1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XP: no welcome screen

Discussion in 'General Software' started by a111087, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,803 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    US
    This isn't what you might think, but the welcome screen has gone completely! after windows boots up, the screen goes black and all you can see is a mouse pointer which you can move.
    It happened when I scanned disk with spyware doctor and it found a bunch of ads and one trojan (somewhere in windows folder ~system\lsaa.exe i think). So, it said it will be deleted after restart, so i just turned pc off.
    Then i come back and guess what! no welcome screen! :confused:
    I have made a full back up of that drive a couple days ago, but restoring windows folder does not help.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,948 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,465
    Location:
    US
    Well lsaa.exe is a windows file to start with and is required. Which is for Security Accounts Manager initialization if i remember right which sounds like your issue. I don't know were you can get a copy of the file from maybe another computer you have with the same OS ?.

    EDIT all though i do believe that the file should of been in the System32 folder and not System. Hopfully you can get a copy of the file or get another HDD in there so you can get what files you need and reinstall.,,
     
    a111087 says thanks.
  3. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,803 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    US
    yes, may be it was system32, i didn't try to remember it because never really had such accidents
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,948 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,465
    Location:
    US
    You could try plugging the others HDD in the comp you are using now and copy the file over to the one with the missing file.. If that fails you can at least back your needed files up if there not protected.
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,454 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,801
    lsass.exe
     
    a111087 says thanks.
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,948 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,465
    Location:
    US
    Indeed, that is the correct spelling of it.
     
  7. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,803 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    US
    Thank you guys, I tried restoring back up, but for some reason, it wouldn't restore the missing file, so I took it from another windows machine and it works perfectly, for now at least lol
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    695
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    yep..
    Beware of spyware doctors..
    their almost always spyware for one.
    or their overpriced and useless for 2..

    lol glad ya got it fixed. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)