• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 7950 TDFC Original BIOS request

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I was following instructions from XFX support team thinking I shouldn't need to backup my BIOS. But I guess they gave me a BIOS for a different graphics card. So I was wondering if any of you guys scored the 7950 that Newegg and Amazon recently had a deal on. If you could please upload it I'll really appreciate it.

XFX Double D FX-795A-TDFC Radeon HD 7950 3GB 384-b...
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#2
You're in luck, bought mine on Newegg last week. :)

 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#4
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#6

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
well I took Jstn's bios which reads XFX_FX-795A-TDFC.rom and renamed it to xfx.bin

you think that would break it somehow?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#8
well I took Jstn's bios which reads XFX_FX-795A-TDFC.rom and renamed it to xfx.bin

you think that would break it somehow?
No, I have changed file names/extensions many times without issue, thing is it is recognising the card, try putting the card in another PCI-E slot, then configure in bios and try to boot.
 

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
So i only have one pciE as its an ITX board. but it seems that it is recognized just the BIOS is bad. i can still reflash and it shows up under device manager but it wont give out any video. compared to some other threads i read about corrupt bios, they claim they cannot reflash anymore or it doesnt show up at all. atiflash -i still shows it as adapter 0.

another thing id like to mention is i flashed and saved the bios back to my drive. I checked the hashes and they are completely the same. I guess it must be physically damaged?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,834 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,125
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#10
So i only have one pciE as its an ITX board. but it seems that it is recognized just the BIOS is bad. i can still reflash and it shows up under device manager but it wont give out any video. compared to some other threads i read about corrupt bios, they claim they cannot reflash anymore or it doesnt show up at all. atiflash -i still shows it as adapter 0.

another thing id like to mention is i flashed and saved the bios back to my drive. I checked the hashes and they are completely the same. I guess it must be physically damaged?
Have you tried WinFlash?
 

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
yup, and it says i already flashed the same bios..
kinda give up, ill just have amazon send me a new one. damn xfx, must really want me to take advantage of their lifetime warranty.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#12
atiflash uses extension .rom
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#13

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Hmm. Does it really matter though? I'll give it a try once I get back home.

XFX sent me the original BIOS. its 64KB and file extension .SB
their flash.bat file used the same command as well, atiflash -f -p 0 file.sb

I wonder if it would only take 64KB and by flashing 128KB it killed the ROM chip?
Everything from XFX support is 64KB, but everything saved from atiflash is 128KB?
 
Last edited:

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#15
Hmm. Does it really matter though? I'll give it a try once I get back home.

XFX sent me the original BIOS. its 64KB and file extension .SB
their flash.bat file used the same command as well, atiflash -f -p 0 file.sb

I wonder if it would only take 64KB and by flashing 128KB it killed the ROM chip?
Everything from XFX support is 64KB, but everything saved from atiflash is 128KB?
79x0 BIOS files were originally 128K but the first half of the file was completely empty, hence why most newer BIOS files for the 79x0 cards are only 64K. A lot of manufacturers decided to just throw out the half that wasn't in use. I can almost guarantee your ROM chip is 128K.
By the by, even with the -f tag, WinFlash has aborted operations on me before because the BIOS I was trying to flash was too large for the ROM chip. The chances that you fried your ROM by flashing it with too large a BIOS file are extremely slim.
Something else here is to blame.

As far as file extensions go, I've had WinFlash successfully use .rom, .bin, and .sb files before. The extension you use shouldn't matter as long as the file is actually a valid BIOS file. I can't comment on ATiFlash because it's been years since I've flashed a card from DOS.
 
Last edited:

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#16
Yeah, I wonder if it has to do with me having to use a tool (credit card) to unlock the pci graphics card slot to remove the card. the pcie release plastic on the slot goes right under the ram slot release. maybe i damaged the card physically. its an itx board
ASRock Z77E-ITX LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s...

you can see how close it is. I suppose I damaged it when trying to take it out. I'll have to take a closer look tonight, that card wobbles all around (especially up and down so it will be half out the pci slot) and isn't secure until you screw it in. the case is lian li q08 when I orginally had it working i did have to push the card up a bit so I could mount the screws.

I suppose the pcie slot is fine though since my 7770 still shows video.
 

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#17
Don't think so, besides I don't get any video at all, cannot even see the my Mobo BIOS screen.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
yeah, the blank screen crossed my mind after I posted that:(
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#19
Have you tried using the secondary BIOS by flipping the switch next to the CrossFire connectors?
The second BIOS on the 79x0 is locked so it can't be tampered with. If that BIOS doesn't allow your card to run, it's screwed.
 

trizic

New Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
Have you tried using the secondary BIOS by flipping the switch next to the CrossFire connectors?
The second BIOS on the 79x0 is locked so it can't be tampered with. If that BIOS doesn't allow your card to run, it's screwed.
My card doesnt have the switch. Though printed on the PCB i see a [1 2] with holes, so I guess they didn't put it in. someone told me though there may be a switch deep inside.

but even under the heatsink it seems theres nothing.
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/853...950-asus-his-msi-powercolor-sapphire-xfx.html
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,644 (0.48/day)
Likes
344
System Name Black Killing Machine
Processor Delidded NO IHS mount Intel i7-4770k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Cooling Swiftech DIR655 pump, Watercool HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ 79X0 Ni-Bl gpu, DT SNIPER CPU block, UT60 420 RAD
Memory Gskill Trident 2400mhz CL9 Samsung IC9
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD7950 OC 950mhz Edition, VaporX HD7950
Storage 2xM4 Crucial 64GB RAID 0, 1 OCZ AGILILITY 3 60GB, WDCB 500GB x2RAID0, WD Green, Hitachi 1TB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW and 24" 120hz BenQ gamer
Case SilverStone Raven rv-02
Audio Device(s) Audio Technica ATH-AD900 headphones, Topping D2 DAC/Headphone AMP
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 860
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/sonda5/ Delidding is magic. http://valid.canardpc.com/2878462
#21

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#22
My card doesnt have the switch. Though printed on the PCB i see a [1 2] with holes, so I guess they didn't put it in. someone told me though there may be a switch deep inside.

but even under the heatsink it seems theres nothing.
http://www.hardware.fr/articles/853...950-asus-his-msi-powercolor-sapphire-xfx.html
If the switch isn't in its dedicated location, you don't have one. Don't pull your cooler off to look for it as that will void your warranty and you won't be able to RMA.