1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zalman CPNS7700 Fan replacement

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2007.

  1. tkpenalty

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,957 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Hey guys, would it be wise to change the stock fan on the CNPS7700 CU for a Fatal1ty one? They sell the 120mm model (just the fan), and it has higher RPMs, I don't mind noise as long as the rig is fast so yeh should I swap the fan?.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. HeUeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    170 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hmz, if that 120mm fan fit in you zalman then yes, you can change ! :rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    How would you replace it tho? The stock one looks awfully integrated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. tkpenalty

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,957 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    You can >_>, by unscrewing it? :rolleyes:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,834 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    If you figure it out, let me know I have a Zalman 7700 ALCU, I found few sources on the web that are fuzzy at best...I am interested in replacing the 120mm fan, but doesn't have to be the Fatal1ty fan.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Hey, you don't have to roll your eyes. From the picture it doesn't appear that it unscrews.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. tkpenalty

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,957 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yeh... Imagine it was welded :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,834 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Anyone done an actual mod of a 120mm performance case fan to adapt it to the 7700? From what little I found on the web of this, it looks to be a pain in the ass, which may be why I found so little for it eh?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. tkpenalty

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,957 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I would rather buy just the fan from zalman; its cheap and doesn't take nearly an hour to do.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,834 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Yeah. I'll have to check that out. Any word on prices? You said cheap. I'll take a look, cause I'd like to have a little more airflow for that HSF.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. tkpenalty

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,957 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    A fatal1ty one costs a tad more (It would only be worth getting this one). They are around a third of the cooler's price
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,834 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I'll have to check that out...

    Question for you 7700 users...I just re-applied AS5 last night. Did a nice, even, thin layer on the processor. during installation, I was using a "very" magnetized screwdriver, well it pulled the mounting bracket off the retention bar. I had just made contact with the fresh AS5. When I pulled the HSF to reset the bracket I noticed a little bit of the AS5, but the processor layer looked okay. So I let both stay as they were and installed the HSF. It idles at 33-36C, and during load it hits 66C. When it was at that 66C, after 15-20 minutes, I took off the side of the case to touch test the HSF. Well it was barely warm...shouldn't the HSF be a lot warmer to show for absorbing CPU heat?

    I may just redo the AS5....just to be on the safe side.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,834 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Also I kept my system OC'd... 3.75GHZ on a P4 630 @ 1.48V, 250FSB, 4:5 mem divider...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)