1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 6950 Question

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Zaspera, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    In Catalyst Control Center, it gives me an option to change the power settings anywhere from -20 to +20 and right now it is at 0. What does changing this option really mean and what should I have it at?
     
  2. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    Nobody knows what the +20% power option does?
     
  3. LGV

    LGV New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    260 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    for over or underclock, leve it alone.
    exemple;if you change the bios to 6970 underclock memory, but you need more power
     
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,524 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  5. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    So more power=more fps? Should I change the clock and memory speeds at the same time?
     
  6. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,056 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    No, more power does not equal more FPS. You'll most likely fry your card if you overpower it while cruising for higher FPS.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,524 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Increased wattage can, possibly, increase the FPS.
    Depending, if the card is maxing the power draw out before meeting the max clocks set and increasing the wattage limit allows it to achieve the max clocks.
    Or, if you have increased the clocks and the card is not meeting the clocks due to the wattage limit set.

    It is possible you may damage the card.

    ______________________________________________________________________________________

    However, this is my simplistic understanding of the Powertune feature:

    It is a set of instructions that allow the card, to try, to obtain the max clocks at a set wattage and if need be... reduce the clocks on the fly to not exceed that wattage.

    For instance, the HD6950 is default at 200 watt max draw of power.
    The slider in CCC allows you to increase or decrease that by 20%.
    So, basically, you can increase\decrease the draw of power by + or - 40 watts.
    No matter what you set the clocks at, the card is not supposed exceed your set limit on the drawn wattage.

    So, theoretically, you are able to control the wattage from 160 to 240 watts on the HD6950.
    And, on the HD6970 the default is 250 watts; so, it would be 150(-20%) to 300(+20%) watts draw.

    Like I said, this is my understanding after reading a couple articles about it.
     
  8. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    281 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Burns out your video card. :eek::p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)