• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

z77 boards with no thunderbolt!

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#1
Hey guys just been looking at the new boards out now with the ivy bridge cpus,
I notice in the Gigabyte line up there is no mention about thunderbolt included in the boards.
As far as I'm aware the CPUs are capability is there.

Any ideas gents
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,238 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#2
Is there a reason your asking this because what devices really use Thunderbolt right now? Why not check other board makers websites for their lineups too if your so worried about it.

Rest assured those who are not upgrading their boards or who have boards without thunderbolt can get a Pci Express Plug In Card.
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#3
Is there a reason your asking this because what devices really use Thunderbolt right now? Why not check other board makers websites for their lineups too if your so worried about it.

Rest assured those who are not upgrading their boards or who have boards without thunderbolt can get a Pci Express Plug In Card.
Oh sweet didn't know they done a pcie card, I want it for faster networking atm... But then again last generation TB was giving not the most fantastic networking results. I have just found gigabit to be pretty limiting
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,238 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
what is it youre exactly doing that constitues you needing more than the RJ45 Lan/Ethernet port on the machine?
 

Duekay

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
258 (0.07/day)
Likes
1
Location
Brisbane AU
System Name Workstation : Server/HTPC
Processor Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz : Core i3 2120
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 : Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3
Cooling Cooler Master V8 : Stock
Memory Corsair DDR3 12GB @ 1600Mhz : Corsair DDR3 8GB @ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 560 Ti & GT 430 : Onboard
Storage OCZ Max I/O 2x128 SSD Raid0 + Corsair 3x120GB SSD Raid0 : Corsair 2x60GB SSD Raid0
Display(s) Dual samsung 24" & 1 Acer 22" : Acer 22 & Samsung 46" TV
Case Antec P182 Performance One : Antec 4U rackmount
Audio Device(s) Mackie Onyx 400F 10x10 : Maudio Fast Track Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX-620 : Corsair HX-650
Software Windows 7 64bit, Cubase 5 : Windows 7 64bit
#5
what is it youre exactly doing that constitues you needing more than the RJ45 Lan/Ethernet port on the machine?
Multiple hd video steams is well as loading high quality audio gettng loaded/recorded regularly.
I also use cad packages like revit that have files as large as a gigabyte that copy over its self every few minutes.

As far as what I can see TB will be a quick cheap network upgrade to allow for r/w over 125MBs
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,238 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
Multiple hd video steams is well as loading high quality audio gettng loaded/recorded regularly.
I also use cad packages like revit that have files as large as a gigabyte that copy over its self every few minutes.

As far as what I can see TB will be a quick cheap network upgrade to allow for r/w over 125MBs
in all honesty get a TB card when they come out
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
752 (0.28/day)
Likes
152
Processor Intel Core i7-4790K
Motherboard Intel Board DZ87KLT-75K
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX {F3-2400C11D-16GXM x 2 [32GB]}
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce GTX 970
Storage Samsung EVO 250GB mSATA SSD + Seagate 3TB HDD
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2718Q
Case In Win F430
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 660
Mouse Dell KM714 Wireless
Keyboard Dell KM714 Wireless
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
There are boards with Thunderbolt, MSI has one http://www.techpowerup.com/161912/Thunderbolt-Port-Pictured-on-MSI-Z77A-GD80.html and also Intel is supposed to release one board with thunderbolt it will be in the Extreme Series was supposed to come out April 9 with the other mobos but was delayed to some time this year, the board will be known as DZ77RE-75K so you can wait for this it will have second gen thunderbolt connector according to sources hence it was delayed if you have seen DZ77GA-70K you'll notice a missing chip and port on the board people say that it is supposed to be where the thunderbolt was to be placed http://www.techspot.com/review/521-intel-z77-motherboard-roundup/page8.html or http://www.techpowerup.com/163336/Intel-Unveils-New-Z77-Motherboards.html check the first photo carefully you will see a missing chip