• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

XFX 6950 2GB stuck at 500MHz core??

Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#1
Hey guys,

So I just got a non reference XFX 6950 2GB. Installed it, installed 11.11 driver, go to check it, and the card wont go above 500MHz core clock, while the mem clock goes all the way to 1250 --where it's supposed to be.

So I uninstall the driver, and install 11.9, no change.

While checking the card with GPU shark, it shows the different performance states of the card.

Performance state 0:
GPU: 250MHz
Mem:150MHz
VDDC: 0.900v

Performance state 1:
GPU: 500MHz
Mem:1250
VDDC: 1.000v

Performance state 2:
GPU:800MHz
Mem:1250MHz
VDDC: 1.100v

So as far as I can tell, the card is getting stuck in performance state 1. Has anyone run across this? What was your fix?

FWIW, I noticed with my old 5870 that it too would get stuck in performance state 1 if I had any browsers open with flash animation. Closing the browser would remedy this. However, with the 6950, it does not.

Any ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
337 (0.15/day)
Likes
82
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling CoolerMaster V6GT
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3T1K2/8GX @2133Mhz(11-13-13-32)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD6950 2GB CrossfireX
Storage Hyper X 3K 90GB(OS+BF3),WD 500 + Samsung HD502HJ
Display(s) Samsung P2350,Full HD,2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
#2
Did you try it while playin?
Install MSI Afterburner,activate memory monitor and start a game of choice!Now check the core clock and see if it hits 800!
I say its normal that a 6950 would only go to state 1 while browsing...these b1tches are made for gaming....
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#3
Thanks man. Yeah I've tried playing with it and doing all sorts of stuff. When browsing or just on the desktop, it stays in performance mode 0 (250 core/ 150 mem). Then when firing up a game or 3Dmark11, it only goes into performance state 1 (500 core, 1250 mem). While surely still playable, it's performing worse than a 560Ti I have. Where it should be performing better.

I've tried uninstalling the device through device manager; uninstalling through the driver. Nothing seems to change. I've tried the 11.7, 11.9 and 11.11 drivers --all do the exact same thing. I've tried disabling Aero, turning off all monitoring software except for GPUz, still no change.

My old 5870 would get stuck in performance state 1 if I had any browsers open with flash animation. But even in-game, if you alt+tabbed out, closed the browser, the clocks would jump to performance state 2.
Not the case with this 6950 I'm afraid.
I've contacted AMD and XFX, we'll see if they have a solution.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,503 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,262
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#4
I would say it is a driver issues still... Have you gone in to safe mode an uninstalled (all) the drivers? There may be a piece from a previous install still holding on that is causing the issue.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#5
I would say it is a driver issues still... Have you gone in to safe mode an uninstalled (all) the drivers? There may be a piece from a previous install still holding on that is causing the issue.
I'd have to agree that it's something to do with the driver. I'd imagine if it was hardware related then it wouldn't switch modes at all. Haven't tried safe mode yet, but I'll give that a go in a little while. I'll be sure to delete the registry folders as well just for good measure.

And I'm fairly sure I got all of the old drivers/CCC suite out but, I suppose, you can never be too sure.

FWIW, I had a 5870 and a 5850 installed (not at the same time) not too long ago and it worked just fine.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,033 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,636
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
337 (0.15/day)
Likes
82
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling CoolerMaster V6GT
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3T1K2/8GX @2133Mhz(11-13-13-32)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD6950 2GB CrossfireX
Storage Hyper X 3K 90GB(OS+BF3),WD 500 + Samsung HD502HJ
Display(s) Samsung P2350,Full HD,2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
I'd have to agree that it's something to do with the driver. I'd imagine if it was hardware related then it wouldn't switch modes at all. Haven't tried safe mode yet, but I'll give that a go in a little while. I'll be sure to delete the registry folders as well just for good measure.

And I'm fairly sure I got all of the old drivers/CCC suite out but, I suppose, you can never be too sure.

FWIW, I had a 5870 and a 5850 installed (not at the same time) not too long ago and it worked just fine.
Follow this guide to the letter and hopefully it'll help...or anyway at least you'll clear the drivers
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2009
Messages
620 (0.19/day)
Likes
156
Location
Michigan, USA
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock z77 Extreme 6
Cooling Thermalright Venemous X
Memory 2 x 8GB Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 480
Storage A-Data 128GB SSD, Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
Display(s) HANNspree 25" 1080p 2ms
Case Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) Creative XFI
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer MKII 750w
Software Win 7 pro x64
#8
Ok so in 3Dm11, I scored a whopping P3342. Which is absolutely horrible. A PH II with a 6790 scored only 300 points less than me.
Follow this guide to the letter and hopefully it'll help...or anyway at least you'll clear the drivers
http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502
May sound like a silly question, but how do you stop it in windows 7? Whenever I put new hardware in, it just automatically installs the driver and there's no option to stop it.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
337 (0.15/day)
Likes
82
Location
Tirana,Albania
System Name Th3 R3D X
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
Cooling CoolerMaster V6GT
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3T1K2/8GX @2133Mhz(11-13-13-32)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD6950 2GB CrossfireX
Storage Hyper X 3K 90GB(OS+BF3),WD 500 + Samsung HD502HJ
Display(s) Samsung P2350,Full HD,2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W
Software Win 7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
Don't worry about that I've never got that either!!!
Anyway follow the other sreps to the letter and you'll be fine(driver side)...