• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

XFX 7970 Working as PCI-E 3.0 @ x8 1.1 ?

Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello,

I have Asus Rampage IV Extreme motherboard and XFX 7970 Black Edition O.C. graphic card.

GPU-Z Screen;





Can someone help me about this situation ? How to enable PCI-E 3.0 @ x16 ?

Thank you :)
 
Last edited:

Huddo93

New Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2011
Messages
299 (0.13/day)
Likes
57
Location
Perth, WA, Australia
System Name Gaming Rig
Processor i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus Z77 Deluxe-V
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory RipjawsX 8GB @ 2133MHz 11-11-11-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX670 SC @ 1300MHz core
Storage OCZ Vertex 4 256GB + 1TB Samsung HDD
Display(s) 23" LG W2343T
Case Corsair 650D
Power Supply Corsiar AX-850
#2
Try opening a game or benchmark and check it again. Since the card is idling your system does not give it the full amount of PCI-E lanes. Well at least thats what i think may be happening haha.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#3
Try opening a game or benchmark and check it again. Since the card is idling your system does not give it the full amount of PCI-E lanes. Well at least thats what i think may be happening haha.
Yes, that is whats happening.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#4
As the others have said, its in IDLE state. There is a question mark beside the bus interface, click it and there should be a render button, this will test it at 3D clocks and show you see the PCIex bus go up.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#5
i tried and i clicked render button. Only 1.1 changed to 3.0. Still x8 :(..

PCI-E 3.0 x16 @ x8 3.0.

How to make this x16 ? :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
What slot is the card installed in? Can you take a picture, host it @ www.techpowerup.org, and post it here?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,515 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#8
Never saw my PCIe lanes throttle down before...
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Never saw my PCIe lanes throttle down before...
Yeah it is really interesting problem :(.

Also there is PCI-E Lane Switch on motherboard. Is this related about my problem ?



Here is info about this switch ;

"These slide switches allows you to enable and disable the corresponding PCIe x16 slots. When one of the installed PCIe x16 cards is out of order, you can use the slide switch to find out the faulty one without removing the cards."
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
First slot. its x16. No need picture i guess :p
Are any of the other slots populated?


Did you try re-seating the card?

You could disable the unused slots with that switch, and see if that rights things...
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#11
Yeah it is really interesting problem :(.

Also there is PCI-E Lane Switch on motherboard. Is this related about my problem ?

http://www.cpusolutions.com/store/pc/catalog/r4e4_2034_detail.jpg

Here is info about this switch ;

"These slide switches allows you to enable and disable the corresponding PCIe x16 slots. When one of the installed PCIe x16 cards is out of order, you can use the slide switch to find out the faulty one without removing the cards."
that shouldn't be the problem u should be able to run Triple SLi/Crossfire on that but in x16 mode.

what processor r u running?

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_2011/Rampage_IV_Extreme/#specifications
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,515 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#12
Those switches are ON/OFF only...but you can try disbling them.

In the bios you should have some options on how to set it that, but I think its limited to PCIe2 or 3... but check anyway.

+1 for other slots populated and reaseating.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
Here is my system:

Intel i7-3960x 3.3Ghz
G.Skill 16GB (4x4) RipjawsZ 1866MHz CL9 1.5V Quad-Channel
Asus Rampage IV Extreme X79
2x OCZ Vertex 3 120 GB (RAID 0)
Cooler-Master Silent Pro 80+ Gold 1200w
Corsair H80 Cooler
XFX 7970 Black Edition O.C
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#14
I still want a pic, sounds like a killer rig.:roll:

Dunno what to tell ya, you can try one of the other x16 slots(it says on the board right under the slot which is which).
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
Are any of the other slots populated?


Did you try re-seating the card?

You could disable the unused slots with that switch, and see if that rights things...
No, the other slots are empty. Also card is seated very well :). No problem about that too..

I think there is some option in Bios or i dont know in anywhere..

I will try to disable other slots with PCI-E Lane Switch.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
Are any of the other slots populated?


Did you try re-seating the card?

You could disable the unused slots with that switch, and see if that rights things...
I still want a pic, sounds like a killer rig.:roll:

Dunno what to tell ya, you can try one of the other x16 slots(it says on the board right under the slot which is which).


here is picture :).

yeah 4th slot is PCIe 3.0 x16/8_3 slot says on User Guide :).

But first slot is PCIe 3.0 x16_1 slot it says on User Guide too..

So this card must be work as x16, i dont know what is the problem :(

thank you for helping...
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#17
So you have now switched the other 3 switches to off...... then rebooted?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,515 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#18
It would be even more sexy with wire management!!!

Sexy rig man! :)
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#19
i dont have this board but it was my understanding from reading about similar boards that switching other lanes on (strangely unpopulated even) would reduce the bandwidth to slot one , to x8 so as others have said switch the unused ones off on board and in bios if thats possible
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,515 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#20
Board only is fine. I think if the switches are disabled teh option is not available in the bios (not 100% on that)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#21
That card is sagging HARD....for a brand new card...
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
4,988 (1.76/day)
Likes
1,553
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
#22
I think if the switches are disabled teh option is not available in the bios (not 100% on that)
just my two pence, its worth a double check:)
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#23
tried everytihng, i switched off other pci-e slots. but still see as x8 :(. I dont know what to do now..

Very interesting problem...
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#24
tried everytihng, i switched off other pci-e slots. but still see as x8 :(. I dont know what to do now..

Very interesting problem...
Well ,the best I can suggest is that you try the other slot, and if it still reports as x8 then there might be something worng with the card.


You may also want to try setting the PCIe option in BIOS to PCIe 2.0, and see if that makes a difference...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,515 (3.96/day)
Likes
6,271
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#25
Good thing PCIe3 8x = PCIe2 16x and no loss of performance...