• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX Announces GeForce 8800 GT 256MB

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.12/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
It appears that XFX will be the first manufacturer to introduce 256MB version of GeForce 8800 GT. The GeForce 8800 GT 256MB (available in standard and XXX Editions) looks identical and has all the features of its big brother 8800 GT 512MB. The only difference should appear under the cooler, where the memory chips are situated. The cards will be marking its debut as of next week, landing in retailers for an expected reseller price of 149 € excluding VAT.



Source: XFX
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,207 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,396
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#2
sweet is this the 'newer' 8800 GT thats everyone has been talking about or is it the same old 8800 GT with lesser memory???
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.73/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#3
sweet is this the 'newer' 8800 GT thats everyone has been talking about or is it the same old 8800 GT with lesser memory???
Newer? You mean 8800GTS with 112 pipes? This is the same as current 8800GT 512MB, just 256MB. I'm hoping peeps buy these and there will be more 512MB versions available for me (the cheap ones) :p
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#4
I would probably still get the 512mb version...
 
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
4,720 (1.21/day)
Likes
354
Location
Tennessee
System Name AM3+
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4715.73 MHz (23.5*200.63 MHz)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Cooling AMD 8150 Factory Water Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 16 GB 1333 MHz PC3-10666 240-Pin DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG MATRIX-R9290X-P-4GD5 Radeon R9 290X 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0
Storage SanDisk Ultra II 480GB, INTEL SS DSC2BW240A4, Western Digital WDC WD50 00AAKX-003CA0
Display(s) Acer S211HL bd 21.5-Inch Widescreen Ultra-Slim LED Display - Black
Case COOLER MASTER Elite 335 Upgraded RC-335U-KKN1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Power Supply Corsair RM Series 850 Watt ATX/EPS 80PLUS Gold-Certified Power Supply - CP-9020056-NA RM850
Software Windows 10.0 Pro 64 Bit
#5
I know 216$ isn't a lot for a graphics card, but I think this is too expensive. Although, I still am interested in buying it.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,826 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,110
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#6
I would probably still get the 512mb version...
Agreed, these days, with DX10 and especially with resolutions above 1280 x 1024 any 256MB card is going to struggle, but if you play in lowish res it may do the job, interesting to see how it would pitch against a similarily priced 2900GT with the 512MB memory if the GT does actually get 512MB of memory as rumoured, I only see 256MB versions at the moment.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2007
Messages
850 (0.21/day)
Likes
23
Location
USA
#7
sweet is this the 'newer' 8800 GT thats everyone has been talking about or is it the same old 8800 GT with lesser memory???
I think your confused. There were GTS and GTX before. The GT is new. The GTS is getting revamped with more pipes like OnBoard said.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#8
Agreed, these days, with DX10 and especially with resolutions above 1280 x 1024 any 256MB card is going to struggle, but if you play in lowish res it may do the job, interesting to see how it would pitch against a similarily priced 2900GT with the 512MB memory if the GT does actually get 512MB of memory as rumoured, I only see 256MB versions at the moment.
I really want to see the benchies... It seems that ram really does not matter THAT much.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,160 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#9
Why? Whyyyyy?

They dont even have enough g92 boards for the 512MB 8800GT, why would they SPLIT the production and take away boards from the 512 just to make useless ones with half the memory?

I hope no one else makes this, as its totally pointless at this point, 256mb or 320mb really handicaps this generation of cards... plus the 512MB GT prices are going to be dropping from 250 anyways, so this just seems like a waste of a good board that could have easily had double the memory for 30 bucks more :cry:.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#10
They dont even have enough g92 boards for the 512MB 8800GT, why would they SPLIT the production and take away boards from the 512 just to make useless ones with half the memory?

I hope no one else makes this, as its totally pointless at this point, 256mb or 320mb really handicaps this generation of cards... plus the 512MB GT prices are going to be dropping from 250 anyways, so this just seems like a waste of a good board that could have easily had double the memory for 30 bucks more :cry:.
So are you saying that a card with 256mb is useless?

So lets say I have an x1300 with 512mb of memory and a 8800gt with 256mb of memory... that does not mean the x1300 is better!
 

Weer

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
1,417 (0.37/day)
Likes
93
Location
New York / Israel
System Name //////////////////////////////////////Crunching/Folding Builds\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
Processor Q8400@ 4.0Ghz | Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz | E7300 @ 3.8Ghz | E5300 @ 4.3Ghz | E5300 @ 3.9Ghz | E2180 @ 2.0Ghz |
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E | Asus P5Q Pro | Gigabyte EG45-DS2H | Gigabyte EP35-DS3H | Gigabyte NV73 | E-Sonic P35-G
Cooling TRUE [Lapped] | TRUE | Thermalright SI-128 | Stock | Stock | Stock
Memory G.Skill 8192MB @ 1066Mhz | G.Skill 4096MB | OCZ 2048MB | G.Skill 2048MB | PNY 2048MB | OCZ 1024MB
Video Card(s) GTX 280 + 8800 GTS 512 | 9800 GX2 + 8800 GTS 512 | 6600 GT | 8800 GS | 9600 GSO 512
Storage G.Skill 64GB SSD (OS) | Segate 750GB [Downloads] | 5TB JBOD [Movies] | 3TB JBOD [Else] | 1.5TB [Ex]
Display(s) QUAD Monitors: Dell 2007FP [20"] + Dell 3007WFP-HC [30"] + Dell 2007FP [20"] | Dell 2407WFP-HC [24"]
Case Antec P190 | Antec Three-Hundred | Antec NSK2400 | Thermaltake Strike MX | HEC 6T10 | HEC 8K01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI + [Audiophile HD600] + [Creative G500 + Logitech X-530 = 10 speakers]
Power Supply OCZ 750w [62A] | OCZ 750w [62A] | Antec 380w [31A] | Antec 650w [54A] | OCZ 400w [33A] | GeN [20A]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit + Windows XP 64-bit | Windows Vista SP2 64-bit | Windows 7 RTM 64-bit
Benchmark Scores ////////////////////////////////66,666 [Crunching] + 45,455 [Folding]\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\
#11
We want 1024MB, not 256MB!
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,160 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#12
So are you saying that a card with 256mb is useless?

So lets say I have an x1300 with 512mb of memory and a 8800gt with 256mb of memory... that does not mean the x1300 is better!
Keyword: THIS generation of cards is handicapped by 256MB! Youre right in that case, of course... but there are benches that include the 8800GTS 320MB and the 640MB, where the 320 MB one can't even RUN (i cant find it at the moment, but i do remember seeing it) certain benches/resolutions while the 640 delivers 20fps... now lop off an additional 64MB of ram to get 256 and you'll quickly notice the difference - especially with some AA enabled.

and no... adding ram to an x1300 chip will not do anything, or a 7800GT for that matter - but a huge difference for the R600/G80/G92 chips especially with AA.

Weer is right :toast:... they need a 1gb version. They have a 2900XT in 1GB, why not this? theyre in the same class performance wise.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.17/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#13
I say we don't really need 1gb YET. 512mb is sufficient for now...
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,453 (10.11/day)
Likes
18,124
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#14
I say we don't really need 1gb YET. 512mb is sufficient for now...
If you intend to play some newer games with a resolution over 1280x1024, I would say 512mb is insufficient.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#15
Keyword: THIS generation of cards is handicapped by 256MB! Youre right in that case, of course... but there are benches that include the 8800GTS 320MB and the 640MB, where the 320 MB one can't even RUN (i cant find it at the moment, but i do remember seeing it) certain benches/resolutions while the 640 delivers 20fps... now lop off an additional 64MB of ram to get 256 and you'll quickly notice the difference - especially with some AA enabled.

and no... adding ram to an x1300 chip will not do anything, or a 7800GT for that matter - but a huge difference for the R600/G80/G92 chips especially with AA.

Weer is right :toast:... they need a 1gb version. They have a 2900XT in 1GB, why not this? theyre in the same class performance wise.
8800gts 320 runs just like the 640 one on most games on low resolution (1280x1024 and lower) and AA, and there are some that can be played even at high res. Of course there are some that won't run. It will be the same for this card. But don't forget we are talking about a 150 card (price is the same in euros and dollars, forget about exchange) against 250 of the other one. There is a lot of people with 1440x900 (for example) and lower resolution panels out there. Or like me with high quality CRTs that don't mind to game on 1280x960 2xAA on some games if they can save some bucks. This card is for them, let's wait for benchies before making assumptions. No one cared about 320 GTS before it came out.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#16
Have a look at this article and decide how much memory is needed nowadays.

http://www.yougamers.com/articles/13801_video_ram_-_how_much_do_you_really_need/

Take into account that the graphs show how much memory is been used and not the minimum that you need in order to play. If the card had less memory than what is shown there it will start streaming and there is going to be some performance loss, but not all that much. Also note how resolution doesn't have an impact as pronounced as AA. If you can live up without it, then memory isn't an issue for you.
My conclusion after reading that is that 8800GT 256 could be an excelent performer. Of course it won't run as fast as the 512, but I'm sure it is going to perform above 8800GTS 320 levels, and again we are talking about 150 bucks, it's mainstream guys. You can't expect more from a card that cheap!! Sure as hell it will leave 8600GTS in the dust.

GDDR3 is expensive!! That is why lesser vram models are a lot cheaper and if you get performance levels close to the big one, then welcome. But yeah I'm going to buy the 512 one, because I love some AA and high res. But remember many out there don't.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
3,838 (0.99/day)
Likes
596
System Name Medusa
Processor i7 2600k @4.8ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling CPU : Noctua NH-L12 GPU: EK FC 1080 via Magicool 360 III PRO > Photon 170 (D5)
Memory 8gb Corsair XMS DDR3 @1600mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FE
Storage Vertex 4 256 /Crucial C300 256/ Hitachi 2TB 2x
Display(s) Tempest X270OC @ 120hz / LG W3000h
Case Fractal Define S [Antec Skeleton hanging in hall of fame]
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense with AKG K612 cans on Monacor SA-100
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FFXIV ARR Benchmark 1600p score 12,098[this means nothing any more!]
#17
In regards to the amount of VRAM needed, yes, unfortunatley it's still a factor.

There was an interview a while back where John Carmack said that something has to give in the way of development of games and 3d applications in regards to textures and required memory.

It's still a very relevant variable in the performance equation, but it seems Crysis, and games to follow (which, will still be memory intensive) will be more dependant on shader operations.

That would explain why the GT out does the GTS 640 quite noticeably in Crysis. The native shader clock frequency, and the extra SP pump out over fourty thousand (roughly) more operations per second. Even at a matched shader clock of 1500, the GTS is still behind in that department by twenty thousand (roughly) operations per second. Those four extra vertex pipes come in handy!

However, an equally over clocked 320 GTS IS affected by the lack of VRAM as well.

The extra shader power of the GT will be a bigger factor than the lesser VRAM for the 256 version, especially as the GT has over twice texture filling rate of a GTS (640 or 320). Though I'm confident it won't perform AS well as the 512 version.

I think the GT is a great card, to usher people in to the next generation of games, and packs a serious punch for the price. Yet the hype has pushed people to go pretty wild, even to the point of replacing a GTX for a sole GT.

Come another six months and we may see some games that chew into the GT pretty harshly, and maybe the GTX /Ultra as well, where 112 and 128 SP could be cutting it close.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,160 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,651
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#18
Have a look at this article and decide how much memory is needed nowadays.

http://www.yougamers.com/articles/13801_video_ram_-_how_much_do_you_really_need/

great link, right on - Thanks! Especially the 32bit vs 64bit scenario at the end. :rockout:... but with the exception of oblivion and bioshock (WTF is sega revo), all those games use roughly 300MB of memory even at minimum resolutions and AA, Crysis and Stalker(400mb vram @ 800x600) bein the worst...

I wouldnt buy this even at $150, bc i would like to be able to RUN stalker and crysis without data swapping(even at 800x600 :laugh: look at the graph!)... I'm not saying the performance will be horrid; I'm saying that its a crap product because it has such a miniscule target market... and it comes at a time when there are no 8800GT's with 512MB to be found... and at a time when all future games are almost guaranteed to need more than 256.

Maybe they'll plaster a sticker of jonathan wendel's face on it to make it sell. But as of right now I couldn't imagine many people buying this card.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#19
256mb cards are pretty much dead in the water these days with a decent card...

PS- Phanbuey....

Even a 8800GT in 256mb will let you play Crysis at 1280x1024 EASY medium/high settings with good fps..

Heck my 2600xt gddr4 lets me play Crysis at 1280x1024 medium/high settings at 35-40 fps...
 
Joined
May 15, 2007
Messages
752 (0.19/day)
Likes
108
System Name Daedalus | ZPM Hive Mini
Processor Core i7 4700MQ @ 3.4Ghz (QC) | Core i7 8700K @ ??
Motherboard Intel H87m | MSI Z370i Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AC MX-2 & 2 x Exhaust Fans | Kuhler 620
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Ven-X 1600MT/s | 16GB T-Group 8Pack 3200 C14
Video Card(s) GTX780m 4GB @ 950/6000 (-25 mV) | GTX1070 @ ??
Storage OCZ Arc 100 240GB Boot/ 1TB HD | Samsung 960 Evo Boot / 2TB HD
Display(s) 17.3" matte 1080p | Dell 1440p 144Hz G-Sync
Case Clevo P170SM | Corsair 250D
Audio Device(s) Onboard w/ 2.1 Onkyo Speakers | Onboard w/ Edifier 980T
Power Supply 230w Adaptor | Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675w
Mouse R.A.T 3
Keyboard Vengeance K70 w/ Cherry Red
Software Win 10 x64 | Win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Daedalus - 3DMark11 - 8912 (+135/+500)
#20
It should be interesting to see benchmarks of this card against the 512mb model and also the 320/640 GTS. (along with the ATI counterparts)

If the performance is right then the card could be a relative bargin in comparison to the 512mb model (in the UK its £150ish for the 256 model and £180ish for the 512mb model (including postage))
 

OnBoard

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2006
Messages
3,033 (0.73/day)
Likes
379
Location
Finland
Processor Core i5-750 @ 3.6GHz 1.136V 24/7
Motherboard Gigabyte P55A-UD3, SATA 6Gbit/s & USB3.0 baby!
Cooling Alpenföhn Brocken HeatpipeDirectTouch
Memory Geil Ultra Series 4GB 2133MHz DDR3 @ 1440MHz 7-7-7-24
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB OC (mostly stock speeds)
Storage OS: Samsung F3 500GB Games: Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) new! Samsung P2350 23" FullHD 2ms / Mirai DTL-632E500 32" LCD
Case new! Xigmatek Midgard/Utgard side window with red cathodes, 1x140mm & 3x120mm fans
Audio Device(s) new! ASUS Xonar DG & JVC HA-RX700 headphones
Power Supply Cougar CM 700W Modular
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores Logitech UltraX Premium & G5 laser v2 + Ulti-mat Breathe X2 for fragging
#21
Have a look at this article and decide how much memory is needed nowadays.

http://www.yougamers.com/articles/13801_video_ram_-_how_much_do_you_really_need/
And everyone should remember while reading that that those games are run every setting on HIGH. If you drop textures to medium it would propably already drop it to 256MB. It's a bit misleading as most cards don't have the power to run everything high, you have to lower some settings and in the same time you lower your memory usage.
8800GT is just so fast that you could run most settings high at least in older games and then you might run out.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#22
And everyone should remember while reading that that those games are run every setting on HIGH. If you drop textures to medium it would propably already drop it to 256MB. It's a bit misleading as most cards don't have the power to run everything high, you have to lower some settings and in the same time you lower your memory usage.
8800GT is just so fast that you could run most settings high at least in older games and then you might run out.
Even Rainbow 6 Vegas is too much for a 256mb card realistically...
So taking that into consideration...

Higher midrange cards should have 256bit bus and 512mb of ram if you plan on running any type of res above 1280x1024 and hope to get some performance.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,698 (1.89/day)
Likes
747
Processor i7-5820K
Motherboard Gigabyte X99-UD4
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Crucial DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX 1070
Storage 240GB HyperX 3k, 500GB Samsung 850EVO, 2x WD Black 640gb, WD Black 1TB, Seagate 10TB
Display(s) 2x BenQ 24" 1920x1080
Case BitFenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Saffire PRO 14 -> DBX DriveRack PA+ -> Mackie MR8 and MR10 / Corsair Vengeance 2100
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#23
And everyone should remember while reading that that those games are run every setting on HIGH. If you drop textures to medium it would propably already drop it to 256MB. It's a bit misleading as most cards don't have the power to run everything high, you have to lower some settings and in the same time you lower your memory usage.
8800GT is just so fast that you could run most settings high at least in older games and then you might run out.
Even Rainbow 6 Vegas is too much for a 256mb card realistically...
So taking that into consideration...

Higher midrange cards should have 256bit bus and 512mb of ram if you plan on running any type of res above 1280x1024 and hope to get some performance.

What that card is going to do it give the 256mb HD3850 a solid competitor.
Because the 8600GTS doesn't stand a chance.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,826 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,110
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#24
I really want to see the benchies... It seems that ram really does not matter THAT much.
Well you say that but in some DX10 games the difference between 256MB and 512MB will be playable frame rates where you have any resolution above 1280 x 1024 or even below if you want high detail. At 16xx x 10xx in any DX10 game where you want decent quality settings I dont think you will get playable framerates without the memory.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
312 (0.08/day)
Likes
9
System Name XPS 420
Processor q6600 2.4GHz
Motherboard Dell - Chipset:Intel® X38 (Bearlake) only one pci x16 slot...gay
Memory 3GB @ 667 MHz
Video Card(s) ATI HD 2400 PRO 128mb (will upgrade later)
Storage 320GB
Display(s) Samsung 22inches Model 220wm (1680x1050)
Case XPS 420
Power Supply Dell's Underrated 375w PSU
Software Vista Home Premium 32-bit
#25
heheh any mb will be fine with me cause i have a nvidia riva tnt2 32mb which is like 5-6 years old