• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX 7970 BE DD Original ROM needed

Sonic

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Germany
#1
Hi guys,

i did a big mistake with my new gpu. i flashed a wrong rom but didn't make a backup of the original rom. so my question is: Is anyone here who got a original rom for the
XFX Black DD Radeon 7970 1000m 3GB D5 2XmDP HDMI 2xDVI Version 3.1?

Model No.: FX-797A-TD
Part No.: FX-797A-TDBC
The rom from the database seems to be for older version of the card.

i hope someone can help me.
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.14/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#2
Hi,

Isn't there a dual bios switch on the card? If this is the case, then switch the switch to the secondary bios, power up, boot up in Windows, and use GPU-Z or other tools to save/backup this bios; use this backup bios from the card to reflash the videocard. Make sure you switch back to bios 1 before flashing the card.

Hope this works for you.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#4
Sorry 2 hear About that. I know as a Previous owner of XFX 's that their Support is pretty Top End. I know it's the Weekend , but maybe Contact them. I'm SURE something can be done. I wish you the best of luck.

Pray to the GPU god's , his VGA has lost it's sole.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,634 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,893
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#5
It's a pretty popular card, I'm sure it's only a matter of time till someone Who has the 3.1 version can help you out. It's Early here in EST , if I see one I'll post in regard's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 26, 2012
Messages
372 (0.17/day)
Likes
301
System Name Project Evolv mATX
Processor Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8
Motherboard ASRock AB350M Pro 4
Cooling Corsair H100i V2 / All Corsair ML series mag lev bearing fans
Memory 16gb (2x8) G.SKILL 3200 C14 running at 3200 and C14 rock stable
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX580 Nitro + 1460 / 2250
Storage Samsung 960 pro NVMe 512GB with EKWB Heatsink
Display(s) Dual Acer 23" H236HL's
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX in Silver
Audio Device(s) To many to list - generally a modified E-MU 0404 combined with a Project Ember for my desktop use
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Software Win 10 64 Pro
#6
Wow... I think I may have found it in my files from my v3.1 XFX BE 7970. Give this a go. Should be it!
XFX BLACK EDITION ROM
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 26, 2012
Messages
372 (0.17/day)
Likes
301
System Name Project Evolv mATX
Processor Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8
Motherboard ASRock AB350M Pro 4
Cooling Corsair H100i V2 / All Corsair ML series mag lev bearing fans
Memory 16gb (2x8) G.SKILL 3200 C14 running at 3200 and C14 rock stable
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX580 Nitro + 1460 / 2250
Storage Samsung 960 pro NVMe 512GB with EKWB Heatsink
Display(s) Dual Acer 23" H236HL's
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX in Silver
Audio Device(s) To many to list - generally a modified E-MU 0404 combined with a Project Ember for my desktop use
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Software Win 10 64 Pro
#8
Right on! Glad I could be of assistance :)
 

Marioshi

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Hey all,

I did the same thing! Does anyone have the bios for FX-797A-TDFC V3.2 ?

Its a double dissapation non-black edition.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
674 (0.27/day)
Likes
518
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor Intel Xeon W3550
Motherboard DELL 0XPDFK
Memory 6x2GB Kingston 1066MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 760 WINDFORCE 3X OC 2 GB rev. 2.0
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
Keyboard Corsair K60
#10

Marioshi

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
wow, you guys are lightning fast, I will try a couple of the new bioses in the database.
 

Marioshi

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
Thank you thank you thank you

I thought I was effed for sure. It worked. One of the drivers that wasnt there last night was the right one!

The part I didnt tell you is that I have these in crossfire and I had screwed up both of them! w1zzard, you really saved me. Thanks to EVERYONE that replied and so quickly too! OCN aint got nothing on your guys when it comes to tech support. Guess I can cancel my XFX ticket.

Man my wife was going to kill me when she found out I bricked 700 dollars worth of brand new electronics.

I feel like I need a drink now lol but its only 9:30. Both are working now, I guess I ought to run 3dmark just to be sure its REALLY working. I am just glad to know they arent paperweights.

One thing I noticed was that when the wrong bios was flashed, the PCB would get very hot. I refrained from running it longer than I needed while trying to fix it but I have no doubts that damage would have occured if I left it on.
 

Marioshi

New Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
Ran 3dmark11 without a hitch. I guess everything is a-ok.

Going to finish my coffee and stay the heck away from bios flashing for a while :)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#15
thanks for your answer but the card has the new design and no switch :-(
Might you be able to share with me how you were able to flash The XFX 7970? I keep having the atiflash application (command line of course) to stop unexpectedly both in Win7 and Win8. Do I just enable the user settings in Catalyst and then flash? Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,800 (9.77/day)
Likes
18,715
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#16
Might you be able to share with me how you were able to flash The XFX 7970? I keep having the atiflash application (command line of course) to stop unexpectedly both in Win7 and Win8. Do I just enable the user settings in Catalyst and then flash? Thanks.
Use the DOS version of atiflash using a bootable usb stick.

at the prompt type:

c:/atiflash -f -p 0 bios.rom

"0" is if your card is in the 1st PCI-E slot. Replace "bios.rom" with the name of the bios file.
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,922 (0.73/day)
Likes
949
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Xeon e5-2690 v2 Stock 3.0 GHz @ 3.399
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block & Phobya G-Changer 360 V2.0 RAD H2o VGA "AlphaCool M18" Hybrid
Memory Gskill TridentX 16Gb 8-9-9-24 2T @ 1866Mhz [locked]
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 4096*2304]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1803 / OS[build 17134.48]
#17
Hi

Might you be able to share with me how you were able to flash The XFX 7970?.
Make a Back-Up of the original vbios BEFORE flashing the vga card

at a dos prompt type:

atiflash -s 0 Oldvbios.rom

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#18
Use the DOS version of atiflash using a bootable usb stick.

at the prompt type:

c:/atiflash -f -p 0 bios.rom

"0" is if your card is in the 1st PCI-E slot. Replace "bios.rom" with the name of the bios file.
Hi



Make a Back-Up of the original vbios BEFORE flashing the vga card

at a dos prompt type:

atiflash -s 0 Oldvbios.rom

atb (all the best)

Law-II
Thanks for the almost instantaneous and helpful replies. I'll try when I return to my desktop.

Cheers
 

raven89

New Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2013
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#19
Hi, I wonder if anybody can upload the bios for
XFX Black DD Radeon 7970 1000m 3GB D5 2XmDP HDMI 2xDVI Version 3.1
Model No.: FX-797A-TD
Part No.: FX-797A-TDBC

I have the same gpu and problem as sonic, but the link Garage1217 uploaded does not work anymore :(

Grateful for answers. :)
 

gverdu

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
Hi, I wonder if anybody can upload the bios for
XFX Black DD Radeon 7970 1000m 3GB D5 2XmDP HDMI 2xDVI Version 3.1
Model No.: FX-797A-TD
Part No.: FX-797A-TDBC

I have the same gpu and problem as sonic, but the link Garage1217 uploaded does not work anymore :(

Grateful for answers. :)
 

Marder

New Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2014
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#22
Hi community.
Years ago i flashed my AMD card with a bios from here without saving the original one ;/
The card runs stable since then but it's much more slower and louder than before.
Really would like to flash a proper BIOS again which is stable and fast. (original one?)

i have a "Black DD Radeon 797 1000M 3GB D5 2XmDP"
FX-797A-TD
FX-797A-TDBC V1.1

Please help me - thanks
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,935 (4.34/day)
Likes
3,526
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
5,935 (4.34/day)
Likes
3,526
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2680 10c/20t 2.8GHz @ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asrock X79 Extreme 11
Cooling Coolermaster 240 RGB A.I.O.
Memory G. Skill 16Gb (4x4Gb) 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 710
Storage Sandisk X 400 256Gb
Display(s) AOC 22" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Software W10 Home Premium 64 bit
#25
In device manager right click on your display adapter, then select details, then in the drop down box Hardware Ids
 
Top