1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XP wont shut down

Discussion in 'General Software' started by cdawall, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,179 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Houston
    the system i built for my GF wont shut down its weird it just sits on the windows is now shutting down screen. anyway to fix this?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,762 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    WI
    unplug it?

    i had that problem a while back, i didn't really find a soulution, i had to do a fresh install, also has it only done this once?
     
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,560 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    agreed, mine sometimes does this, i just switch it off at the plug. its never done it harm.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. MiST91 Guest

    did it ever shut down?

    like, before you installed drivers, software.ect?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. dwax

    dwax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    180 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Mine dose that also. Most times its on "Saving Your Settings" Sometimes it hangs for awhile and others it will not shut down. Did a search on Google found XP is notorious for this problem.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,406 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,458
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I've seen this and suspect it's something to do with power management - as part of a driver. I had the issue long while back with an older graphics card. When I replaced the graphics card, loaded new drivers, the problem went away completely.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    That's a problem with no cure unfortunately. I've had it many times and never been able to fix it short of a complete reinstall.

    just unplug it if you don't want to reinstall. Never comes to any harm.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Firebeast

    Firebeast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    144 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Cape Town
    i aslo got the same problem, but ive noticed it happeing only after ive had my os installed for a very long time or after ive installed alot of apps and games and unistalling them.

    Reformat and install is best way
     
  9. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,490 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    UK
    I got that same problem, but with Vista 32 Ultimate. It went away when I did a fresh install of Vista 64. How queer...
     
  10. cjoyce1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    714 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    you could away try the DOS shutdown command

    shutdown /s /f

    this will force a shutdown, had with with mine a few times but once it comes back up is shutdowns fine after that
     
    cdawall says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,179 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Houston
    thanks guys when i'm there later i'll check all these out hopefully it fixes easy
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I'd imagine it is one of the many bugs that ails Windows that MS just simply ignores, such as uPNP causing icons in the system tray to not show up, or the arrow on the system tray vanishing... I could go on and on... lol. XP x64 does this sometimes as well, although it happens less frequently. All extremely anoying, but not important to the software god.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,227 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)