1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XP/SP3 -> To Win 7 or Win 8

Discussion in 'General Software' started by pepsi71ocean, Oct 19, 2012.

1. pepsi71ocean New Member

Thanks Received:
    I have been thinking about upgrading windows for a while, since its almost EOL from what i know of it makes me wonder if the OS is finally dead.

Im not sure on what to do since im running XP, i am used to the look and well its XP, i have been running this OS type since 2002 ish even though i have since went to XP-SP3.

I was thinking that Win7 will drop in price after Win 8 comes out, but then again newegg gave me an introductory price for Win 8 at like 60-or 70 dollars.

At such a cheap price i have begun to think about making the jump. Actually i started thinking about it about a month ago, when i helped my friend build a new computer. He is running a cracked version of windows that turns out couldn't be registered, and i laughed because i expect that from his kind of luck, but for me i was thinking because XP is getting old and im not sure about how it is holding up in the security department.

One of the concerns i have already is that supposedly you have to buy Windows media player? And then i heard its not that good? is that comparing backwards to WMP 11, like for XP?

Any thoughts?

10 Year Member at TPU
  2. brandonwh64

brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

Thanks Received:
    Honestly I would just download the windows 8 preview and test it out, if you like it then hop on that but if metro turns it off for you then I would suggest windows 7 X64 home premium

Crunching for Team TPU
  3. trickson

trickson OH, I have such a headache

Thanks Received:
    Honestly just go with windows7 64 bit.

10 Year Member at TPU
  4. hellrazor

hellrazor

Thanks Received:
    Windows 7.

5. Dos101

Dos101

Thanks Received:
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. TheMailMan78

TheMailMan78 Big Member