1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

xigmatek and TIM

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by stevednmc, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    Hi all!

    Im looking at getting a xigmatek dark knight and was wondering if i could get some opinions as to the best way of applying the thermal compound to it. Also i have AS5 and ceramique, and wanted to know opinions on which one i should use. looks to me the properties are about the same, just one is conductive and the other is not. (for those that have read my previous post about mixing them, no, i have no such plans, merely curious for the sake of it).
    Any opinions, thoughts or life truths will be welcomed and appreciated!
     
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    On my Xiggy I always put on the TIM like the picture below.

    [​IMG]

    Take note how he filled the grooves in with some TIM and then laid some on the dividers...it works well. :)


    On a note of what compound to use, I would say either as they are pretty much the same...saying that, I would either go with some MX-2 or OCZ FreeZe as both are better than the two you have. :)
     
  3. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    interesting. i knew i saw that pick somewhere, i just couldnt find it on here. Thanks aCid. What do you think of that diamond stuff? icc7 i think it is. Does anyone on here use that?
     
  4. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,108 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
  5. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    So, as I said....OCZ FreeZe is good stuff. :)
     
  6. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    See this is why i ask you guys! Excellent review! thank you.
     
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    When I had my S1283 I put the TIM on like aCid888 said, I used OCZ FreeZe because it's awesome ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,740 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    I just done the blob techniqe on my s1283.

    Temps are great even with my lazy ways.
     
  9. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    I just wasnt sure, because my arctic cooler ac7 has a flat HS, never delt with the exposed pipes like the xiggy. i think im gonna pick one up, im stuck at 3.51 ghz because of heat, hitting up against 70c right now, wanna get that down a bit, besides, getting the case from Fitseries3, so mobo will be out, time for a new and better cooler!
     
  10. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
  11. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    Bundy you rule as always!
     
  12. stevednmc

    stevednmc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    913 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    nebraska
    AARRRG...no one has the ocz freeze in stock! whats the deal?
     
  13. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,443 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    702
    I've tried the spread it thin over the entire cooler on my Vendetta 2 and filled the gaps. It gave terrible results for my i7. I was over 80C with a 1800 rpm Xiggy with just a mere 1.225v on the core.

    Before, when I applied AS5 in between the lines and filled gaps, I could get up to about 1.25v before I got in to the low 80s C.

    Third time around I decided to go back as before but this time without filling the gaps as when I had pulled the V2 afterwards, I found I had too much TIM and it was out the sides. I also made the lines just as long as the IHS, but also made them flat and as wide as the space between the pipes. When I say flat, I'm not talking thin. I tried to make an oval bead rather than a round one.

    I've had much better results with this last method on a non lapped i7/V2 combo. With my 1800 rpm Xiggy, I could get the same temps with one notch higher vcore, 1.25625. With the Cooler Master R4 I have now, I can push 1.275v and keep them in the mid 80s C. Ambient stayed the same for all tests (23C) and would raise 1C after letting LinX run for hours.

    I would like to lap the V2. It didn't effect my Q9400 case the cpu wasn't as large, but with the large i7 chip, the high corners are giving me an ok contact whereas before it was actually pretty good. My Q9400 could go over 1.3v on the core with the stock 1200 rpm cooler and not get over 55C. The stock cooler was done by 1.225v on the i7 with my first attempt.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)