1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 3870's in Xfire or X2?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by erocker, Mar 23, 2008.

?

2 HD3870's or 1 HD3870X2

Poll closed Mar 25, 2008.
  1. HD 3870 Crossfire

    46.2%
  2. HD 3870 X2

    53.8%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Help me decide people!:)
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i say grab the x2 ddr4 because:

    -less space, power, heat, etc.
    -only takes one slot --> ability to expand to quad fire, whereas you might not have a quad x16 board.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    X2 DDR4 isn't released yet. I'm making the purchase tonight.
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hate to say it, 3870x2. For same reasons as above!

    EDIT: Even if it isn't DDR4.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    get the x2 even if it isn't the new one..

    though i've heard the new one is gddr4 & pci 2.0
     
  6. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    A pair of 3870's..
     
    erocker says thanks.
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Reasons? And keep em coming!:)
     
  8. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Mainly GDDR4, and they clock up well. I would like to see more bench's on them. Mainly bench's on AMD rigs since thats what I'm using. I would like to see if one X2 runs better than my pair of 3870's. A pair of X2's would be nice, but that would only work in Vista and I have no plan's on moving to vista.
     
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    trying to find some benchies of x2 vs CF
     
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  11. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    i would say look up reviews of the two cards, in here or in other websites :p, try to find one with the same motherboard as your using, its what i do when i look for hardware, kinda gives you an idea of what its going to do performance wise.
    that being said, the x2 unless you can find 2 3870's for cheaper than the x2, if you can than i would go with that, seeing as its not 2 video cards sharing 1 16x buss like the x2 would be if you bought it, i would think you could net better bandwidth/performance with the 2 3870's seeing as you would have 32 pcie lanes instead of just one 16 lane for the x2.
    i might be totaly wrong but its my opinion and i think the logic is somewhat sound who knows tho :). :roll:
     
    erocker says thanks.
  12. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Crossfire two cards.

    I'm hard-pressed to explain why, but I am still a little dubious about the X2.

    Just like the "luck of the draw" on CPUs, no two chips clock the same. You will be "locked" into the speed of the lesser chip. Althought the arbiter PLX chip seems to do a good job at linking the cards, I like to be able to mix and match.

    Again, the downside is two slots (or more) are covered.

    Just me though...
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    I'm leaning towards two HIS 3870's. (yeah, I know about the aluminum, but it works great with the heatpipe) Two of them are cheaper, plus I have a spider platform besides my Maximus that I could throw both of them in plus my 3850! But keep the comments coming, I figure I'll make the purchase in an hour.


    *Dr. Spankenstien, if I do get two cards, you'll help me get em workin.. right!?:D
     
  14. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    HIS isn't really a bad brand its just people don't see them as being mainstream i guess, so they tend to shy away from them. me on the other hand, ive owned saphire and HIS, i like them both. and from what ive seen the aluminum doesnt hinder it, and it releaves the stress of weight that the copper coolers put on the cards. you have a link to the site your using hehe, i wana see them :)
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Absolutely!:) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161218

    I still own a HIS x1950pro with basically the same cooler. Plus blue really goes nice with my case.:D
     
  16. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    My pair of Vistiontek 3870's clock pretty much the same, but I have found that one card does take a little more clock speed than the other. With that said I can clock each card to the settings that I want at any given time. I have never used a x2, but I do think you clock them both together. If I'm wrong on that please let me know.

    I have looked around and was even tempted at buying a x2 just to test with, but what a purchase just to test eh...
     
  17. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275

    You KNOW I will! :toast:

    You bring up a good point to consider: You have multiple platforms that could utilize single or multi-gpu. For me, it seems more logical (for you) to go with the two card route.

    Plus, people that only have one rig and no backup graphics card could benifit from this arrangement also.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    Alright 2 HIS 3870's it is!:D
     
  19. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Methinks you made the right choice!

    Another thing, I think you'll have and easier time selling them off when you want to pick up your R700 card!

    You are gonna be pretty happy with your results!

    BTW, if you need to "make way" for that Phenom, I'll gladly take that E8400 off your hands!
     
    erocker says thanks.
  20. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    2 3870's

    the HD3870X2 is more like 2 overclocked 3850's on one chip since it uses DDR3 vs the 3870's DDR4.

    so the 3870's all the way
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    No, no 2 systems for me! Mabye I can start running Phenom dedicated server for TPU gaming! :D
     
  22. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i don't know if you purchased them or not but i would go 2 x 3870's

    if one fails you got another, if one x2 fails ya got nothing.

    they perform almost the same so i again say 3870's
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2008
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  23. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    That's using the old noodle!!!

    I'm pretty sure that is the route he's going.

    G/L, man!
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,896 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,304
    I've got 2 HIS HD 3870's on the way!:rockout:
     
  25. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,075 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    i want to see your results in my 3k thread erocker! no exceptions
     
    erocker says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page