• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

xfx hd7970 no display after flash bios

Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
7,544 (3.86/day)
Likes
9,753
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#2
have you tried flashing back to the original ROM? the one it left the factory with i mean?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#3
Contact xfx for the correct bios or go search the vga bios collection here, ensure you have the correct sku and model off of your cards stickers.
 

motiwyl

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
13 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#4
i just flash my card with xfx hd 7970 core edition bios it worked but i want to know why i cannot flash with xfx hd 7970 fx-797-tdfc bios even though my card is xfx hd 7970 fx-797-tdfc
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#5
i just flash my card with xfx hd 7970 core edition bios it worked but i want to know why i cannot flash with xfx hd 7970 fx-797-tdfc bios even though my card is xfx hd 7970 fx-797-tdfc
Whats the sku on there, bear in mind sometimes they have revision numbers too, which could mean a different brand of ram used in the product stack too.

I want to ask, does the card work correctly with the bios you flashed into it?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
649 (0.25/day)
Likes
271
#6
i just flash my card with xfx hd 7970 core edition bios it worked but i want to know why i cannot flash with xfx hd 7970 fx-797-tdfc bios even though my card is xfx hd 7970 fx-797-tdfc
They're not compatible? Anyways at this point, why even flash a diff bios? Why not mod the stock bios into whatever you want?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
They're not compatible? Anyways at this point, why even flash a diff bios? Why not mod the stock bios into whatever you want?
He didn't back it up bro
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
Ouch!

Also during that Tahiti era, there were a bazillion revisions and often with the same model numbers.
that's why I think the SKU number should help unless if there's a revision number there
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,429 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,121
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#10
I bet I now the real reason why. And, based on that presumption, I'll bet there are FX-797A-TDFC BIOSes that will work. Just not that one. Why? For the same reason the Core Edition BIOS works. It doesn't support Hynix AFR. And neither do the rest of the FX-797A-TDFC BIOSes on the list. It shouldn't matter, because it supposedly supports Hynix MFR too. But I bet it doesn't actually. I'd even go so far as to say apparently NOT. I saw that it said MFR and AFR and immediately a red flag went up. I was like really? Since when? I've probably seen a few dozen BIOSes that support one or the other. NEVER both. I'm calling BS on that.
 

motiwyl

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
13 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#11
I bet I now the real reason why. And, based on that presumption, I'll bet there are FX-797A-TDFC BIOSes that will work. Just not that one. Why? For the same reason the Core Edition BIOS works. It doesn't support Hynix AFR. And neither do the rest of the FX-797A-TDFC BIOSes on the list. It shouldn't matter, because it supposedly supports Hynix MFR too. But I bet it doesn't actually. I'd even go so far as to say apparently NOT. I saw that it said MFR and AFR and immediately a red flag went up. I was like really? Since when? I've probably seen a few dozen BIOSes that support one or the other. NEVER both. I'm calling BS on that.
you mean it shouldn't support both of MFR and AFR right? sorry if i misunderstanding
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
you mean it shouldn't support both of MFR and AFR right? sorry if i misunderstanding
It doesn't support both as what MrGenius said.

Take a picture of all of the cards white stickers without the serial number and post them here.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
1,429 (1.28/day)
Likes
1,121
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
#13
you mean it shouldn't support both of MFR and AFR right? sorry if i misunderstanding
That's what I meant. But...in the mean time I went and did some investigating to see if I might be right about that. Sooo...I went back and had another look at the "few dozen BIOSes" I was talking about. Turns out it wasn't MFR, it was BFR. My card has AFR. I remembered trying a BIOS that only supported BFR and having issues with it. And I really never have seen a BIOS that supports both BFR and AFR. But MFR and AFR seem to be nearly the same thing(not sure even what the difference could possibly be). The specs are identical so far as I can tell. Anyway, to try and prove the point I found a BIOS that only supports MFR and flashed my card with it. It worked. At least enough to boot into windows. So I couldn't prove it would cause "bricking" to use a MFR only BIOS with AFR. And it's likely I'm wrong about the MFR and AFR thing being the cause of the problem. If I am then I don't know what else it could be. Other than a general incompatibility....of some kind. Hell...I have no idea if your card even has Hynix MFR or AFR. For all I know it has Elpida BBBG. Should have established that first, before jumping in neck deep. :oops:

Anyhow, my point, at this point, is...if you really want to be sure your card can or can't run right with a FX-797A-TDFC BIOS you should try them all. But they might not be any better or worse than the Core Edition BIOS that you're running now. The other thing is the TPU database might not have your original BIOS, or even a BIOS that was meant to be used specifically with your card. Contacting XFX support would be the best way of getting your original BIOS, or a BIOS that was meant to be used specifically with your card. To call attention to this thread so that an XFX Support team member can respond to your request here...you can simply mention @ XFXSupport(type it just as I did there except without the space between @ and XFX). Then wait patiently for a reply in this thread. They usually respond fairly quickly
 
Last edited:

motiwyl

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
13 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#15
nvm about bios,i got new problem my gpu clock not going up or down when i play the game and idle it stuck at 501mhz since i flash bios
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#16
Are there any other stickers on it?

@XFXSupport, this guy needs the correct bios for the card he borked
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,421 (1.05/day)
Likes
1,251
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#17
nvm about bios,i got new problem my gpu clock not going up or down when i play the game and idle it stuck at 501mhz since i flash bios
Yup... Different timings from wrong BIOS..
Send XFX an email for the correct bios and while you are waiting try some of the other BIOS's.

XFX support has never let me down.... Even when they should have... Lol
 
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
35 (0.12/day)
Likes
8
Processor Intel Q9650 @4.275GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E
Cooling Cryorig R1
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR2 950MHz
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE NITRO Radeon RX 460 4G OC
Storage Segate barcuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung s24c750
Case Corsair carbide spec 03
Power Supply EVGA G3 650W
#19
Check if your card got a Diehard BIOS, it's basically a switch make you able to activate the lock BIOS which can't be flashed and works as a backup. My Sapphire HD 7850 got this so maybe yours as well
 

motiwyl

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
13 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#20
Check if your card got a Diehard BIOS, it's basically a switch make you able to activate the lock BIOS which can't be flashed and works as a backup. My Sapphire HD 7850 got this so maybe yours as well
it doesn't have bios switch
 

motiwyl

New Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
13 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#21
nvm all of my old problems cause i got new problem again when i play 3d games gpu clock go up at 925mhz and then go down to 501mhz and stuck at this clock until i restart my pc
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,190 (5.19/day)
Likes
5,489
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#22
nvm all of my old problems cause i got new problem again when i play 3d games gpu clock go up at 925mhz and then go down to 501mhz and stuck at this clock until i restart my pc
Format your os, start fresh or take the system to a shop, we can't do a whole lot more for you at this point.

/thread
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
139 (0.11/day)
Likes
285
#23
N3 serial #... this is an early one, soon after we stopped using the reference pcb/single dvi board. Finding the bios wont be easy. Try making a ticket at xfxsupport.com and we can query the factory to see if they will release it.