1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX RX480 8GB Black Edition - UEFI CSM Bug

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by digitalstowaway, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I'm having an issue with the XFX RX480 8GB Black Edition and CSM (Compatibility Support Module) being disabled

    Having CSM Disabled (UEFI) results in visual artifacting on the POST screen

    [​IMG]

    Re-Enabling CSM fixes this issue, so I can only assume it's a bug, seemingly harmless, but incredibly annoying

    I've spoken with another user who also has an XFX RX480 4GB that exhibited the same artifact, so it's looking vendor specific as he told me it was resolved by him flashing to another vendor vBIOS to enable the 8GB, and in the process fixed this issue which leads me to believe it's specific to XFX Cards at the moment.

    All Display Ports, including HDMI using a VESA Certified DP Cable all exhibit this behaviour

    System Specs are as follows:

    Asus Z97 Pro (Latest 2702 BIOS)
    Dell U2715H (A03) Revision
    XFX RX480 8GB Black Edition - Connected via Display Port 1.2 Accell VESA Certified Cable


    If anyone can shed some light on this topic - mainly XFX's Support that would be productive
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,141 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    US
    Well there is a @XFXSupport guy around, might have to wait a little as it is weekend, might want to drop him a private message as it be easier for him to see than checking a load alert posts he proberly had over X amount of time..

    All so get your self a account on www.XFXsupport.com and open a ticket there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,141 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    US
    Maybe the new driver will work better.

    https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/radeon-software-crimson-16-7-2.224014/
     
    theoneandonlymrk and Ungari say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  5. XFXSupport

    XFXSupport

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    There is a fix for this, its a very limited run error so we shouldn't see much more of it. please see this messages attachment for the .rom file
     

    Attached Files:

    Ungari, gupsterg, manofthem and 6 others say thanks.
  6. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks for the update, however is this a specific fixed vBIOS for the XFX RX480 Black Edition as the .rom is named xfx4GB that would suggest it's for another SKU?
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  7. XFXSupport

    XFXSupport

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Yes, that's the correct one, keep a copy of the original bios as good practice. Im double checking, but this sounds like the niche fix we anticipated.
     
  8. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    As I suspected it's the wrong vBIOS you've given me there - GPU-Z showing reference clocks, and only 4GB of VRAM

    [​IMG]

    Can I have a fixed vBIOS for MY XFX RX480 8GB BLACK EDITION
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016
  9. XFXSupport

    XFXSupport

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    scrolling up, not sure why I was convinced you had a 4GB card. You mentioned another user, figured you had one as well. this is where support tickets are really valuable, on a different model, that could have been irreversible.

    There are no know issues with post artifacts and perfect function windows on this model yet, im escalating it for further review.
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,141 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    US
    Maybe try resetting(removing the battery)leave it for 5 minutes) the motherboard which can solve a issue with a black screen on startup.

    All so might want to check for a newer motherboard bios too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It's entirely unrelated to the motherboard, drivers or anything other than the vBIOS for this card that's admittedly at fault.

    I tried to flash back to my original backup vBIOS with GPU-Z which resulted in the card bricking, but luckily I managed to resolve it by flashing to a Sapphire 8GB vBIOS, although this obviously isn't ideal as it's reference clocks (does fix the POST artifact bug though)

    In light of this obvious issue, how long roughly before a fixed working vBIOS will be issued for the Black Edition?
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,282 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    AsRock and Ungari say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. XFXSupport

    XFXSupport

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    nice job on the work around. im requesting the bios as we speak. admittedly our team is busy designing new bios files and since this is the first and only complaint we've seen, it wont be a high priority. I know this is inconvenient and I hate to admit it, but id rather tell you the truth so you know whats going on. I will tell them to speed it up as a personal favor to me.
     
    Octopuss, dorsetknob, gupsterg and 4 others say thanks.
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,282 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    the more its tested the better, lets not rush it lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks for the honesty - appreciated, and for the record to show i'm genuinely not mental here's a link to the other user I mentioned who had the same issue albeit on the XFX 480 4GB Reference which you guys have fixed from the previous vBIOS you attached (scroll down can't miss it):

    https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18737717&page=6

    In the meantime could you attach the current Black Edition vBIOS as my backup doesn't seem to work! Cheers
     
  16. XFXSupport

    XFXSupport

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    well, that was far faster than I expected.

    Give this a try.
     

    Attached Files:

    Aquinus, Ungari, Caring1 and 8 others say thanks.
  17. digitalstowaway

    digitalstowaway

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Awesome, I can happily confirm this fixes the POST Artifacting, along with the correct clocks :)

    Thanks again for the quick turn around, appreciated!
    Now to get my frag on in Doom. Vulkan Style. :rockout:
     
    Ungari, Caring1, Law-II and 2 others say thanks.
  18. strayed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Comparing with the original Black Edition bios, I noticed that besides the fix for the problem with the CSM, the TDC (A) was reduced from 110 to 107. Is this correct?

    Thanks.
     
  19. XFXSupport

    XFXSupport

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    136 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Beyond me, i just relay the message.
     
  20. Carl Anderson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm having an issue with my 8GB card as well. It randomly stops output to the monitor. I have tried different monitors, cables, I swapped out mobos, cpus, memory and still has the same problem. Any help would be appreciated. It's model number is RX-480P8L if that helps.
     
  21. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,175 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,037
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,282 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    @Carl Anderson, what's the power supply you have? You did not specify what Make and Model and Rating it is.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
    dorsetknob says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Carl Anderson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    6 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oops sorry about that. I'm used to Futuremark forums having my sig saved. ><

    My rig is as follows:

    i5 6600K
    Asrock H170M ITX/ac
    16GB Geil DDR4 (2x8GB)
    XFX 480 8GB
    Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD
    Corsair H100i v2
    Thermal Take TR2 600W (now that I'm thinking about it, this +12 is sort of weak) (http://www.microcenter.com/product/457450/TR2_Series_600_Watt_ATX_Power_Supply)

    I also want to note that I just reinstalled windows to see if that would help and now the card randomly artifacts in BF1. The artifacting reminds me of back in the day when memory clocks were too high and everything gets stretched out real bad. It's hard to explain. Totally stock everything too... It's weird.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2016
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18,282 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,388
    Grab a Seasonic or XFX power supply
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,141 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    US
    I be tempted to buy a XFX PSU as they have always been good to me, how ever i do like my Seasonic, i would have to check the reviews on it and who actually made it's contents, same with most other brands more so Corsair.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)