1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Z77 are at newegg!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Cold Storm, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. dlf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What are the main diferences in a (Z)77 motherboard compared to a (P)68?
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I wouldn't want to divvy up 4 cards on PCI-E x4. Just go lga2011 for 3 way or more, because honestly, 20 pci-e lanes isn't enough and why in the world do you want to run so many cards on a mainstream cpu/mobo? I mean if you want to do it, feel free, but it sounds like a bad plan to me.
     
  3. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    My understanding is that it uses a bridge chip to allow x16/x16/x8/x8 at 3.0 speeds, which seems like plenty of speed to me..
    However, even if the third card runs at x4, that would be no different than a PCIE2.0 at x8 which is pretty common in multiple card setups..
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'm not understanding how you can get all this bandwidth from 20 PCI-E lanes. There is no extra bandwidth between the CPU and the motherboard, so where are all of these extra lanes coming from? x16 + x16 + x8 + x8 doesn't add up to 20 lanes. Does the bridge chip give you two 2.0 lanes for 1 3.0 lane or something because I feel like I'm missing something here.
     
  5. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    Honestly I don't understand it myself, which is why I am posting it here :)

    However, once reviews hit, I guess we will see if it is merely a gimmick or not (shrug)
     
  6. Huddo93

    Huddo93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    299 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Perth, WA, Australia
    I've read that without a third party controller on the MB to give additional lanes, If you populate the correct PCIe 3.0 slots they will run at 8x (Gen2 16x), 8x (Gen2 16x) and 4x (Gen2 8x). Only if there is a third party controller giving additional lanes will there be more bandwidth.

    Edit:
    In saying this, that is more than enough bandwidth to run a 3way SLI/CF setup in my opinion, In my experience watching trusty LinusTechTips (Youtube), he has proven with last gen GTX5xx and HD69xx series cards that there is barely any performance decrease running cards using PCI Gen2 8x instead of PCI Gen2 16x. The test only showed a decrease once you started using Dual GPU cards, and in saying that I am unsure how the HD7970 and GTX680 would hold up considering there throughput is close to that of the dual GPU card
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    What I'm saying is even if the mobo has the extra lanes, where are they going? The CPU doesn't have any extra room for them and DMI isn't wide enough to drive that many not to mention other I/O ops would slow down. It doesn't make sense to me. :confused:
     
  8. illli

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    waiting for the Asus P8Z77-I to be sold is aggravating me lol
     
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Where do you live? also which p8z77 are you looking at?
     
  10. illli

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15,771 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,581
    Location:
    Beaumont, Alberta
    IT works fine, and is no different than using a bridge chip in Dual-VGA cards. The bridge chip also has a small buffer to cache commands that have not been sent yet, and yes, this couple potentially have an impact on performance. However, ebcuase these are PCie 3.0 parts, i do not see this as being too much of an issue, seeing how P67/Z68 boards already only offer x8 PCIe 2.0 links to dual installed VGAs. With the bridge, that'd use only half the available bandwidth.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,002
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  13. illli

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    yep. i want it badly lol
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Not true, the bridge in GPUs is simply an interconnect between the two GPUs using PCI-E. Both endpoints are GPUs. We're talking about one endpoint being a CPU which only has so many lanes. I can see using the 3.0 bandwidth to make more 2.0 lanes, but not running more full 3.0 lanes. It doesn't make sense because there isn't any extra bandwidth to be provided from the CPU. Also PCI-E sends a lot of data, that is one hell of a buffer (it would also add latency if that were the case.)
     
  15. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh that Asus board looks nice!
     
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  17. illli

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
  18. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,961 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,755
    Location:
    Ohio
    So what's the big deal about these boards? What makes them better than Z68? Did they figure out how to allow BCLK clocking or something?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. illli

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    depends on which ones. in terms of itx, the z68 itx boards were horrible for overclocking. looks like some more effort was made for z77
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That is called SB-E. :D
     
  21. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,961 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,755
    Location:
    Ohio
    Right, but that's socket 2011. I was wondering if this new chipset could do the same for 1155.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,738 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,819
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Sorry, only 1155 has a locked BCLK since Intel tied just about every clocked component to the BCLK so overclocking just a little could make something on your PCH fail, like SATA. So you really need a k-edition CPU to overclock and you're limited by the multiplier.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)