• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX RX 5700 XT and old MB - HELP!

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
Please a little help here.

I bought the xfx rx 5700 xt thicc II yesterday, and it's not working past BIOS. I can mess with bios and see post it display, but after that the screen goes black and everything stops loading.

I have a very old Crosshair IV formula MB (fx 8350 cpu) working with an R9 290 directu II just fine, and PSU is strong enough (750w ocz fatality).

Is this a compatibility issue with the mb and the card? I've read some stuff regarding UEFI support (which apparently it does not have) and even something about the pcie slot itself but I can't jump to any conclusion yet. Could it also be that the card itself is faulty? I have no way to test it on another computer at least until tomorrow.

UPDATE: Took the card to an info shop close by today and the maintenance guy who tested it said the card is working normally, so not a faulty card.
 
Last edited:

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,589 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Yeah it’s very likely a UEFI issue and sadly cards aren’t doing compatibility BIOS anymore.
 

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
Yeah it’s very likely a UEFI issue and sadly cards aren’t doing compatibility BIOS anymore.
Considering that truly is the case, if I were to get a MB that still runs the AM3+ fx 8350 I have, which would be the best choice? I don't think I have the budget to replace the whole thing right now.

It seems the next crosshair model (V) and the Sabertooth 990FX both support UEFI... would those be a good (and cheap) choice?
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,589 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Decent choices considering your limited options.
 

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
True enough.

Another thing that bugs me is that even though this gpu says "pcie x16 required" (so any x16 would be enough), all I can find on the internet regarding backwards compatibility between pcie generations are 4.0 - 3.0. Can't seem to find anyone using this card on a 2.0 x16 slot. It's supposed to be fully backwards compatible but I can't be sure.
 

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,589 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
You will never notice and yes it’s fully compatible
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
1,244 (0.79/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Ol' Beastie | 雨上がりの空
Processor R7 3700X | i7-4790K
Motherboard B450I Aorus (F42c) | H97N-WIFI (F7)
Cooling NH-U9S | NH-C14S
Memory 16GB Trident Z 3200C16 | 16GB Fury 1866C10
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 2060S FE | EVGA GTX 1070 SC ACX3.0
Storage SX8200 - MX300 - Blue3D | 850 EVO
Display(s) BenQ GW2765HT | Samsung F2380
Case M1v5 + Pelican 1514 | TJ08T-E
Audio Device(s) DT 770 80Ω - Blue Snowball iCE
Power Supply SF600G + Cablemod | ST45SF-G v2
Mouse Logitech G602 | Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Noxary X60 R - FMJ R4 - Klippe R1
Software Windows 10 1903
True enough.

Another thing that bugs me is that even though this gpu says "pcie x16 required" (so any x16 would be enough), all I can find on the internet regarding backwards compatibility between pcie generations are 4.0 - 3.0. Can't seem to find anyone using this card on a 2.0 x16 slot. It's supposed to be fully backwards compatible but I can't be sure.
2.0 x16 = 3.0 x8 = 4.0 x4
3.0 x16 = 4.0 x8

And so on. It's more a bandwidth thing, PCIe is designed to be fully backwards compatible.

Our very own W1zz did a scaling review on 5700 and the result is that you're still getting 98-99% performance out of 2.0 x16.

Buttttttt that test is done with a 3900X. The 8350 will undoubtedly bottleneck the 5700 to some extent. But being on a limited budget, there's not much you can do. Step up to 990FX and just enjoy the performance for now.
 

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
2.0 x16 = 3.0 x8 = 4.0 x4
3.0 x16 = 4.0 x8

And so on. It's more a bandwidth thing, PCIe is designed to be fully backwards compatible.

Our very own W1zz did a scaling review on 5700 and the result is that you're still getting 98-99% performance out of 2.0 x16.

Buttttttt that test is done with a 3900X. The 8350 will undoubtedly bottleneck the 5700 to some extent. But being on a limited budget, there's not much you can do. Step up to 990FX and just enjoy the performance for now.
I've seen the 5700 xt in use with the FX 8350 and it actually holds very well when it comes to 60fps, it does bottleneck when compared to some new Ryzen cpus but the performance loss is not that huge if 60fps is what you're aiming for (even at 4k). But yep, it does sound like grabbing the 990fx will be the way to go for now.

Thanks!
 

skizzo

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
True enough.

Another thing that bugs me is that even though this gpu says "pcie x16 required" (so any x16 would be enough), all I can find on the internet regarding backwards compatibility between pcie generations are 4.0 - 3.0. Can't seem to find anyone using this card on a 2.0 x16 slot. It's supposed to be fully backwards compatible but I can't be sure.
I am using a Sapphire RX 5700 XT reference model no problems on a 2009 Mac Pro which is installed in a PCIe 2.0 x 16 slot

I installed Windows 10 in CSM mode (NOT EFI mode...and yes I mean EFI, not UEFI) and it works fine

I know my setup is a little more exotic due to it is older Apple hardware but that alone should be proof it works without UEFI, which my old system does not have. Windows installs are either EFI based or CSM based on these machines
 

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
I am using a Sapphire RX 5700 XT reference model no problems on a 2009 Mac Pro which is installed in a PCIe 2.0 x 16 slot

I installed Windows 10 in CSM mode (NOT EFI mode...and yes I mean EFI, not UEFI) and it works fine

I know my setup is a little more exotic due to it is older Apple hardware but that alone should be proof it works without UEFI, which my old system does not have. Windows installs are either EFI based or CSM based on these machines
Hmmmmmm, that's interesting... you think maybe a fresh windows 10 install might deal with it? Also, what do I change when installing windows regarding these methods?

so I have used this system since I bought it so I am not as familiar with BIOS settings (haven't really used a PC that deep in a decade). However, I would believe somewhere in BIOS settings there is an option to use CSM mode (Compatibility Support Mode). I would referrence to your motherboard's manual if you need help finding it in all the options
Not sure if this even solves your particular problem, our systems are very different. But I thought it was worth mentioning I am able to use this GPU on a system that lacks UEFI, so suggests there is hope it could work on your system too

I would uninstall all Radeon software and drivers too and do a clean install of the latest drivers and software. I always did "upgrades" from driver to driver and it seemed to be the root cause of stability and compatibility issues I had with some games. I uninstalled everything Radeon related, and reinstalled the same exact version (which would have been 19.8.1 at the time I think) and games that weren't loading were running fine and games that were crashing and tearing also ran fine....all because of a clean install of the same software and drivers

No change required for installing Windows 10 as far as I know either
The setting I'm referring too, its likely under BIOS settings and something along the lines of "CSM Support" you would want that "ENABLED"

First time I tried booting after I replaced the card with the new one I already had done the driper wipe with amd's cleanup utility, so driver wasn't an issue in any form. As for the BIOS settings, nope... nothing related to neither CSM or UEFI can be found :(
 

skizzo

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
Hmmmmmm, that's interesting... you think maybe a fresh windows 10 install might deal with it? Also, what do I change when installing windows regarding these methods?
so I have used this system since I bought it so I am not as familiar with BIOS settings (haven't really used a PC that deep in a decade). However, I would believe somewhere in BIOS settings there is an option to use CSM mode (Compatibility Support Mode). I would referrence to your motherboard's manual if you need help finding it in all the options
Not sure if this even solves your particular problem, our systems are very different. But I thought it was worth mentioning I am able to use this GPU on a system that lacks UEFI, so suggests there is hope it could work on your system too

I would uninstall all Radeon software and drivers too and do a clean install of the latest drivers and software. I always did "upgrades" from driver to driver and it seemed to be the root cause of stability and compatibility issues I had with some games. I uninstalled everything Radeon related, and reinstalled the same exact version (which would have been 19.8.1 at the time I think) and games that weren't loading were running fine and games that were crashing and tearing also ran fine....all because of a clean install of the same software and drivers

No change required for installing Windows 10 as far as I know either
The setting I'm referring to, its likely under BIOS settings and something along the lines of "CSM Support" you would want that "ENABLED"
 
Last edited:

INSTG8R

My Custom Title
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,589 (1.03/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Excellent point about CSM IF it’s an option he may get around it I’m an AMD Vanguard member so I have stuff like that already disabled to test beta drivers so I don’t think about it and I had a modded Fury so I needed it disabled for that as well. Great call!
 

skizzo

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
6 (0.23/day)
so my 2009 Apple Mac Pro will default a Windows install to CSM mode if you use a DVD to initiate the install
If I used a USB drive to initiate the install it defaults to EFI mode.

I believe there IS a difference here, being the partition scheme will be different. So perhaps I was wrong to say no re-installation or different installation of Windows is required.

I have my boot drive for Windows 10 formatted as a MBR partition scheme and NTFS file format

In comparison my macOS boot drive is GPT partition scheme and either HFS+ or APFS file format depending on the version of macOS


Kinda just thinking out loud here. So maybe if your setup can use a DVD drive I would make a Windows 10 installer using their create installation media tool and make sure you select options to put it on a DVD. You may even need a dual layer DVD to fit the file! I'm sure I used a dual layer DVD, but not 100% sure if it was required
I deff did some hoop jumping to get it to work because I couldn't just burn an ISO file to the DVD, it won't boot that way for me. It may be due to me being on Apple hardware, as in why the processes is so convoluted. I had to convert the ISO file to a CDR file and burn that to the DVD to make it bootable

I believe my system is older than the original posters, my system can only run RAM at 1333Mhz for example and looks like theirs defaults to 1600Mhz. So I assume it is newer. So I keep thinking there MUST be some way to make it work, but it could be a rather convoluted process to get there unfortunately, if its even possible. I mentioned all this thinking if they try installing Windows 10 via DVD perhaps it will by default create the desired CSM styled partition scheme. Using MBR I believe is critical/crucial here too! But now knowing there is no CSM Support option in their BIOS that doesn't give me as much hope :(
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
2,201 (0.41/day)
Location
United Kingdom
Please a little help here.

I bought the xfx rx 5700 xt thicc II yesterday, and it's not working past BIOS. I can mess with bios and see post it display, but after that the screen goes black and everything stops loading.

I have a very old Crosshair IV formula MB (fx 8350 cpu) working with an R9 290 directu II just fine, and PSU is strong enough (750w ocz fatality).

Is this a compatibility issue with the mb and the card? I've read some stuff regarding UEFI support (which apparently it does not have) and even something about the pcie slot itself but I can't jump to any conclusion yet. Could it also be that the card itself is faulty? I have no way to test it on another computer at least until tomorrow.
Your current setup is gonna bottleneck the hell out of an 5700 XT. You would do much better in returning that card, then using the cash to buy a second-hand Skylake or Zen 1 system and adding an RX570 or RX580 (potentially also second-hand).
 

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
Your current setup is gonna bottleneck the hell out of an 5700 XT. You would do much better in returning that card, then using the cash to buy a second-hand Skylake or Zen 1 system and adding an RX570 or RX580 (potentially also second-hand).
I know it's gonna bneck a bit, but I'm NOT going through the process of changing everything right now. Tomorrow I'll take the card to a maintenance shop here in town at least to check if it's faulty, if not I'm going with either getting the sabertooth 990fx and playing around with it now OR leaving the card in the box for 2/3 months maybe (or as long as it takes for some money I'm waiting for to come in) and changing the whole thing to top market stuff or as close as I can get to that.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,418 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I know it's gonna bneck a bit, but I'm NOT going through the process of changing everything right now. Tomorrow I'll take the card to a maintenance shop here in town at least to check if it's faulty, if not I'm going with either getting the sabertooth 990fx and playing around with it now OR leaving the card in the box for 2/3 months maybe (or as long as it takes for some money I'm waiting for to come in) and changing the whole thing to top market stuff or as close as I can get to that.

Make sure your mobo bios is up to this version
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,418 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Pull the board out of the case, make sure all power cords are hooked up.

Sabertooth R2.0 supports UEFI and CSM

Might try @XFXSupport and @MrGenius
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,418 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
1,179 (0.55/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Not sure what it could be.
Maybe Shrimpy has a clue because I don't. :(
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,142 (3.59/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Pull the board out of the case, make sure all power cords are hooked up.

Sabertooth R2.0 supports UEFI and CSM

Might try @XFXSupport and @MrGenius

Maybe he should registor the card and see if XFX can solve it before he needs to send it back.


Not heard of the @XFXSupport person on here for a while now sadly, or maybe i just missed his\her post. Although a XFX person was on last Wednesday so :).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,418 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Oh, here's one thing I wasn't paying attention to:

Does S990FX R2.0 supports it but R1 does not? Or both do? Found an used R1 version quite cheap here.
R1 has the Phenom 2/Athlon Core unlockinf feature, it does have a uefi bios, just make sure to update to second to latest bios first and verify if the system boots then get latest if it failed, thats if the latest bios aint on the mobo


 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
289 (1.13/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 2700X @ x4 4400Mhz
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
As far as Im aware any motherboard with a PCIE slot should post and run the card. 4x 8x 16x shouldnt matter. UEFI or not.

That said, if that psu has more than 1 12v rail, may have to distribute the load if possible.

Lets test memory. If I recall Crosshair IV formula had NB heatsink mounting issues. My brother RMAed it after finding out.

Sry Im mobile. @Bones at 398 bus clocks and raising. 3700+ is a decent chip or Im getting a little luck!!
 

darkgodbm

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2019
Messages
23 (0.88/day)
Update: Had a maintenance guy test the card on another system at a store, the card itself is working so not a faulty one.
 
Top