• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP (Hynix) BIOS ROM required

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)
Dear Mates,

I have two GPU cards mentioned in the below link.

I accidentally flashed both BIOS (Dual BIOS). I have the stock bios copy which i took before flashing. But for the BIOS 2 (Performance BIOS) i do not have a copy. The BIOS got corrupted and i am unable to use the second BIOS.

It would of great help if anyone can share a copy of both BIOS so that i can reset to original BIOS. I have attached a snapshot of TechGPUZ of my card below.

Please help..
 

Attachments

  • AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP 8 GB.PNG
    AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP 8 GB.PNG
    44.6 KB · Views: 47
  • AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP 8 GB Advanced.PNG
    AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP 8 GB Advanced.PNG
    14.9 KB · Views: 45
  • AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP 8 GB Sensor.PNG
    AMD Radeon RX 580 2048SP 8 GB Sensor.PNG
    25.5 KB · Views: 48

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Check the dates of release

Newest bios available



Oldest bios available


Check tdp max power limit, memory timings as well

Dear Mates,

I have two GPU cards mentioned in the below link.

I accidentally flashed both BIOS (Dual BIOS). I have the stock bios copy which i took before flashing. But for the BIOS 2 (Performance BIOS) i do not have a copy. The BIOS got corrupted and i am unable to use the second BIOS.

It would of great help if anyone can share a copy of both BIOS so that i can reset to original BIOS. I have attached a snapshot of TechGPUZ of my card below.

Please help..
 

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)
Thank you for your suggestion. I have tried all the XFX 580 8 GB ROMs available on Tech powerup. Unfortunately it is either a P/N not matching or a subsystem mismatch. This is a new model which has come and old bios are not working with it.

This is the model I have.

I didn't come across the below bios. I will give it a try.


Any idea if this is a performance bios. How do you usually identify the difference?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thank you for your suggestion. I have tried all the XFX 580 8 GB ROMs available on Tech powerup. Unfortunately it is either a P/N not matching or a subsystem mismatch. This is a new model which has come and old bios are not working with it.

This is the model I have.

I didn't come across the below bios. I will give it a try.


Any idea if this is a performance bios. How do you usually identify the difference?

Listen you may need to do a force flash using a specific command

Thank you for your suggestion. I have tried all the XFX 580 8 GB ROMs available on Tech powerup. Unfortunately it is either a P/N not matching or a subsystem mismatch. This is a new model which has come and old bios are not working with it.

This is the model I have.

I didn't come across the below bios. I will give it a try.


Any idea if this is a performance bios. How do you usually identify the difference?

All bios I provided have your ram, Device ID and Subsystem ID.

Here is a blackwolf specific bios.

Make sure you are opening amdvbflashwin.exe. by right clicking and opening with administrator privileges.

Use this tool and extract it using winzip, winrar, 7zip or built in windows zip tool


If you still have trouble a force flash will be needed. Let me know if the gui flash fails.
 
Last edited:

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)

eidairaman1 Thank you so much! appreciate it. I also received the original BIOS from Manufacturer. So issue resolved. If anybody needs it. you can download the attached file.​


BTW.. Even though its a dual BIOS both BIOS are the same. It is just for backup and not a a performance BIOS

eidairaman1

 

Attachments

  • 580S85DDM-L0.zip
    110.4 KB · Views: 20

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1 Thank you so much! appreciate it. I also received the original BIOS from Manufacturer. So issue resolved. If anybody needs it. you can download the attached file.​


BTW.. Even though its a dual BIOS both BIOS are the same. It is just for backup and not a a performance BIOS

eidairaman1

Open gpu-z attempt to upload the bios through gpu-z itself using the arrow next tobthe uefi check box, you should be prompted that the bios is already in database with a link to it, copy and paste link here.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)
Thank you for your support. I tried modding this BIOS for mining but went in vain and am getting Max 24m/h. The Polaris BIOS editor throws some error. Even though there changes in the file the hashrate remains the same.

I am not sure this is the right thread but thought i will share it in case you can help me mod this BIOS for better hash rate.

When use the modded BIOS the radeon adrenalin software does not open until i reflash the stock BIOS.

I dont know if anyone can help me with this just leaving this here for comments.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot Unable to Mod.PNG
    Screenshot Unable to Mod.PNG
    73.2 KB · Views: 17

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thank you for your support. I tried modding this BIOS for mining but went in vain and am getting Max 24m/h. The Polaris BIOS editor throws some error. Even though there changes in the file the hashrate remains the same.

I am not sure this is the right thread but thought i will share it in case you can help me mod this BIOS for better hash rate.

When use the modded BIOS the radeon adrenalin software does not open until i reflash the stock BIOS.

I dont know if anyone can help me with this just leaving this here for comments.
Stop modding it and use it for awhile
 

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)
@eidairaman1 Will that help? Meaning after sometime will it perform better? I bought this purely for mining purposes. So, want to make the best of it
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
253 (1.66/day)
Location
Europe
As eidairaman said, keep using the video card with the BIOS he provided.
Why ?
Simple - because we wanna try the stability of it.
After a few weeks of testing you can say if it was a success or not.
If all is in order THEN and only then you will go to 2nd step - to mod the BIOS for mining purposes.
Cheers
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
As eidairaman said, keep using the video card with the BIOS he provided.
Why ?
Simple - because we wanna try the stability of it.
After a few weeks of testing you can say if it was a success or not.
If all is in order THEN and only then you will go to 2nd step - to mod the BIOS for mining purposes.
Cheers

Also mining bios are obviously different, i can find 1 but as @impero said just test it for awhile.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
253 (1.66/day)
Location
Europe
IF the current BIOS will be the winner , then i will help him to mod THIS BIOS.
So until then, please test it and in a few days (i prefer more then a week) we will discuss again about your card if it is stable or not.
 

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)
@impero and @eidairaman1 as suggested I have flashed the stock rom back.. no oc settings running at default with hash rate 24 mh for now. Will wait and see the stability. Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
253 (1.66/day)
Location
Europe
We are looking now ONLY for stability not for higher hash rate.
In the end when we have tested enough and we decide it's stable then as i promised i will mod your BIOS.
So, until then i wish you a good day!
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
253 (1.66/day)
Location
Europe
I forgot to ask you to give me the current BIOS that you have, in order to start my job (modding it).
IF and only IF the version is stable, we have a winner and you will receive the modded BIOS as i promised.
 

mohanbrulz

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2021
Messages
20 (0.25/day)
No worries @impero .. yes the current BIOS is stable. The mining performance is low and may be that is the standard for these cards. I am attaching the stock BIOS which i have been using as suggested.
 

Attachments

  • XFX Standard RX 580.zip
    110.2 KB · Views: 21

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
OFC with the mining BIOS you obtain way much hash rate then stock one.
It's in the memory timings and the voltage used, unfortunately most cards go through abusive levels of heat, dirt/dust, moisture and sometimes bad power supplies and source power.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
253 (1.66/day)
Location
Europe
For example i underclock my card and undervoltage.
The only thing i modd is the timings.
i prefer low power and low heat = that leads to longer life
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,205 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
For example i underclock my card and undervoltage.
The only thing i modd is the timings.
i prefer low power and low heat = that leads to longer life

Yup where as most miners don't give a damn about the hardware
 
Top