1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zalman CPU Cooler Compatibility

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Chicken Patty, Jun 14, 2009.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hello,

    Just wondering if I can use my Zalman that I used on my Socket AM2 rig on a Socket 939 rig with the same mounting clip. Does anyone know if its the same?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,065 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,908
    Sure can! :) They use the same retention hardware.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    100%, it just bolts right up same retention clip? this is awesome news. overclocking time :D :laugh: naw its my 2nd cruncher, since its crunching 24/7, just wish i stayed a bit cooler than with the factory cooler you know. Keep it safer. Specially during the day when its much hotter here in Miami and i'm not home.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,038 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,707
    Are you sure they are the same, my 9500 from zalman had a bar that used the 939 socket screws to mount. So the AM2 wouldnt work due to the screws not being in the same place right?

    4 screws to mount vesus 2?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yeah that is true. but the clip itself uses no screws. You are talking about the screws on the retention mechanism that screws to the board right?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,065 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,908
    I thought the bar that runs across the Zalmann 9xxx coolers latch on to the tabs of the stock retention bracket the same way as a stock AMD cooler? Snap! After looking at some images, not all s939 retention brackets are the same. Some have two tabs on each side and some have three. If the bracket has three tabs it will work, if it uses two, with no tab in the middle it will not work.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,038 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,707
    Yeah mine was a bar with a whole in the middle to hold the cooler with a hole at either end that used the actual motherboard socket screws to tighten down, no AMD style latch with some of the older ones. I actually remember a AM2 version of the 9500/9700's back when I got mine. They may be a bit more universal now.

    can we get a pic of the mounting hardware?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,065 (10.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,908
    Here's a couple different styles:

    No middle tab:
    [​IMG]

    Tab in the middle:
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    mine has the tab, I can see it where it hooks on the rig right now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,038 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,707
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,038 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,707
    Ahh, see whan I got mine it had the bar and the 775 black rings, but no AM2 mounts. If you got the full package of goodies it should go right in as erocker claimed originally.

    That version of the bar is what you need.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I tried searching for it and have had no luck finding it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,038 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,707
    The latch style bar you showed here should allow it to clip to the AM2 socket tabs. I dont think you need the accessories after that. From what I remember the black rings were so one could use the old AMD bar from zalman and screw it to the top of the rings, while the rings mounted to the 4 mobo screw holes for LGA775.

    AM2 mounting.... http://www.sharkacomputers.com/10070-zm-xmc-am2.html
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    i'm just going to try with what I have. That is the clip I have. If it works great, if not well I lost like ten minutes of my life. no big deal. I'll do this later ona nd keep you guys posted. Thanks for the help Erocker and Sneeky! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,038 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,707
    Hehehehe, it was more erocker, I just seemed to cause a bunch of confusion :roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,488 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,534
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    :laugh: I still appreciate the effort to help from both of you ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)