• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Zotac 3080 Trinty OC 10GB Crashes after driver install

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
I've recently purchased Zotac 3080 Trinty OC 10GB LHR.
Whenever I try to update drivers past 472.12 card will crash imminently and is only accessible through safe mode or virtual adapter (parsec).
I've tried everydriver from the list, but no dice.

Card works fine on 472.12, runs every game I tried at ultra 1080p (rdr2, cyberpunk, uncharted) at high frame rates.

Card is connected to 1kw PSU (superflower ~10years old) which worked fine for ages and still (to my best knowledge) does and is plugged in Steel Legend 660 (no raisers).
PSU never served more than ~700W.

Tried flashing the card with several vbios versions but no luck. Does anyone have some idea how should I proceed?


 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,792 (6.81/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Get hwinfo64 and get a screenshot of power supply voltages going to the motherboard and gpu please

And please do not bios flash anything, it doesnt help.

I've recently purchased Zotac 3080 Trinty OC 10GB LHR.
Whenever I try to update drivers past 472.12 card will crash imminently and is only accessible through safe mode or virtual adapter (parsec).
I've tried everydriver from the list, but no dice.

Card works fine on 472.12, runs every game I tried at ultra 1080p (rdr2, cyberpunk, uncharted) at high frame rates.

Card is connected to 1kw PSU (superflower ~10years old) which worked fine for ages and still (to my best knowledge) does and is plugged in Steel Legend 660 (no raisers).
PSU never served more than ~700W.

Tried flashing the card with several vbios versions but no luck. Does anyone have some idea how should I proceed?


 

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
Get hwinfo64 and get a screenshot of power supply voltages going to the motherboard and gpu please

And please do not bios flash anything, it doesnt help.
Full report: https://cvele.github.io/temp/report.HTM

Computer: ASRock B660 Steel Legend
CPU: Intel Core i7-12700 (Alder Lake-S 841, C0)
2100 MHz (21.00x100.0) @ 598 MHz (6.00x99.8)
Motherboard: ASRock B660 Steel Legend
BIOS: 8.03, 11/22/2022
Chipset: Intel B660 (Alder Lake-S PCH)
Memory: 32768 MBytes @ 1197 MHz, 17-17-17-39
- 16384 MB PC25600 DDR4 SDRAM - Kingston KHX3200C16D4/16GX
- 16384 MB PC25600 DDR4 SDRAM - Kingston KHX3200C16D4/16GX
Graphics: Zotac RTX 3080 LHR
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080, 10240 MB GDDR6X SDRAM
Drive: WDC WD101EFBX-68B0AN0, 9766.4 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: WDC WD101EFBX-68B0AN0, 9766.4 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: WDC WD101EFBX-68B0AN0, 9766.4 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: WDC WD101EFBX-68B0AN0, 9766.4 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: WDC WD101EFBX-68B0AN0, 9766.4 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: WDC WD101EFBX-68B0AN0, 9766.4 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s @ 6Gb/s
Drive: Samsung SSD 980 1TB, 976.8 GB, NVMe
Sound: Intel Alder Lake-S PCH - cAVS (Audio, Voice, Speech)
Sound: NVIDIA GA102 - High Definition Audio Controller
Network: RealTek Semiconductor RTL8125 Gaming 2.5GbE Family Ethernet Controller
Network: Realtek Gaming 2.5GbE Family Controller
Network: Xbox Wireless Adapter for Windows
OS: Microsoft Windows 11 Professional (x64) Build 22621.900
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-12-07 at 11.28.54.png
    Screenshot 2022-12-07 at 11.28.54.png
    2.4 MB · Views: 24
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,792 (6.81/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Change to sensors only and get a screenshot of power supply voltages going to the motherboard and graphics card
 

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-12-07 at 14.14.47.png
    Screenshot 2022-12-07 at 14.14.47.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 25
  • Screenshot 2022-12-07 at 14.14.23.png
    Screenshot 2022-12-07 at 14.14.23.png
    1 MB · Views: 22
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
461 (0.48/day)
Location
Florida
Processor 3800x
Motherboard MSI Tomahawk x570
Cooling EK
Memory Ballistix E die
Video Card(s) rx 5700
Display(s) 144hz 1080p
Case Corsair Air 540
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Just don't update for now? could be some issue with Zotac bios and the new driver... report it to nvidia and zotac.
 

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
Just don't update for now? could be some issue with Zotac bios and the new driver... report it to nvidia and zotac.
It did cross my mind and I did my best to search the google for any other reports.
This did not result in anything tangible. Given how this card is pretty old now, and so is the driver version, I would assume there to be at least a question or two.

Reporting it would be logical next step.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,776 (2.43/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Core i7 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z790 Tomahawk Wifi
Cooling DeepCool AK620
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 4090 AMP Extreme Airo
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 2TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG GP850-B, LG GN950-B
Case bequiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
did you try to DDU the drivers properly?

Download DDU (DisplayDriverUninstaller) and the latest driver.
pull your lan cable and hold shift while pressing restart.
select advanced options, starting options- restart.
press 4 (safe mode without network.)
Open DDU, wipe the drivers and restart your PC.
install the latest driver and shut the PC down.
connect your lan cable and boot your PC.
 

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
did you try to DDU the drivers properly?

Download DDU (DisplayDriverUninstaller) and the latest driver.
pull your lan cable and hold shift while pressing restart.
select advanced options, starting options- restart.
press 4 (safe mode without network.)
Open DDU, wipe the drivers and restart your PC.
install the latest driver and shut the PC down.
connect your lan cable and boot your PC.

Yes, did the DDU. This is outline of what I did:

- Installed the card
- Disabled onboard
- Windows installed drivers from update (472.12)
- Downloaded latest (1st of December), installed, GPU crashes with 141 code (from reliability logs)
- Changed different ports on the card: multiple DisplayPort and Hdmi
- Cleaned PCI slot with air can
- Boot into safe mode, DDU removed all traces
- Downloaded previous version of Nvidia drivers
- Repeat above loop for all drivers until I downloaded 472.12 from Nvidia website, installed, all good

On top of that flashed bios with one from archive on this website.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,776 (2.43/day)
Location
Germany
Processor Intel Core i7 13700K
Motherboard MSI Z790 Tomahawk Wifi
Cooling DeepCool AK620
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 4090 AMP Extreme Airo
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 2TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG GP850-B, LG GN950-B
Case bequiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
did you bought it used? (because you bought it "recently")
otherwise i would contact zotac (they are actually very nice at least in europe. i got a full refund on a 2080 ti i bought on ebay directly from zotac)
 

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
It was new (sealed), however it was bought in another country so I'd have to travel for warranty.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,792 (6.81/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Report the issue to nvidia, zotac and game makers
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,792 (6.81/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

es_pablo

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
Did you try a clean windows installation?
I had a similar issue on AMD gpu. Ddu didn't help, formatting the computer worked well for me...
 

vladimirc

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
Did you try a clean windows installation?
I had a similar issue on AMD gpu. Ddu didn't help, formatting the computer worked well for me...

I just tried with a fresh Windows 11 installation. Temporally hooking up new sdd with fresh and de-attaching the old one. Same results.

Everything is in spec
I assume that means that PSU is working as it should ?
 

es_pablo

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
I assume that means that PSU is working as it should ?
he can't tell... i presume you're screen were taken in idle...
to evaluate if a psu is working correctly it must be examinated under heavy load.
a 10 years old psu is old, and it should be replaced, hopefully before it starts showing problems....
anyway, the best way to test and find problems is cross testing...
so, if you can, test youre gpu on another pc, and test another gpu on youre pc...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
38,792 (6.81/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Did you try a clean windows installation?
I had a similar issue on AMD gpu. Ddu didn't help, formatting the computer worked well for me...
Seems os gets easily corrupted
he can't tell... i presume you're screen were taken in idle...
to evaluate if a psu is working correctly it must be examinated under heavy load.
a 10 years old psu is old, and it should be replaced, hopefully before it starts showing problems....
anyway, the best way to test and find problems is cross testing...
so, if you can, test youre gpu on another pc, and test another gpu on youre pc...

The Input voltages to the motherboard are within atx spec, so no issue there

And just because the psu is 10 yo or 5 or 30 doesnt mean squat. The volts are there.

Also he can load test it under a game with hwinfo64 open to see what the max load is on it.

So dont spread misinformation pablo
 

es_pablo

New Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2022
Messages
8 (0.13/day)
Seems os gets easily corrupted


1 -The Input voltages to the motherboard are within atx spec, so no issue there

2 - And just because the psu is 10 yo or 5 or 30 doesnt mean squat. The volts are there.

3 -Also he can load test it under a game with hwinfo64 open to see what the max load is on it.

4 - So dont spread misinformation pablo
1 - volatages are not the only things a psu produce, you now? there is ripple (spikes in low and high frequences) that you can't measure with mobo sensors and pc softwares... and, i never saw a psu, even the worst, going out of specs in idle..., real tests are done under load, problems happens under load, pc freezes or reboot under load, not in idle (obiuvsly, i mean, without messing with overclock or else)
2 - so, you mean, if i use a psu correctly, and not heavy loading it, i can use it forever? tell me, what is the longest warranty an oem offer on a psu?
3 - yes, he can, he can hack the nasa center too, by doing this and that, but he seems not be awarned on what we are talking about, so, maybe, he didn't do it if we dont ask him to do and explain it to him. And i dont ask it to him becaus in my opinion reading some voltages from the mobo is not enough to test a psu.
4 - i'm doing the opposite.
here's some psu reviews with some dedicated hardware, sorry, it's not in english, but, if you know the subject, you will uderstand anyway what i'm talking about...
Thanks.
 
Top