• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your Advice Please - BSOD after 40min of prime95

Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#1
Hey guys,

Just a real quick post, can someone tell if it is common to get the blue screen of death while running prime95? (Small FFT's)

I'm testing for my 4ghz oc, i can pass OCCT, but Prime usually runs into the BSOD after about 40min to an hour. I know my voltages are low for the oc but i fugure Prime95 should let me know, not blue screen.

Specs:

CPU Clock Ratio: 20x
QPI Link Speed: 36x
BASE Clock: Enabled
Clock FQ: 200
Uncore Frequency: 17x
Performance Enhance: Turbo
Sys Mem Multiplier: 8.0
Dram Timing: Auto

LoadLine: enabled
CPU vCore: 1.26250v
QPI/VTT: 1.30v
IOH Core: 1.20v
Dram Voltage: 1.64v
CPU PLL 1.800V

Advanced CPU Features:
Intel Turbo Boost Tech. [Disabled]
CPU Cores Enabled [All]
CPU Multi Threading [Enabled]
CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) [Disabled]
C3/C6/C7 State Support [Diabled]
CPU Thermal Monitor [Enabled]
CPU Eist Function [Disabled]
Virtualization Technology [Enabled]
Bi-directional PROCHOT [Enabled]

Cheers.



NOTE* - could it be because i have CPU THERMAL MONITOR enabled? I've disabled my screen saver, sleep modes, anything in windows i can think could cause it to crash.

BSOD pic

 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#2
im not an overclocker, but from what i have read, a way to test stability is to run prime95//occt/linpack for as long as u can without getting a bsod
if u get a bsod, it indicates instability in the overclock


does it only happen when running prime95 or other oc testing programs?

EDIT: how much ram are you running, and at what speeds and voltages? can u link the model u ram u have off of ocz's website?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,025 (0.97/day)
Likes
484
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard X399 Fatal1ty Professional Gaming
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 3200 C14 32GB
Video Card(s) RX Vega 56 Crossfire
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB 3-way Raid 0, Toshiba 8TB HDD
Display(s) Asus MG278Q
Case Thermaltake Urban T81
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX II
Power Supply FSP Aurum Pro 1000W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
Chances are, memory settings, as you have them on auto. And your ram is very low-speed stuff to begin with...8500F DDR3? YIKES!!!
I can't imagine what those latencies will be like :respect:
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#5
You may find this useful:

Linky
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#6
What he said!^^^^

But I must say, that guide is missing alot of info, and is just a quick synopsis, but a great place to start, for sure!
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
896 (0.29/day)
Likes
77
Location
Baltimore, MD
System Name Cool Runnings Mark 2
Processor i7 4770k No OC
Motherboard MSI Z87 MPower
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory GSkill TridentX 2400MHz 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 AC+
Storage Samsung 840 Pro Series SSD, 3 more HDDs
Display(s) Acer G276HLDbd Black 27" 6ms, Acer AL2216Wbd Black 22" 5ms
Case Corsair 600t
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Win10 Pro 64-bit
#7
i have to agree with the memory as being the problem...hence my memory questions hehe
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#8
You may find this useful:

Linky
Thanks i've already had a look at that, unfortunately it does not get into ram specifics.

Chances are, memory settings, as you have them on auto. And your ram is very low-speed stuff to begin with...8500F DDR3? YIKES!!!
I'm running the memory low so as not to have it be the problem... so since i'm still new to this, could you explain what you'd do to the memory exactly.

Cheers
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#9
what's the actual rated speed of the mem? To me, your BSOD is caused by OS kernel failing...ram or cpu most likely the culprit, and I'd hit up the ram first, and if that proved OK, then I'd be hitting cpu, cache may be failing, and OCCT may not show that type of error while Prime95 does, depending on what test you are running....

That said, you may just need to up cpu volts...prime will only show errors and not BSOD when stability is close...very close.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,721 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,485
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
If his specs are right its a DDR3 1066MHz ram kit
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#12
what's the actual rated speed of the mem? To me, your BSOD is caused by OS kernel failing...ram or cpu most likely the culprit, and I'd hit up the ram first, and if that proved OK, then I'd be hitting cpu, cache may be failing, and OCCT may not show that type of error while Prime95 does, depending on what test you are running....

That said, you may just need to up cpu volts...prime will only show errors and not BSOD when stability is close...very close.
Alright, now if i can pass a few runs with memtest can i rule out the memory as the problem? Also here is my cpuid to answer your question.

 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#13
LoL. You ram is PC12800, not 8500F. that's a big difference!!!

Up your cpu volts. look like your ram timings are set a bit loose for those sticks...what timings do they say on the heatspreader?
 

Mariusz803

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#14
LoL. You ram is PC12800, not 8500F. that's a big difference!!!

Up your cpu volts. look like your ram timings are set a bit loose for those sticks...what timings do they say on the heatspreader?
Alright quick update. I've stepped up my vCore to 1.85v and still BSOD after some time on Prime95. I'll keep working my way to about 1.37v if it comes to that. If that does not work than i'll have to look into my ram timing... gotta brush up on those, not familiar with that yet.

If it means anything i've been benchmarking my overclcok with a vCore at 1.26250v running games for almost 2 weeks, no hiccups yet. Also have been running 3D Mark a lot to see my performance improvements, no BSOD.
 

Mariusz803

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#16
How are your temps?


It's always possible that your cpu won't do those clocks reliably...

Just prime fails, and that's it?
My temps are good, i idle at 35-37 and load at 64-67.

Regarding prime95, i always get the BSOD after running small fft's test. I can pass OCCT fine. Perhaps this might be a result of my ram? But one pass (yes i know its just one) of memtest showed no errors.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#17
My temps are good, i idle at 35-37 and load at 64-67.

Regarding prime95, i always get the BSOD after running small fft's test. I can pass OCCT fine. Perhaps this might be a result of my ram? But one pass (yes i know its just one) of memtest showed no errors.
In general, as it says in the testing dialog when you start Prime95, small FFT test more cpu, and blend more ram. However, ram doesn't get tested much when the FFTs that are running all fit within the cpus cache(hence small FFT for testing cpu).

When it comes to memtest testing...if you go 1mhz higher, does it fail? 5 mhz? 10mhz?

I typically use 2hrs of memtest, and then go higher...if higher produces errors, you're at the edge of stability,and random errors could be catastropic...I mean, we buy non-ECC ram, but why do they need ECC ram in the first place? AFAIK, under high usage, ram is more prone to errors, and systems with ECC ram are under high usage, and that ram might error, even under "stock".

So with that in mind, I always back down 5-10mhz at least from the max I can get in memtest...



But that's ram...


So, I still think it's your cpu...but because there is so much that's a part of the cpu now, memorycontrol and all, I am not sure EXACTLY what the problem is...maybe it's a differnt cpu voltage than VCC.
 

Mariusz803

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#18
In general, as it says in the testing dialog when you start Prime95, small FFT test more cpu, and blend more ram. However, ram doesn't get tested much when the FFTs that are running all fit within the cpus cache(hence small FFT for testing cpu).

When it comes to memtest testing...if you go 1mhz higher, does it fail? 5 mhz? 10mhz?

I typically use 2hrs of memtest, and then go higher...if higher produces errors, you're at the edge of stability,and random errors could be catastropic...I mean, we buy non-ECC ram, but why do they need ECC ram in the first place? AFAIK, under high usage, ram is more prone to errors, and systems with ECC ram are under high usage, and that ram might error, even under "stock".

So with that in mind, I always back down 5-10mhz at least from the max I can get in memtest...



But that's ram...


So, I still think it's your cpu...but because there is so much that's a part of the cpu now, memorycontrol and all, I am not sure EXACTLY what the problem is...maybe it's a differnt cpu voltage than VCC.
Reading a guide on how to OC and i7 920 with a Gigabyte EX-58-Extreme motherboard (exactly my hardware) it mentions to do the follow:



So i will next drop my memory frequency down to 1.333MHz and run Prime95.

IF THIS DOES NOT WORK i will probably try the following voltages if my temps prove "safe"



I'll keep you posted later in the week when i try this, school has been keeping me busy for now. Do you see anything that might 'incorrect' from what i have mentioned above?


Cheers.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,951
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#19
Seems right to me. I'm no Corei7 user though. The thought that you can test each component seperately, and then take the sum together, and expect it to work exactly the same, to me, is a bit naive, but overall, it IS generally true.


For example, check bandwidth with cpu @ default, mem at default. Then test with increased cpu speed...bandwidth went UP, didn't it? So can we say that mem will be ok, under a greater load?

:toast:
 

Binge

Overclocking Surrealism
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
6,979 (2.04/day)
Likes
1,734
Location
PA, USA
System Name Molly
Processor i5 3570K
Motherboard Z77 ASRock
Cooling CooliT Eco
Memory 2x4GB Mushkin Redline Ridgebacks
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 680
Case Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
#20
Alright quick update. I've stepped up my vCore to 1.85v and still BSOD after some time on Prime95. I'll keep working my way to about 1.37v if it comes to that. If that does not work than i'll have to look into my ram timing... gotta brush up on those, not familiar with that yet.

If it means anything i've been benchmarking my overclcok with a vCore at 1.26250v running games for almost 2 weeks, no hiccups yet. Also have been running 3D Mark a lot to see my performance improvements, no BSOD.
1.85V??? am I reading this correctly?

::EDIT::

keep your vcore where it's set, disable vdroop (if you have that enabled, that is), put your qpi voltage to 1.35V, and drop your uncore to x16.
 

Mariusz803

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#21
1.85V??? am I reading this correctly?

::EDIT::

keep your vcore where it's set, disable vdroop (if you have that enabled, that is), put your qpi voltage to 1.35V, and drop your uncore to x16.
Opps! Sorry typo there, i meant to say i tried it at 1.385v. Yeah 1.8v would not be... how should i put this, "not good"? lol.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#22
One question, What OS?
 

Mariusz803

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#23
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.67/day)
Likes
1,162
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
#24
You have a setup that is almost identical to mine. Here are my current voltages and working OC:

4.01GHz

bclk: 191
Multi: 20x
Turbo: On (makes Multi 21x in OS)

CPU Vcore: 1.3125
QPI/Vtt: 1.31500V
CPU PLL: 1.88000V
DRAM : 1.66000V (There is no 1.65 in my BIOS and its unstable for me at 1.64V)
IOH Core: 1.12000V
ICH Core: 1.10000V

RAM is set to 8x 191 which will get you 1528MHz (instead of the rated 1600)
Timing is auto
QPI Link Speed: 36x
Uncore Frequency: 17x
Bi-directional PROCHOT [Disabled] <-- One of the last things I changed to first start getting stability

Everything else not listed I believe is either non important or the same. I'll double check it when I get home, as I'll be tweaking the voltages anyways. But if you want you can try these or similar to see if you have any more luck. Of particular note is that I couldn't get my 200x20 setup working at all, though I plan to try that again now that I have some voltages down.
 

Mariusz803

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
System Name HAF932
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology EX-58 Extreme
Cooling Mugen 2 (push/pull Gelid Gamer Fans)
Memory OCZ DDR3 PC3-8500F
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4890 CrossFire
Storage WD 500GB, 1TB x2
Display(s) Benq 24"
Case CollerMaster HAF932
Audio Device(s) (mb)
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Software Vista Gamer Edition
#25
You have a setup that is almost identical to mine. Here are my current voltages and working OC:

4.01GHz

bclk: 191
Multi: 20x
Turbo: On (makes Multi 21x in OS)

CPU Vcore: 1.3125
QPI/Vtt: 1.31500V
CPU PLL: 1.88000V
DRAM : 1.66000V (There is no 1.65 in my BIOS and its unstable for me at 1.64V)
IOH Core: 1.12000V
ICH Core: 1.10000V

RAM is set to 8x 191 which will get you 1528MHz (instead of the rated 1600)
Timing is auto
QPI Link Speed: 36x
Uncore Frequency: 17x
Bi-directional PROCHOT [Disabled] <-- One of the last things I changed to first start getting stability

Everything else not listed I believe is either non important or the same. I'll double check it when I get home, as I'll be tweaking the voltages anyways. But if you want you can try these or similar to see if you have any more luck. Of particular note is that I couldn't get my 200x20 setup working at all, though I plan to try that again now that I have some voltages down.
Really appreciate that, it is interesting you mention that your dram is unstable at 1.64v, and yes same with me i don't have a 1.65v. I will definitely take into account is the Bi-directional PROCHOT you mention, i can't remember if i have mine enabled or disabled.

Will keep you guys posted once school clears up next week.

Cheers.