• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

xp pro full. retail,oem ect ?

hydrive40

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2005
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
NorthAmerica Georgia
#1
Hey guys I'm new at this so forgive my jargan. I wont to buy the best xp pro full version I guess that I can install as many times as I need to. for I have done a fresh install as hight as 4 times in one year because of viruses,Ect...But I don't wont to have to repay everytime I need to reinstall. I read somewhere to apply for a professional licence or corperate.That you can use it as many times as you like? Plus I think I have pirated copy of pro for now I can't install any active X even with excepting all cookies plus active x prompt. I don't won't to pay alot for xp pro but I do won't to be legal. can anybody help me out. they sell some with a heat sink at walmart at a good price but are they what I 'm looking for. Thanx for your time, Hydrive40

Pent4 1.3 mhz
40 gig Hd 380 rambus 850
400 fsb
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#2
i have an oem copy of xp pro sp2 that i got with my computer and i have loaded it many times (due to viruses and corrupted files) without problems or paying extra, just have to reactivate, so as long as you have a legitamate copy of the software you can use it as much as you like.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
I've never heard of having to pay everytime you install windows :eek: . How odd?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.09/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#4
Thermopylae_480 said:
I've never heard of having to pay everytime you install windows :eek: . How odd?
Care to explain how you end up paying each install?
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
While wer're on the subject of XP... I have both XP pro and home edition, I havn't noticed much of a difference between the two except for a few extra features. Is pro really worth the extra $50?

here is a newegg link for XP pro. Cheapest I've seen
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.09/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#6
Pro is only worth the money if your in a network enviroment.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
609 (0.13/day)
Likes
76
Location
London, UK
System Name this_is_so_leet_it_needs_no_name
Processor Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8 P67-M Pro
Cooling MUX-120 with Dual Fan
Memory Samsung Memory DDR3 2133 Overclocked (non LP)
Video Card(s) XFX ATI/AMD 5870 1gb @ [tbc]
Storage 2*2tb Samsung Raid 0 + 64gb Kingston SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HDBL LED monitor
Case Lian Li PC-60 old skool alu case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD PCI-Express (great)
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Win 7 64bit
#7
Pro is worth it for dual CPU (or hyperthreading!!!) support, and maybe for the network stuff yes. Home OEM is the cheapest and one of the best value XP os's to buy. Just buy it with some hardware (harddrive) and you are set.

You won't need to pay each time you use it, worst case you have to call MS for a code, which shouldn't cost anything.

There's a way to 'modify' Windows XP home to almost pro before installing, however it's certainly against EULA, so I can't endorse it...
 

Polaris573

Senior Moderator
Joined
Feb 26, 2005
Messages
4,268 (0.91/day)
Likes
672
Location
Little Rock, USA
Processor LGA 775 Intel Q9550 2.8 Ghz
Motherboard MSI P7N Diamond - 780i Chipset
Cooling Arctic Freezer
Memory 6GB G.Skill DDRII 800 4-4-3-5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7850 2 GB PCI-E
Storage 1 TB Seagate 32MB Cache, 250 GB Seagate 16MB Cache
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
Home supports hyperthreading also. Or does it work better with pro?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#9
i have prof and i like it very much you have plenty of more things you can especially for tweaking and network but you dont need it
 

Snipe0876

New Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
51 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
N.ireland
#10
do u have the disc of XP pro and a ligitement cd key if u do u dont need to pay unless u get someone to do it for u if u dont u can buy 1 and then same applies u wont need to buy again that code is urs it doesnt even matter if its a copied disc of xp pro as long as u r cd key is correct and ligitement having a back up isnt a crime
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
#11
Install your computer with all your stuff so it works good, then make an image of the drive. That way you save yourself a lot of trouble.

Also if you keep getting virusses update your computer, get a decent viruskiller and some firewall. Besides that don't open every file you get, in fact don't open any file you didn't ask for.

Also whats with the heatsink? :S
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.09/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#12
I mirrored my old 80 gig onto this 160 gig while in windows :eek:
Very good way to prevent virus's, back up!
 

G.T

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
573 (0.13/day)
Likes
0
Location
The other side of Hell
Processor 3.20E GHz P4 Prescott
Motherboard Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
Cooling Zalman (CNPS7000B-CU) Super Flower Cooler + Ultracool II fan controller
Memory 2 Gig Mushkin HP 3200
Video Card(s) Leadtek A6600GT TDH
Storage 2 x WD 10k 74GB Raptors in RAID 0 (OS), 2 x WD 80GB SATA RAID 0, 1 X Maxtor 250GB ATA (Media, music)
Display(s) Samsung 19" TFT SyncMaster 913N
Case Antec Plusview Iii (Modded front) 1000AMG SOHO File Server - 5X Antec UV reactive fans - 2xUV tubes
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Fatal1ty FPS running through Creative Inspire 6.1 6700 speakers
Power Supply Hiper Type-R 580w Blue with UV cables
Software XP pro (Legit) & shitloads that isn't >:] /serial Brycer and FraxFlamer :)
#13
On the subject of this.

XP Pro versus XP Home.

To be honest I found Home to be lacking in the stabilty department and after speaking with many friends about it I went out and bought Pro. I have to say it was well worth the extra cash as it really is much more rock solid than Home. Then again I multitask like a demon and run some pretty heavy Apps and progs (Bryce and PSP/Photoshop with FraxFlame working at the same time as well as other stuff all at once)

As for Retail versus OEM...
OEM is the cheaper of the 2 and by a great deal, it is only supposed to be used with a new build/new PC that comes without an OS pre-installed. However, as this is a modding community I am sure we can all say we made or are building our own systems so can get OEM software and use it. *wink wink*

Article about OEM stuff if you wanna know more.
http://www.alamopc.org/pcalamode/columns/hicks/pt1003.shtml

Long and short of it is, you get more support with retail boxed stuff and pay the price for that, if you know what you are doing and can install and configure it all yourself then you can prolly get away with OEM.

Always RTFM or the EULA first if in doubt so you do not get caught out. Mod carefully and save cash, but don't trip yourself up in the process people!

Lastly, if you are using a blag/copy of XP, I advise you do yourself a favour and go legit ASAP, it is only a matter of time before you get caught out and your OS drive might die without warning. If you are daft enough to have a Pirate copy of XP you are prolly daft enough to have loads of important stuff on that HDD also, so when that drive goes west when you get caught you run the risk of losing everything on that drive.