe products mostly. Photography work.
But I know I would be just fine even with a i5-9400 these days.

Motherboards seems to be the main limitation.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
560 (0.47/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
Look like i gonna have to save up and buy another asus p5q premium or deluxe as this asus p5q pro will do 3.6ghz @ 1.136v all day and night with the ram running 1066mhz no problem no crashing only catch is it wont go higher no matter what i set in voltages or timing but missing the 4ghz buzz already. I keep the asus p5q pro for another while :)
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
384 (2.51/day)
System Name Goliath
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.3 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3600 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA P2 1200w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
You might need to mess with vNB in that case.

I've got a number of Xeons... I'll grab a screenshot of my test lab system when I have finished organizing my work area. :D
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
1,206 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
Look like i gonna have to save up and buy another asus p5q premium or deluxe as this asus p5q pro will do 3.6ghz @ 1.136v all day and night with the ram running 1066mhz no problem no crashing only catch is it wont go higher no matter what i set in voltages or timing but missing the 4ghz buzz already. I keep the asus p5q pro for another while :)
What bios?
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
560 (0.47/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
Latest 2102 i think it one of ket modded bios. I already tried messing with vnb makes no differences anything above 3.60ghz results crashing. But on p5q premium i was able to get all the way to 4.4ghz as it was unstable but i was pretty on the edge of my chair running 4.20ghz while i was using pcie x4 lane no crashing. This is one of the reasons why i needed to replace the half working/faulty p5q premium as i had trouble with it since day one at least i learned alot from it. As well the microcodes are the latest 2015 from delidded.com it alot more stable than 2010 microcode.

The asus p5q pro is rev 1.03g and the p5q premium is rev 1.00g. I did find out there was another p5q premium rev 1.01g in china as i spoken to a seller about it as he told me that rev 1.01g has 2 heatsinks on the southbridge area as well some soild caps are missing near the pcie lanes as well some caps have a purple colour markings instead of the red marking on the bottem left of the board if that any sort of improvement which i cant verify or approve based on information unless i get my hands on one some day
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 15, 2016
Messages
560 (0.47/day)
System Name The Blind Grim Reaper
Processor Xeon e5450 elbbm 3ghz @ 4.00ghz idle @ 1.208v, load @ 1.216v
Motherboard Asus P5Q Premium modded to take xeon chip
Cooling Noctua CP12 SE14, 60mm + 40mm fans northbridge, 60mm fan southbridge, modded xbox 360 on ddr2 rams
Memory G-Skill f2-8500cl5d-4gbpk 2gb x4 8gb total at 1067mhz timings 5-5-5-15 2.1v
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 750 ti oc
Storage Crucial mx100 250gb main system + 1TB Seagate for games and music + 160gb wd 7200rpm for back up
Display(s) 22in Asus ET2210i for input and dual computering
Case NZXT Phantom 530 black
Audio Device(s) Nvidia HDMI through HDMI adaptor for output sound for turtlebeach x12 headset
Power Supply Antec HCG 850 watt
Mouse a live mice no brand multi function x2 between 2 computers
Keyboard normal usb keyboard x2 between 2 computers
Software Windows 10 1803 version and asus et2210i has Windows 10 pro 1709
Looks like i have to reinstall the old asus p5q premium back into my case during the week as i missing the 4ghz buzz. Since then been testing the asus p5q pro it working great but it still had the graphic card crashing during resident evil 2 remake but the good news is that i managed to fix it as i did try many fixes none worked till i came across a site explaining the details about tdrdelay, tdrddidelay, tdrlevel. Once i mess around with the registry tweaks it finally works no more gpu crashing for the last 2 days. I always thought it was the motherboard causing all the trouble as i changed everything except ssd and power supply both are fine. So it ended up that windows 10 was the main problem with missing registry tweaks which was needed to stop the nvidia graphic card crashing. You be wondering why windows 10 didnt have tdr registry preinstalled in the first place as windows 7 had the same issue in my case. Other than that everything is back to normal thank god i had enough troubleshooting and just want to play games without crashing :)

At least i know the asus p5q premium is working just hoping that it doesnt do funky stuff on me once it up and running it be a shame to see it go to waste
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
510 (0.59/day)
Location
Tanagra
System Name Mac Pro 4,1 > 5,1
Processor Intel Xeon W3690
Memory 16GB DDR3 ECC
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 580 Armor 8GB OC
Storage Kinston 480GB SSD
Display(s) LG 27UL500-W
Case Cheese Grater
Audio Device(s) My ears
Software Mojave
I'm now a part of the group. I just grabbed a Z420 with an E5-2650 v2 in it. Seems to speed through what I need, and the entire system cost me around $350 with a new-ish GPU and brand new SSD.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
System Name Current
Processor Intel Xeon E5-1650 V2
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Pro
Cooling Corsair Hydro H80
Memory 16Gb DDR3 (4x4Gb) 1600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Sea Hawk X
Storage 256Gb Samsung 950 Pro on Pci-e x4 card, Samsung 850 Evo 500Gb
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG32V
Case NZXT Source 340
Audio Device(s) Dali Zensor 1 Speakers and Tangent Ampster BT II
Power Supply Coolermaster Master Watt 650W
Mouse Hyper X
Keyboard Hyper X
Software Windows 10 64 Pro
Just wanted to chime in, I am still running an old Xeon system:

Xeon E5-1650 V2
ASUS P9x79 Pro (modified bios to allow os to run from nvme drive)

It has been an excellent system for many years, plenty of grunt for almost everything I do.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
6,670 (3.02/day)
Location
USA
Are there any LGA1356 users who have E5-24xx v2 CPUs?
Looks like that would be unlikely. Socket 1356 is mostly a server platform. Very little in the way of workstation offerings that could easily be converted into personal use systems.
 
Last edited:

Ivan2011

New Member
Joined
May 10, 2019
Messages
3 (0.04/day)
lexluthermiester, LGA1356 is a server platform indeed. However, there are several Chinese manufacturers which make desktop personal use motherboards for LGA1156, 1366, 1356, 2011 and other obsolete Xeon CPUs which were decommissioned from data centers, etc. For example this manufacturer. Both LGA1356 CPUs and such motherboards are quite cheap, and the quality is not bad.

As for the E5-2470 v2 compatibility, Huananzhi's support confirmed that this CPU is compatible with their X9D motherboard and sent me screenshots of CPU-Z, Cinebench, and some test results to prove it. They said this CPU is sufficient to run PUBG together with RX580.
Cinebench.png
CPU-Z.png
LuDaShi_5.15_PerfTest.png
LuDaShi_5.15_SysInfo.png
I hope the results will be useful for someone else.
Unfortunately it means that my CPU is dead, since the motherboard I have works well with an E5-2420, but not with this 2470 v2.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
Location
Oak Ridge, TN
System Name BorgX79
Processor E5-1650v2 6/12cores@4.4GHz
Motherboard Sabertoothx79
Cooling Capitan 360
Memory Muhskin DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R480 8GB
Storage Chronos SSD
Display(s) 3x VW266H
Case Ching Mien 600
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Cooler Master 1000W Silent Pro
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Rosewill RK-1000
Software Win7x64
All the 2xxx series cpus are mul locked, in my experience.

I have a P6TD Deluxe that's running an x5670, oc's to 4.5GHz, it runs <70 degrees at full load, in blender.

The biggest drag I ran into is it won't let me set the mul to over 22; other boards will, it's unique to this mobo.

I'm running a x79 sabertooth with a e5-1650, at 4.6GHz, and it never runs much over 70 degrees either.

A sabertooth will run a 3930k at 5.1GHz, and 250w, for at least a few minutes; I pulled the plug at 90C. :) (accidental oc)

The 1680 is the chip for x79, 8 cores, all runable at full speed.

They're cheap now, people have reported less than $200. :)
 
Top