1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    POS:

    could you mount the HD here?

    then you might get rid of some wire mess?

    [​IMG]


    reverse harddrives maybe?
     
  2. sNiPeRbOb

    sNiPeRbOb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    MA
    @POS

    Swap where the HDD is and where the pump/res are located. It should work? no?
     
  3. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    [​IMG]

    MKMods, if you see this... enjoy my redneckness. I screwed them badboys down and grabbed my soldering iron and threw a bunch on the bottom of the screws... :p Eat that $20 2.5" Adapter on Ebay

    (Sorry for the out of focus image... this camera was built in 1998... )
     
  4. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,213 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Well i count the changes i made as positives, or maybe it was the ocz freeze i slapped on there when i changed the loop around. this is my 17 minute long prime95 session just to check temps... looks pretty good imho

    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Those temps seem very good as a matter of fact. I'm getting about the same load temp but at 3.8 ghz 1.392v on my 965 C3. Meaning similar clocks but much less voltage. Good job on the loop bro, TIM can be the biggest difference in temp changes sometimes. :toast:
     
    exodusprime1337 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,213 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    yeah so i heard, too bad i can't get this thing over 4, you'd think i'd have room to play with such low temps and room in the voltage department lol
     
  7. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    [​IMG]

    New toy
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    wooooooot a DANISH cooler

    how you like that one?
     
  9. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Q9550 @ 3.825GHz, still runs.

    Gunna have two Deltas on it on Wednesday, i'll be making a video for y'all :)
     
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    A Danamics? You must have been shitting money for weeks :D
     
  12. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    they have 2 versions, one for like 200£ and one for 100£

    dont know which is what though
     
  13. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    It's the £115.99 version. And no, i got a really good deal. Not gunna say, search some forums and you'll see.

    It's awesome.
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    AMD's love the cold, a 4-5ºc drop WILL give you a higher stable clock. Don't expect 4.5 GHz, but it will let you squeeze a tad more out of it.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Bump your FSB offset to 1 instead of 5.

    I actually got more stable doing that... 240FSB gets me 3,400Mhz instead of 3,390Mhz now.. :)
     
  16. sNiPeRbOb

    sNiPeRbOb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    MA
    Finally got around to some "spring cleaning" on the main rig. I think i found out why my temps were suffering lately. Looks like a bad mount to me...

    [​IMG]


    anyways, cleaned up some wiring, and swapped out my 4890 cooler for the replacement XFX sent me. YAY NO MORE LOUD FAN NOISES!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and an assembled, tidy "teaser"

    [​IMG]
     
  17. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Wow bob, that's a lot of thermal goop!
     
  18. sNiPeRbOb

    sNiPeRbOb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    MA
    i usually only use a very small amount, and then spread it on the chip using a plastic giftcard or ziplock bag over my finger. I think I may have used the "grain of rice"-sized, lay down the TIM and apply block technique the last time i did my mount though, resulting in what you see above...
     
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Hmm, I tend to use a real small blob, about a millimeter or so. Temps haven't let me down, so I'll keep it at that :)
     
    sNiPeRbOb says thanks.
  20. sNiPeRbOb

    sNiPeRbOb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    230 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    MA
    idk as I've ever used that little TIM before. I will have to give it a try!
     
  21. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Let me know how it works out, I wonder if there is much difference :)
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,435 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,932
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    what i found that works good is that i have about 2 or 3 leftover tubes of zalman paste and i use the old tubes to spread my new TIM. as in the picture below i take the small thin later of rubber off the old tube and the bottom were it was pinched sealed is almost perfectly flat and arounded off. this makes it peftect to spread thin layers of TIM around the CPU

    [​IMG]
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Three new, very loud, toys:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,912
    Location:
    Viking Land
    deltas?
     
  25. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    yep, three of these bad boys. Seriously, their too loud.. lol. Great for cooling tho. Not a bad combination:

    LMX: £115.99
    Deltas: £36

    Total: £151.99

    Then i have one more delta... lol.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)