1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX RX470 runs 100% GPU Load in Idle

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by CodeHex, Apr 20, 2017.

  1. CodeHex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello everyone, Im new in this forum, and i join you to try to resolve an isseue occours on my XFX RX 470 Triple X SIngle fan. http://xfxforce.com/en-us/products/amd-radeon-rx-400-series/rx-470-rs-4gb-sf-triplex-rx-470p4sfd5

    My sys specs are:

    MB MSI 970 Gaming, updated with last bios.
    CPU AMD FX-6300 @ default stock
    2x4 Ram module 2 GB DDR3 1600 Crucial Ballistix Sport Hi profile (8 GB Total)
    PSU Corsair TX 650 v2
    2 HDD Hitachi 500 GB 7200 rpm
    XFX RX 470 Triple X single Fan ( RX-470P4SFD5 )

    Sysop Windows 10 Anniversary edition 64 bit

    The problem:

    After 5/6 min of power on, the VGA starts to auto power up clocks, from step 1 (300 mhz) to step 7 (1226 Mhz) in Idle. The power absorbed by GPU is about 60/70 W and the GPU reaches 100% load (with no apps runs).

    I have investigate more on web and some users report a 100% GPU load when infected by a Virus type Bitcoin, so i have downoaded all stuff for hunt this "Virus" on my pc but i have found no infestations.

    But when i have launched a software called JRT (from Malawarebytes) the problem is solved (temporarily). The GPU come back @0%, speeds clock 300 mhz and Wattage go down at 10/12 Watts in Idle.

    In fact this software kill all apps and services not necessary and this include the AMD control panel that runs in background.


    At this point I need your help to further investigate the process that causes this 100% GPU load.
    But i suspect strongly the AMD control panel... In this case maybe not a virus but a bug of Crimson drivers.

    Before you ask, yes i have tried all versions of Crimson, since 16.2 WHQL from Windows Update ,to the new 17.4.3 WHQL released some days ago and still running in my PC, without results.

    And before you ask, Yes i have installed every version of Crimson after a clean up with DDU run in safe mode.

    And before you ask, Yes i have try changed pci slot, i have try various configurations of PCI 6 pins power cable and in every configuration i have blue Led on and no issues with my PSU.

    Maybe will try a fresh clean reinstall of drivers only, without Crimson pakage? Its possible? is yes, what is the procedure to make this installation?

    Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me

    PS My apologizes if have write some grammatic error, but english is not my primary Language, im Italian.
     
  2. Totally

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    389 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Right where I want to be
    Offload and backup all your important stuff, and nuke your install from orbit. Only advice I could give, only way to be sure.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  3. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,500
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    This is extremely unlikely but it's not windows running a performance test on it is it? If it was that it would only run fast for a short while.

    If it is running full power on idle with high GPU usage, it really does sound like a virus.
     
  4. P4-630

    P4-630 The Way It's Meant to be Played

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    8,282 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,890
    Location:
    Vinewood
    Sounds like a bitcoin miner yeah..
     
    eidairaman1, Nuckles56 and Aenra say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. PerfectWave

    PerfectWave

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    63 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    disconnect your pc from internet and see if the gpu still at full load.
     
  6. CodeHex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ty all for your answers.

    Yes, I think was a Virus, last night i have backup all my data to an external usb disk. So i have decided to format the system disk.
    I have reinstalled all stuff (yes i did not sleep tonight) from zero and this morning my system works fine. The VGA come back at works as it should be. No more 100% GPU load
    or other issues. So maybe was a virus, but is there really a virus that can do this? The CPU still remain @ 0-1% load when 100% GPU occours, for this I had discarded the hypothesis of a virus.
    And all the scans I have run did not find anything. I have used all stuff offline from Malawarebytes, Kaspersky, Eset...
    I have downloaded MS Process Explorer too, to try to understand what process could use GPU, but i have found no tasks that using GPU while the GPU was 100% load. Anyway the problem is gone now, but if was really a Virus,
    what tools can i use now for protect my pc?
     
  7. PerfectWave

    PerfectWave

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    63 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    best antivirus is you! btw for surfing i suggest to use a virtual machine. if u get a virus just delete it!
     
  8. Caring1

    Caring1

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    5,293 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,265
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    I don't think it was a virus, as like you said, it started ramping up GPU usage 5 or 6 minutes after starting.
    It may have been a glitch in the drivers or the card itself.
    If it was mining bot software, it would start mining as soon as the system booted.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. CodeHex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This was also my first impression too. Shutdown Crimson background process, the problem disappeared. I have used for a while playng Neverwinter online with only the AMD
    drivers running, without background interface Crimson, and i have found no problems. Restarting PC, and reloading from boot the Crimson's, the problem was shown after few min of idle.
    If this problems happens again, i will go to investigate more to my internet connection, but i hope dont come back again.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)